Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / More probs with Visual Studio 2005 (Full)...

Author
Message
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 31st Aug 2006 04:59
Hey all, i know we're tired of hearing about this, but i'm still having trouble compiling, and yes i've looked through the forums and gone through the steps.

I already set the GDK up for the express version, and now i've got the full version and i'm trying to set it up with that. I've ignored both the 'quartz.lib' and 'd3dx8.lib' libraries. I've even tried doing a command line '/Force' and this is the part that's strange. I don't get an error, it compiles.

When i run the program it just plain freezes. It's like it just pasted a bitmap of a window in the middle of the screen to tease me. Every time, it just freezes. I've been using the example startup source found in the documentation, so i know it's not a program error.

Any ideas on this one guys?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 31st Aug 2006 10:10
Lets see the code first.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Supplying "NO" since 1974...
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 02:02
I told you, it's the default code that goes w/ the new GDK, but ok, here it is:



see?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Wilvis
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 03:46
I use Visual Studio 2005 Stanard Edition and every thing works fine execpt for debug build. I am using direct x Aug 2006. i just added the ignore 'quartz.lib' and 'd3dx8.lib' libraries. then every thing worked from there.
Charles
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 10:04
It seems to work fine to me, but I happen to have the quartz.lib file from an older version of DirectX 9.0.

The following should be in your configureation:
Compiler Settings:
1. C++->Code Generation->Runtime Library: Multi-Threaded /MT
2. Linker->Input->Ignore Specific Libraries: libc.lib;ATLS.LIB;D3DX8.LIB
3. Linker->Command Line: /FORCE:MULTIPLE (Debug Only)
4. General->Character Set: Use Multi-Byte
5. If necessary, specify “WIN32;_DEBUG;_WINDOWS;_CRT_SECURE_NO_DEPRECATE” for DEBUG build and “WIN32;NDEBUG;_WINDOWS;_CRT_SECURE_NO_DEPRECATE” for RELEASE build.


Also, you should specify a frame rate when you use dbSyncOn(). And, of course, you shouldn't need to use dbEscapeKey() unless you have disabled it (LoopGDK() automatically ends the program if the user hits the Escape Key).
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 10:13
Quote: "I told you, it's the default code that goes w/ the new GDK, but ok, here it is:"

Where did you mention that you were using the skeleton code ? You do realise that code will just product a window with black contents ?

I presume your problem is either a) the window wont move or b) the escape or close icons wont close the program - neither of which I've had a problem with and if thats the case, no idea whats causing it.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 22:43
Quote: "I've been using the example startup source found in the documentation"


That's where i told you that i was using the 'skeleton code' provided with the documentation. Sorry if i was a little confusing.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 22:56 Edited at: 1st Sep 2006 22:57
This is my updated source code with the newly added sync rate setting:



I have setup both my release and my debug modes according to what you guys said above and when i compile and run the program it still just freezes and i can't move the window or anything. I can't minimize, or even close, i have to break from within the compiler. When i go to task manager it doesn't say that it's not responding or anything that resembles it crashing. I'm really stuck here, any other ideas?

My version of Microsoft Visual Studio is Visual Studio 2005 Professional Edition.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 07:43
Ok, something wierd here. After a long process of trying everything imaginable for the project settings and the compiler paths to the libraries, I stumbled upon something even more disturbing. When i try to run the actual binary samples from the GDK they do the same thing that all my programs within Visual Studio do. They freeze as soon as i run them. Could this have something to do with my directx install? Perhaps something to do with visual studio install? Any ideas about this one?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Gen
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2004
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 08:06
Quote: "Could this have something to do with my directx install?"


Check and see if you have the latest version, and if not then update it. I would problem try reinstalling anyways.

What are your system specs (OS, DX version, ect.)?

Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2, Pentium 4 3.0 GHz, 2048 MB Daul Channeled PC3200 Ram, ATI Radeon X700 Pro 256 MB
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 17:56
My OS is windows xp home edition. My direct x version was updated as of last night to the August 2006 release 9.0c i believe. Graphics card is 256mb geforce. Pentium 4 3.0 GHz. I really don't know what it could be, and it's really frustrating becuase I don't think it's just a problem with the compiler anymore, now even my dbpro samples won't run when i start them up. Same thing happens to them. really strange, everything worked a few days ago. The only thing i changed was that i uninstalled the express edition of visual studio 2005 and installed the full version. hmmmm.....

