Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / TGC Team Please Take a Look!

Author
Message
DJScaN
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 05:31
Hi All,

I’m currently working with DarkSDK and all is well so far however few things I miss a LOT!

1) Like Martin Luther King said “I Have A Dream!” I do too and that is to be able to initialize SDK in Windowed App by passing hWnd or whatever. I would like it to be internal SDK functionality. Recently I’ve made a posting about how to try to initialize SDK in windowed app. Mike Johnson answered and I saw the code HOWEVER even though the method works it’s crude! I mean you have to have SDK compiled EXE (game or whatever) and then the code sort of “hijacks” that exe output into a window. That’s not right even though it’ll work. I’d rather have the ability to create my apps by using native methods of SDK. Just something for you to consider! Dark is a cool simple to use SDK, all other engines have that why not this one?
2) Do we have to initialize SDK from void DarkSDK()? Can’t we sort of do it normal C++ way from Main or WinMain or any function that we want actually?

If we had those two options well let’s just say not only games would be written with DarkSDK… Love the engine but would LOOVE to have those additions.

Thanks!
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 10:39
Using a custom window is an important thing and something we need to sort out. It's on the list of things to do

The reason for having the entry point from the DarkSDK function is that we need a function to be called before starting the program and at the end -

int APIENTRY WinMain ( HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow )
{
StartSDK ( );
DarkSDK ( );
EndSDK ( );
return 0;
}

I'm not really sure how we can change the entry point now without causing problems for all of the people who currently use the SDK.
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 11:13
Any chance of perhaps having another version of DarkSDK which passes lpCmdLine to it, and being able to return a value other than 0 from WinMain...

It saves having to call GetCommandLine()...

Come to the third DarkBasic Pro Sci Fi Con - Be there and be square
Blog:http://spaces.msn.com/members/BouncyBrick/
Web Site:http://www.nicholaskingsley.co.uk
Miguel Melo
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 11:19 Edited at: 28th Sep 2005 11:21
Mike, since you are keeping an eye on this thread and collecting bugfixes for a later release, here's one also related to windowing etc:

- In full screen mode, if you alt-tab in and out of the app all resources are lost. Essentially, if I go back to my app it's just a black screen @ 0 fps. DGSDK should restore the DX surfaces and/or reload as needed. It is much to high a level API for the developer to do it.
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 15:03 Edited at: 28th Sep 2005 15:11
Would be nice if it was finally handled within DBPro

And could be have a FindFirstFree Sprite/Image/Sound/Music etc function ?

Come to the third DarkBasic Pro Sci Fi Con - Be there and be square
Blog:http://spaces.msn.com/members/BouncyBrick/
Web Site:http://www.nicholaskingsley.co.uk
IanM
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 15:20
Mike,

What you can do is to put the WinMain into its own lib file - that would allow us to add it to the 'Ignore specific library' section in the linker properties, and to provide our own instead.


An alternative is for those who don't mind a bit of adventure to write your own application entry points ...

For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Sep 2005 15:25
Miguel - you can check for this happening but yes it really should be handled automatically by us and not something for the programmer to have to deal with.

Thanks for that Ian. Will get that sorted.
IanM
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 29th Sep 2005 00:46
Mike, wrap the pragma in pre-processor ifndefs and this could be automatic ...



Then you have another alternative, allowing you to set a project-wide define in the compiler instead. Specifically excluding the library (as I posted above) works with this method too.

For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-20 06:26:59
Your offset time is: 2024-04-20 06:26:59