Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Just how good is FPS Creator?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 19:50
Ok, im a wee bit sceptical of this, so bear with me.

Ive been doing 3D for about 7-8 months or so, can make some ok stuff, but any way, ill stay on topic.
Ive always wanted to make a 3D game, dont really know why, but i have heh. So, i started hnting for engines.

Now basicly, i have absolutely no coding experience what so ever, i can do a wee bit of HTML and an ok amount of actionscript (flash) but thats about as far as it goes.
So i downloaded an engine called Irrlicht, aparently its easy to learn.
"Exelent" said I, "Just what i need"

I couldnt even get the "hello world" thing working...

At this point i decided to abandon that plan ^^

Id heard good and bad things about FPS Creator, all the people who can code say its awful, all the people who cant code say it rocks, being the latter i decided to take a look

Well i must say im impressed, the only thing that really worries me is how "customisable" it will be.

so, my question to you all (finally ^^);

How much can i change? if i want a room thats Pink and has my own custom textures on it, with my own custom models in it, with custom weapons, decent AI and customisable sound, will that realisticly happen?

oh, and can i have cutscenes? so say a player walks into a set area (i watched the demo heh), can i then have a cutscene come up, with my own video?

Well thats about it, probably a wee bit long winded, but ahh well, im sure youll all live
but yea, if someone could answer this, it would be much appreciated, cant wait to finally make a decent looking game

Pfft, i dont need a PS sig to be amazing, its in my blood.