Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / DBP Collision DLL v2.05

Author
Message
Lost in Thought
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 3rd Nov 2006 02:38
Do what it says then 0_o



C0wbox
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 3rd Nov 2006 11:31
Hmm, thats odd. Why does there need to be a delete memblock command for a memblock that doesn't exist.

And the collision doesn't work this time:




http://www.soharix.homestead.com/
Diggsey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 3rd Nov 2006 11:50
You don't use sc_setobjectcollisionon, you use sc_setupobject to make an object part of the collision system.
The game in my sig uses this dll for complete ball physics

Lost in Thought
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 3rd Nov 2006 13:51
You have to add any memblock command to your code for the plugin to work as the error says. This will tell DBP to include the proper dlls that his plugin needs in the exe. If you arent't using any memblock commands in your code then add one at the very end that can never be called as I did.

C0wbox
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 3rd Nov 2006 14:21 Edited at: 3rd Nov 2006 14:22
Well I've tried testing:



But to no, avail.

Can someone just rewrite it so it functions as one would expect?

Edit: I had some commands in my source code the wrong way round, but that still produced no difference in function.


http://www.soharix.homestead.com/
Lost in Thought
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 4th Nov 2006 03:49
Try something like this:



C0wbox
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 4th Nov 2006 16:36
Oh, I see.

For some reason this thread managed to escape "My threads" so i couldn't check on it for a while.


http://www.soharix.homestead.com/
Deagle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 24th Nov 2006 21:27
How can i make camera collision?
Kenjar
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jun 2005
Location: TGC
Posted: 24th Nov 2006 23:48
tie it to the bonnet of your car, and drive into a wall?

[center][center]
Deagle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 25th Nov 2006 09:40
Hmm, that didn't work as good as i expected
Any other suggestions?
Duffer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 25th Nov 2006 09:56
@ Paul Johnston,

This looks great. Dont know why I missed the thread in the past. At what stage of implimentation is this>? ie. is it going into the next DBPro upgrade>? Can I install with latest update for DBPro?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
RUCCUS
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: 30th Nov 2006 22:22
I guess that means you might need to include a memblock command in your code, eh?

Just add DELETE MEMBLOCK 1 at the very end of your code.

Peter H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 02:50
btw, this collision has been working beautifully for me

One man, one lawnmower, plenty of angry groundhogs.
Deagle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 12th Dec 2006 18:00
What's wrong?
When i make a terrain in 3dws, and paint other textures to it there comes some invisible walls in game. (testing in the sliding demo project)
When i dont paint any other textures to the terrain it plays fine, no invisible walls.
Cave Man
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2006
Location: North Carolina, US
Posted: 12th Dec 2006 18:25
This DLL ownz.




Thanks a ton Paul.

Lampton Worm
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Dec 2006 01:46
Hi,

Sorry to post here also, but you may be able to help me out too...

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=89539&b=1&p=0

Cheers
Zappo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2004
Location: In the post
Posted: 31st Dec 2006 03:01
This is an exceptional and much needed DLL, Paul. Thank you very much. I tried out an earlier version you made and was very impressed but wanted to stick with the inbuilt commands at the time. Now I find that I need the extra power your DLL provides.

I just wanted to check if there were any license issues regarding commercial and non-commercial software that uses your DLL and whether the DLL needs to be distributed with the finished EXE.
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2007 14:36
Quote: "I just wanted to check if there were any license issues regarding commercial and non-commercial software that uses your DLL"

There are no limits on its use.

Quote: "and whether the DLL needs to be distributed with the finished EXE."

No it's included in the exe.
Deagle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 6th Jan 2007 13:31
Quote: "What's wrong?
When i make a terrain in 3dws, and paint other textures to it there comes some invisible walls in game. (testing in the sliding demo project)
When i dont paint any other textures to the terrain it plays fine, no invisible walls."


Please?
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 9th Jan 2007 15:56
Quote: "What's wrong?
When i make a terrain in 3dws, and paint other textures to it there comes some invisible walls in game. (testing in the sliding demo project)
When i dont paint any other textures to the terrain it plays fine, no invisible walls."


That sounds like an issue with 3dws.
Diggsey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 26th Jan 2007 23:31
A feature request:

Could you add conical/pyramidal collision, just like spherecast, but you specify the start and end points, and the end radius. This would mean that making a culling system would be much easier!