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 17:58
Have you tried the DirectX tests ?

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 18:41
yes the samples for august release run fine.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 18:51
I didn't mean the samples, I meant the DX Diag program.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 21:23
oh, yeah, um...is it supposed to be in the control panel? Because i didn't find it there.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 21:26
No, its in System Information.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 21:34
where is that? is that the same as system properties in the control panel? or the system folder on the hard drive?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 21:35
Accessories -> System Tools -> System Information

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 21:36
ok i found it.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 21:44
under the directx files tab it says that my 'd3d9d.dll' is a debug version which will run slower than a retail version. It has a warning symbol next to it.

Could this have anything to do with it? Is it a problem that i don't have any other previous versions of directx installed on my computer other than the august release?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 22:03
No, it wont matter if it uses a debug version. What do the 2D and 3D tests come up with ?

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 22:16
they both say everything is working fine, i ran all the tests within the dxdiag.exe and everything was working perfectly. I've uninstalled the 2005 professional version, and i'm going to try to install it again and see what happens.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 22:18
Could be the video driver needs updating.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 22:21
how would i find a new video driver for my card?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 22:41
Have a look on the ATI or nVidia web site...

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 22:42
thanks, i'll see if that works.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 23:19
I reinstalled Visual Studio 2005 and I updated my drivers for my video card. I still can't even watch the samples that come with the GDK. It does the same thing as when I try to compile. It freezes whenever I run the program.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 23:25 Edited at: 2nd Sep 2006 23:27
Got no other ideas - perhaps you need to reinstall Windows.

Do you have any games that use DX9 ? Do they do the same ?

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 23:30
I've been running games like Ghost Recon and i know it uses directx and it runs fine.

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Sep 2006 23:56
In which case, I cant think of anything else.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Sep 2006 03:17
I reinstalled windows, checked my anti-virus stuff, things like that. What troubles me is not that it won't compile. I know that I can now compile and run things. It troubles me that I can't even open the sample viewer that comes with the GDK without the SAME thing happening. There has to be a way to fix this...anyone else got any ideas?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Sep 2006 03:17
Should i try to revert to an older version of directx?

The scarecrow has no mind, but serves its function well.
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Sep 2006 09:16
Does anyone have any other ideas?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
250 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Sep 2006 23:00
I'm thinking it must be a problem with directx. Although, I don't know what it could be because i can still run all of the DX samples and all of my games. The only things that seem to be effected are those programs that use TGC Libraries.

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
250 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 3rd Sep 2006 23:58
Acolyte, could you give an exact spec of your PC, windows version, video card, and more specifically, what versions of the development tools you have installed on your system. I'm kinda wondering if it's because your missing a dependency DLL file used by all of the DGDK samples.

Your best bet is if you can get ahold of a program called 'Dependency Walker' from Microsoft. Use the program to run against one of the examples and see if you are missing any of the DLLs used by the samples. That way, you can probably track down why they won't run on your PC.

Paul.

Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 02:06 Edited at: 4th Sep 2006 02:07
First of all, thank you so much for your input. Secondly, here are my specs for my computer as completely as I know how to give them:

PC
---
OS: Micrsoft Windows XP SP/2 Home Edition
CD: 16x DVD ROM
CD/DVD RW: Nu DDW-081 8X DVD+R/+RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 CPU 530 CPU w/HT Technology 3.0GHZ 800FSB 1MB Cache
HDD: 160GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 HARD DRIVE
MEMORY: 1024 MB PC3200 400 MHz Dual Channel DDR Memory
MONITOR 1: Amptron 723 17" TFT LCD MONITOR
MONITOR 2: BENQ FP72G+S 17" LCD 8MS-DVI CBL
SOUND: Creative Labs SB LIVE 24.bit 7.1
VIDEO: nVidia GeForce-FX 5500 256MB DDR W/ TV OUT & DVI

Software
--------
Dark GDK - Freeware Edition - v.1.6.2c
DBPro - v.6.2
Microsoft Visual Studio.NET 2002
Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
DirectX - August 2006 Release

I hope this helps. How do I go about getting the dependency checker like you said? Is it on the MSDN website?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 02:14
Ok, well the specifications for your machine seem pretty good, so there could be two possibilities.

