Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Networking

Author
Message
MegaMaximus
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 29th Aug 2002 04:03
How much better is DBPro compared to DarkBasic. I have DarkBasic and I cant get it to send files over the network. Anyone have experience with this? I'm asking cause I want to upgrade but I really need this feature to work.
crawlin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Aug 2002 12:44
DBPro is much better than DB [FULLSTOP].

It shouldn't be too difficult to send a file over a network in DBPro eg.

DBPro has built in commands to send a Bitmap, Mesh, Image
so all you do is send these then make the file on the other side. If its a plain text file then i guess you read in the textfile to a string and send that then write it back out to a file on the other side (This probably works in DB too.)

(I have absolutly no experience with DBPro or DB Networking - so i may be wrong) Hope that helps.

crawlin

P4 1.6GHz - 256Mb DDR RAM - GeForce 2 MX400 - SoundMAX Integrated Sound - Windows XP Home
Niijel
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 29th Aug 2002 19:54
how are you trying to send stuff over the network and what sort is it?
Then we might get ya working ok

lagmaster
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Playing:
Posted: 29th Aug 2002 22:03
if your comp can see the other comp on the network, dbpro can see the other comp.

lagmasteruk - http://www.lagmaster.net/ r.nash@ntlworld.com
specs: 1.2ghz athlon, 384mb ram, geforce 2 mx 400 (32mb),win2k
crawlin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Aug 2002 23:13
just looked at the command list and this how it works (in DBPRO)

make memblock from file
-set up network eg create net game etc-
-make sure file reciever is connected-
SEND NET MESSAGE MEMBLOCK
-thats it on your side-

-other person does following-
wait for memblock to arrive, make file from it:
NET MESSAGE MEMBLOCK
MAKE FILE
OPEN TO WRITE
WRITE MEMBLOCK
CLOSE FILE

there you go - that should be it. i've left out the network code but you should be able to figure that out yourself.

crawlin

P4 1.6GHz - 256Mb DDR RAM - GeForce 2 MX400 - SoundMAX Integrated Sound - Windows XP Home
MegaMaximus
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 30th Aug 2002 02:20
[how are you trying to send stuff over the network and what sort is it?]

I have a room full of computers and I want one computer to monitor when someone logs on to another and how much time they are on it. So the computers will basically be sending small text files back and forth. I'm sure theres easier ways of doing this but I really want to program this myself (although help from others is always appreciated). I just wanted to make sure DBPro was easier than DB.

Thanks everyone for your input.

CoCoTower
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 10th Oct 2002 09:18
I'm having trouble getting 2 DB .exe's to simulate a multiplayer game or simple net game session using TCP/IP. The DB docs say it can be done, but they were lazy to explain.

Can somebody write me an email telling me how to do this?

Thanks.

rtaylor@bayou.com

Super Teo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 10th Oct 2002 11:26
As it is now. In the multiplayer area DBP is as DBv1 with the dark matter expansion. May be one or two commands more.
CoCoTower
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 13th Oct 2002 08:38
I doubt you're gonna do anything secret with DB. Monitoring things from DB might require a DLL companion to help you out??

But the networking stuff can be done by using the multiplayer commands, ofcourse, as long as the apps across PCs knows how to deal with the files. You can't just tell DB to "send this text file right now to PC#3".

You have to send it as a memblock, or string segments, or something.

Milamber
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Sep 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 13th Oct 2002 19:28
You'd need 2 different apps, the server app and the client app. Simple enough.

System Specs: AMD Athlon 1700+ XP, GA-7VRX motherboard, 128MB DDR RAM, GeForce2 MX400 64MB VRAM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-04-21 21:07:12
Your offset time is: 2019-04-21 21:07:12