Lost in Thought
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 27th Jan 2007 11:55
Quote: "This would mean that making a culling system would be much easier!"


My culling system is pretty fast and easy in itself 0_o

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=67369&b=6

However, if you want to use an object like that for culling. There is a code snippet that you can use to make one posted in the code snippets board.

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=80329&b=6

And you can use Sparky's collision commands against it

Ian T
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 8th Feb 2007 18:28
Would it be possible to make intersect object work only against a group? I request this because if this worked I could call an intersect command against my (rather large) terrain and sliding sphere collision against the rest of the world objects; using sphere collision for everything, gravity screws up my player object on the terrain (IE he slides down the mildest slopes)
dark coder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 9th Feb 2007 16:43
@Ian T, try "SC_rayCastGroup"

Ian T
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 9th Feb 2007 23:04
Aye - dunno why I forgot about that, thanks

However, now another odd problem - SC_setMaxCollisions compiles fine, but the .exe crashes saying it cannot find the command in the DLL when I run it. Got the latest version, WinXP, everything else works fine. Anyone else have that problem?
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 19th Feb 2007 18:17 Edited at: 20th Feb 2007 14:49
Quote: "SC_setMaxCollisions compiles fine, but the .exe crashes saying it cannot find the command in the DLL when I run it."


It does indeed look like that command is completely missing from V2!

It's been so long since I compiled this code that I can't be sure if I changed anything else, or if it's the same code as 2.02, so consider the attached version a beta, if you really need this command.

EDIT: A version for DarkGDK is now available: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=100377&b=22
Roxas
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 15:58 Edited at: 20th Feb 2007 16:00
Hmm.. Can you help me how to make Perfect Polygon collision for any object so you can climb like on big monsters back and its still accurate !?

i always get unaccurate non-perfect collision lol


dark coder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 16:03
This plugin doesn't work on animated objects which maybe your problem, and yes the plugin is very accurate.

Roxas
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 16:40
Aww.. Do you know does the NGC work i have tried but its too hard to use lol.. But anyways i really need some fast accurate polygon collision


dark coder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 19:37
This is fast and accurate, asking for realtime polygon data updating with good speed is very very hard, try coding it yourself and you will see how hard it is, even making 3d raycasting on rotatable and scalable objects is hard, and this plugin does it all with decent optimization, so don't ask for too much and you don't need perfect collision, just use collision objects for various limbs, and I doubt your enemys would be that huge so accuracy probably isn't that vital.

Lost in Thought
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 21st Feb 2007 00:43
@The Full Metal Coder Roxas As Cash told you. You will most likely not find any collision system that works on animated objects (polygon collision). As he suggested, rigging your models is the best way.

dark coder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 25th Feb 2007 08:40
@Paul Johnston

Is there any chance you could add a , 'Sc_GetStaticCollisionU/V' ? because there's no other alternative but the actual raycasting plugin to have this command, as I assume you can internally grab which polygon was hit, and with a bit of math you should be able to get the U/V co-ords of the hit location, this feature would be very usefull and I hope you add it.

Ian T
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 9th Mar 2007 03:01
Thanks Paul! Really appreciate you throwing that command back in.
Code Dragon
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2006
Location: Everywhere
Posted: 26th Apr 2007 22:28
This plugin is awesome. The collision is very fast and very accurate. It makes what was very impossible for me days ago easy.

I like how when you cast a line to test for intersections in the demos you can get a plane that shows the angle of the surface it intersected at. That would be great for physics where when something hits the wall it needs to bounce off in the right direction. The native DBP commands can only do this with 90 degree surfaces but having a plugin do it with any surface is a dream come true.

Thanks a ton. (And thanks releasing it for free. )

By reading this sentence you have given me brief control of your mind.
xCept
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 18th May 2007 03:38
I just recently started using this plugin, I think it rocks.

I do have one question. Based on the "Sliding Collision" demo included with the DLL, what would be the most recommended route for adding that accurate of collision to a non-spherical object, say more like that of a humanoid where the height is 3-4 times the width? With the current setup, the whole upper half has no collision checks done on it and thus goes right through any object within that region.