First is, the GPU being an NVidia board, (I'm using the FX5200), you may try to downgrade your driver from your current version to 84.21. This is the version I'm using atm and it seems stable.

Secondly, since your using pretty much up to date everything else, try the dependency walker solution.

Get it from here - http://www.dependencywalker.com/

Paul.

Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 03:12
Will the nVidia website have the driver that will downgrade me from my current one?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 03:41
you were right, i tried to use the dependency walker on the sample viewer for the GDK. I got this problem:

EFSADU.DLL - The system cannot find the specified file.
MPR.DLL - The box next to this dll turned red. mean something?

Any ideas on where to go from here?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 04:44
Should i attempt to replace both DLL files or what?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 05:47
I've replaced the EFSADU.DLL with one i downloaded from the internet and the problem has disappeared from within the dependency checker; however, i cannot seem to be able to simply replace the mpr.dll by just pasting a new version of it into my c:\windows\system32\ folder becuase it's either being used or something else of that nature. Attached is a screenshot of the dependency checker window and the information it provides about the MPR.DLL file. Please tell me if you have any ideas, this seems to be the only problem left with both compiling things in DBPro and the GDK as well as running programs from both.

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM

Attachments

Login to view attachments
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 10:55
On my executables MSJAVA and MPR.DLL are always not found - so you can ignore MPR.DLL

Are you sure that you've got the August DX9 SDK installed ?

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 15:27 Edited at: 4th Sep 2006 15:32
Acolyte, according to your dependency list, you have the DLL MPR installed, but it's an older version than the one required by the sample, or at least one of the DLLs used by the sample. It's missing them exported functions from MPR.DLL. Now whether this will actually have an effect on running the samples, your guess is as good as mine. It's just a very strange issue with why the samples won't run.

I've uploaded an archive containing the install files of 84.21 for the nVidia driver, see if that helps. You will need to uninstall your existing driver though before this will install.

http://www.apexnow.co.uk/84.21.rar

Hope this helps/does the trick.

[EDIT] I've even got 78.01 versions if you need them as well, at any rate, I'm using 84.21 and the samples work.

Paul.

Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 21:00
I've tried reinstalling the August build and it says that directx runtime setup failed and gives me a (-9) for the error i guess? It says an internat system error occured. I think something got deleted out of the registry on one of my previous uninstalls and whenever i try to update to a new version now, it doesn't like it. Is there any way to fix this?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
Acolyte
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 21:42
I successfully installed the drivers you provided for my nVidia card. Thank you. I'm still attempting to get the august release of directx sdk installed. So i don't need to worry about the mpr.dll?

Windows XP Home Ed. SP/2 ---> GeForce FX 5500 - 256MB
160 GB HD ---> 1 Gig RAM
OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 21:54
You shouldn't need to.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 21:57
Acolyte, It's not a good sign when installing DX becomes a problem. Thing is, are you installing from a fully downloaded image of DirectX runtime, or are you downloading that initial setup.exe thing which retrieves the rest of the files over network? If you can download the full DX system so that it can be installed offline, this may be better.

Paul.

OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 22:04 Edited at: 4th Sep 2006 22:07
Delete everything in %temp% - that should sort it.

I think its time to get serious in solving this - unfortunately forums dont let people actually see the problem, so we can only guess. Therefore, are you in the UK and do you have any remote access software (VNC/UltraVNC or TightVNC installed) ?

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 22:15
LogMeIn

OSX Using Happy Dude
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Sep 2006 22:21
Thats quite good, especially for Pocket PC's.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention - register interest by Saturday 2/9/06 (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Demoing at the last Chichester Convention : Humans On A Planet

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-19 08:34:54
Your offset time is: 2024-11-19 08:34:54