Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am really new to programming in Dark basic and Dark Physics. I have an AGEIA Physx card and have run some of the demos (like water) and see that you can specify to run in hardware or software, but I don't really see a performance difference between the two.

Can someone show me a quick example of using a bunch of objects, say 2 or 3 thousand, running in software only mode then running in hardware mode so I can see what the fps is with or without?

Thank you.

AVC
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2006 10:20
Try the Dark Physics\Demos\PhysX\Bricks demo. The demo creates a large quantity of rigid body boxes that construct 4 walls. A further set of rigid bodies are created and dropped into the scene. Initially this process starts off in software and if you let it run to the end you will get a good idea of the typical frame rate. Once everything has collapsed press the space bar to switch to hardware mode. There will be a significant increase in the frame rate when running in hardware mode.
RickV
TGC Development Director
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2006 15:33
Also be aware that once the physics is being handled by the PPU, you CPU is freed up for other tasks!

Financial Director
TGC Team
[Check out Jed McKenna - http://www.wisefoolpress.com/]
Fallout
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2006 16:27
Actually, that just made me think of something. When we quote minimum specs for our games now, it'll probably make sense to quote different specs with or without a PPU. Instead of just saying PPU supported, I suppose a game that needs a 3ghz CPU might only need a 2GHZ CPU with a PPU equiped.

AVC