Obviously, elliptical collision would be ideal but I don't think Sparky's DLL supports it and other than that, I'm not quite sure what approach to take. Thanks.
Airslide
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 3rd Jun 2007 21:29
I'd like to see Dark Coder's suggestion, it would be very useful for a feature I was planning on working on (using UV cord to determine if what is being it his a character's armor, helmet, flesh ect).

jason p sage
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 04:40
Hello. could anyone tell me the magic 3's to avoid in Sparky's DLL?

I read somewhere about NOT using 255 as a mesh ID. I think there was another object type and number combination to avoid also but I can't find where I read it.

Thank you in advance.

Jason

Know way to many languages - Master of none
Math89
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 13:12
I think it's memblock 255.
Scraggle
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 26th Jun 2007 12:00
I don't know if Sparky is still looking at this thread but if he is then I have a feature request:

SC_SaveObjectCollision
SC_LoadObjectCollision

I have a map level that I need complex collision on. To ease things I make a simple version of the map using plains where I need collision, then I use SC_SetupComplexObject to define the collision. I can then delete the map object that I used to make the collision object because I don't need it anymore.
The thing is that whole process takes much longer to perform than loading the level and all the textures.

If I could save the collision details and then load them again later it would considerably speed up the transition between levels.

What do you think?



Code Dragon
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2006
Location: Everywhere
Posted: 7th Jul 2007 15:11
The plugin crashes when trying to set up instanced objects for collision by the way. Is this a bug or should it show an error message? I'll use clone object in the meantime...

You never really know a person until you look at their google autocomplete entries.
Aralox
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posted: 7th Jul 2007 17:27
problems with sparky's dll

-in the first example(simple slide demo)


- in the second example (sliding demo)

-in the third example (multiple intersect demo)


-in the fourth example (object collision)

-in the fifth example(ray collision)


-in the sixth example(scaling demo)


-in the seventh and last demo(SimpleDemo)


What is this?!
Am i missing something or other? have i not installed something? i put the dll right in the folder as it told me too, even inserted the keywords, and this is what i turned up with. i seriously cant see what the hype is all about.


Help me lessen my list! (see darkbasic on my site)
Roborb = [00------------] - first models
Diggsey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 7th Jul 2007 17:30
Are you running DBC or something??? If it's DBP, then it's waaaay out of date

RUCCUS
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: 10th Jul 2007 17:02 Edited at: 10th Jul 2007 17:03
Aralox: Check that you put it in the plugins-user folder, not the other plugins folder.


Aralox
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posted: 15th Aug 2007 14:48
Oh with my previous problem, diggsey was right, i wasnt updated =P

Ive got a bug to report, which caused me and unduly amount of frustration. i hope no one else will have to go through what i did.
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=112165&b=1
sparky's dll dosent work for x files with folders in them, eg you have groups of objects in your editor (C4D in my case)
Seems like a simple problem, but can you imagine trying to root it out without having a clue on whats causing it?
Well im happy now ive solved it

Code Dragon
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2006
Location: Everywhere
Posted: 15th Aug 2007 15:45 Edited at: 19th Jan 2009 21:53
I noticed many people have been wanting elliptical collision in this DLL. I can throw together a quick tutorial on how to do it with sphere casting if anyone's interested. Doesn't make perfect ellipsoids, but for player control collision using this technique works just fine.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - mediafire image wasn't found
Aralox
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posted: 16th Aug 2007 11:25
Oh, and heres another little bug report.
It says in the terraincollision help menu that it supports models with 21000 polys+, but it dosent.

DarkGames
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Hungary-Somogy-Tab
Posted: 14th Sep 2007 15:18
Hi !

DarkGameSDK sends there is not an available version ?
I would be very grateful if he is somebody would assist !!!!!

NacsaSoft
mango
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 30th Sep 2007 08:36
@Code Dragon,

A quick tutorial regarding elliptical collision would be much appreciated. I'm fairly new to DBP and am struggling with adapting Sparky's DLL to work with elliptical collision.

Thanks!

Mango
Vincentv
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2006
Location: France
Posted: 27th Oct 2007 02:41
I need ellipsoidal collisions... please do something
aixt
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2007
Location:
Posted: 29th Oct 2007 19:48 Edited at: 29th Oct 2007 21:13
I have problem. Then I try to load map biger than 3Mb it quit from the game. Does it pssible to do something?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-03-26 22:02:16
Your offset time is: 2019-03-26 22:02:16