Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / BlueGUI DLL Question

Author
Message
Gamefreak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 11th Jun 2006 03:52 Edited at: 11th Jun 2006 18:07
Is it possible to use the BlueGUI dll in other languages? Like could I have a c++ dll for DarkBASIC that uses BlueGUI commands?

I tried -



and I get the most useless error message ever when I try to run it...(see the attach)

[EDIT] There would normally be stuff in those quotes in the middle, but I kinda cant show that

Attachments

Login to view attachments
EsteemDE
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Jun 2006 16:09
Yes, but I will not tell you how to do so. There is a serious security issue with the way you do it. Using 2 lines of code you can access any command from any darkbasic DLL, may it be user made or official. Me and a friend have written our own DBP-SDK for .Net that gives access to all of the DBP commands in just 600 or so lines of code, which is really nothing but a whole bunch of function writing, so it was just a small simple copy-paste-edit procedure.

It is a security issue because we found out anyone can do this, even with the demo version of DBP (giving a free version of DBP to every one).

It is really not hard to figure out. But I suggest you keep the method of doing so to yourself, I dont want TGC to go broke because people know how to get DBP for free just by downloading the demo and including a 600 or so line .Net file.

Gamefreak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 11th Jun 2006 18:02
Quote: "It is a security issue because we found out anyone can do this, even with the demo version of DBP (giving a free version of DBP to every one)."

Yeah, I can see how that would be a problem

Quote: "It is really not hard to figure out."

a. I must be pretty stupid then
b. Perhaps distributing the full dlls with the trial isn't the brightest thing to do if its not that hard

Anyway, I was just thinking that it would be nice to use BlueGUI outside of DBPro because BlueGUI is rather usefull for making applications, while using it in DarkBASIC Pro kind of takes a lot of processing power... I'll see if I can find out how to do it, and I'll remember to keep my lips sealed
Gamefreak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 11th Jun 2006 18:48
I got value returning functions to work, but "startBlue" seems to be...different. I dont think it returns anything, but it wont work. =(
Xolatron
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Mar 2006
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 01:59
Quote: "Perhaps distributing the full dlls with the trial isn't the brightest thing to do"


Remember that before they have any reason to change that - the full dlls are included in any program you compile - so those could be taken to. Most people are either good enough to not steal these or buy DBp before they know this.

-Xol
EsteemDE
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 02:08
Quote: "I got value returning functions to work, but "startBlue" seems to be...different. I dont think it returns anything, but it wont work. =("



That is because startBlue does not compile to the exe. If you have a wrong user code and user name in the fields, the exe will not compile. There is a command the DBP compiler calls when it loads a DLL, and you can put custom functions in it so it executes. This is good for a registration system, similar to how BlutGUI uses it. If you have a correct user name and user code then it allows the exe to compile, but no code is witten to the exe.

Similar functions that will not work are functions such as END, because they do not link to a DLL function. Notice a string table entry has your function name, the variable types, then the actual DLL function it links to, then some custom text. END does not link to an actual DLL function, the compiler has its own code for the END function and it just slaps in END's assembly code.

Gamefreak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 03:29
So its not possible to use it in another language?
EsteemDE
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 06:04
Something like "END%0%??" can't be used, something like "SYNC ON%0%?SyncOn@@YAXXZ" can. It must have a reference function (such as "SyncOn" from the one that can be used, End has "??" because it doesnt refer to anything).

EsteemDE
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 06:09
EDIT: Sorry for the double post.

If you message me on MSN or AIM I will tell you how to do this since you nearly figured it out anyways. Just dont release your code or tell people how to do this when I tell you.

Gamefreak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 22:58
I dont have a MSM or AIM, so could you maybe send me an e-mail? If not, i could try to get one set up...and dont worry, I wont tell anyone.
EsteemDE
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 13th Jun 2006 06:06
Gamefreak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 14th Jun 2006 14:22
Thanks. I should be able to work it out.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-22 06:59:09
Your offset time is: 2024-11-22 06:59:09