Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / Cursor change in window same as fullscreen?

Author
Message
NeoNova
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2005
Location: Cone of Silence
Posted: 6th Dec 2005 06:40
Hi!

I've been reading alot of posts and tried several snippets of code but I can't seem to get my cursor to change when I click a button on a BlueGUI created window. Just let me know if it is at least doable so I don't waste time and I'll keep looking!

BTW, I'm trying to make a mesh editor ...

Hooking a canvas gadget to display meshes? Assume it's done via the handle but not clear yet. Is it actually the canvas gadget where the graphics will be drawn? I kinda know I will eventually have to do it with memory blocks so I've been reading up on that ... just getting started is proving to be the hard part.

Thanks in advance!

~think of something funny ... come on, come on~
NeoNova
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2005
Location: Cone of Silence
Posted: 6th Dec 2005 20:21
Wow I just reread my post and it doesn't make sense to me ...

Here is my code. When btnHand pressed I want to change thte cursor to a hand cursor (i.e. cursorhand.png) ... I hide the mouse but instead of the hand cursor being displayed nothing get's displayed. I'm just wandering if you have to do anything different when using a window created with:

Window=createWindow(0,0,1200,800,"ES ... blah blah",WINDOW_NORMAL,0,1,Main)

Let me know if there is something fundamentally wrong but if it is a syntax or simple coding error yell at me to check my code before posting.





I am building a windowed mesh editor. Do I use the canvas gadget to draw into (i.e. how do I specify where to draw things in my window)?


Thanks in advance and I'm sorry if previous post was confusing!

~think of something funny ... come on, come on~
NeoNova
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2005
Location: Cone of Silence
Posted: 7th Dec 2005 05:30
OMG! Nevermind I see what I have to do ... mousePosx() nor mousePosy() never get updated outside that conditional ... ughh ... *crawling under rock now ...*

~think of something funny ... come on, come on~
NeoNova
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2005
Location: Cone of Silence
Posted: 7th Dec 2005 17:15
I guess maybe my code is too confusing so I cleaned it up even more.
Attached is the bmp file being called.

Clicking the btnHand button still does not work (displaying the sprite as the cursor) even tho I think I have placed it in such a way that it get's called every loop iteration.

Someone please cut and paste and let me know if it's not working at least some place else ...


Any help greatly appreciated!



P.S. I still can't seem to find an example of code to draw into a window created as above ... I wanna draw in the canvas area ... a pointer to an example would be appreciated.

Thanks

~think of something funny ... come on, come on~

Attachments

Login to view attachments
NeoNova
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2005
Location: Cone of Silence
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 16:51
I feel like I am talking to myself ... is there anyone out there? I'm I posting poorly??

Turns out the bmp cursor is there but doesn't come forward for any BlueGUI gadget (i.e. it is covered up by gadgets). If I change the display setting in DBPro from "Hidden" to "Windowed" and specify my intended screen size then you see the cursor but only in areas where there is no gadgets. See attached screenshot jpg (notice hand behind gadget button).

So .... uh .... it doesn't seem that you can have sprite/image cursors displayed on top of BlueGUI gadgets.

Anyone have any luck using user32.dll command LoadCursor(0,36665) ... can't get that to work either ... starting to have buyer remorse ...

later ...

~think of something funny ... come on, come on~

Attachments

Login to view attachments
NeoNova
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2005
Location: Cone of Silence
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 19:58
I feel like I am talking to myself ... is there anyone out there? I\'m I posting poorly??

Turns out the bmp cursor is there but doesn\'t come forward for any BlueGUI gadget (i.e. it is covered up by gadgets). If I change the display setting in DBPro from \"Hidden\" to \"Windowed\" and specify my intended screen size then you see the cursor but only in areas where there is no gadgets. See attached screenshot jpg (notice hand behind gadget button).

So .... uh .... it doesn\'t seem that you can have sprite/image cursors displayed on top of BlueGUI gadgets.

Anyone have any luck using user32.dll command LoadCursor(0,36665) ... can\'t get that to work either ... starting to have a little buyer/forum remorse ...

~think of something funny ... come on, come on~

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-21 18:47:45
Your offset time is: 2024-11-21 18:47:45