Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / No blue screen, 3D graphics, and 2D panel on top. Help? (DBP)

Author
Message
StevieC
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2006 09:57
I've been up all night trying to work this out and I've decided to just ask.

So, basically, I'm creating a game. Same old same old. I have a 3D matrix and a few objects that the player can scroll around, and will eventually be able to interact with. Whilst having Draw To Back switched on, and Cls'ing the screen every frame - I don't have that nasty blue screen. However, it also means I can't stick a sprite on top!

My question is simply-

How do you think I should go about having a "control panel" on the top layer of the screen? The panel itself would be 2D, imagine Command & Conquer style.

I hope it's something simple.

Thanks for any help in advance.



Steve
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 5th Jun 2006 16:06
For a control panel I have never tried the sprite commands and I don't think it would work anyway like that, try just using images instead like for example:


This code was written from head, I haven't used DBP for a while and don't have it installed at the moment


If that don't work, follow the principles I have given there, and try to correct any bad coding of mine

夢の海に目覚めること - Into the sea of waking dreams - I am by John Clare
StevieC
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2006 06:07
Thanks.

I assume I can do the same with 2D graphic commands?

Steve
Zeddex
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2006 19:42
mmm i think you can do with 2d command.

load image "x.jpg", 1
sprite 1, 1

paste sprite 1, 5, 5

now you can put your image at 5, 5 in your screen in front of everyting, but if you want something like a counter in the screen with image you can do something like that

load all image for number ( 1 - 0 )
scan the number you have and paste the image
ex:
number = 123
take the first number ( don t know how but every compiler as something to do that )
number as (10, 10, 10, 10, 10 ) the number you want max
number(a, b, c, d, e, f)


for a = 1 to 10
select case x
case 1 paste image 1
case 2 paste image 2
etc. if i had time i make this code for you but i don t think my boss will like it :p

but with this way you can paste image with the good coor, and the good image every where

If Zeddex can, you can. If you have an idea, make it.
StevieC
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2006 23:19


I have a stomach ache.

But that was helpful, thankyou.

Steve
Mari0mega
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jun 2006 02:13
You shouldn't need to use Draw to Back at all. Just use Backdrop Off to remove the blue, and leave Draw to Back Out. You will want something in the back, like a skybox, but you'll be able to use sprites in front.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-27 00:28:36
Your offset time is: 2024-11-27 00:28:36