Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / Additional HUDs - are they possible?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I'm kinda new to FPSC - but I have read the manual and searched the forums, so please bear with me while I try to explain...

I want to create a game where the player can pick up entities that improve their stamina as well as their health. My idea is that if the player's stamina goes below a certain number, the walk speed of the player will slow down - if the player collects items of food (e.g. bananas, bread etc.) then their stamina score goes up by 5, say, until a maximum of 100.

I've already made some progress:

• I've edited the setuplevel.fpi in the languagebank\english\gamebank\mygame\ to include a 'Stamina' hud next to the 'Health' hud - this works fine.
• I've edited the .fpe file for my banana.x model to run a script called "pickupstamina.fpi" which says to add 5 points to the players health score (because there is no 'Stamina' option yet) - this works fine.
• I've created a hud image (with alpha channel) saying "You picked up a banana" and put it in the languagebank\english\gamecore\huds\ folder - this works fine.

My problem - and question - is: how do I tell the game engine that there is also a global setting/variable called 'Stamina' that can be added to and subtracted from depending on which items the player picks up? When you add a 'Player Start' marker and right-click it, you only have Lives, Health, Speed and HurtFall settings - is it possible to add 'Stamina' to this list?

Sorry about the long post - but I've been mucking around with this for about 2 days now without any joy. Any help would be appreciated!

Cheers,
BöneLörd
Deadwords
Years of Service
User Offline