Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Sizing characters

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Sep 2006 21:39
I'm new to gaming but I've been running CG software for fifteen years. From Playmation/Animation Master to Lightwave to now Maya. Still trying to figure out importing characters and sets. I did manage to manually swap some image files and I was thrilled with the quality. Photo textures translate really well into the game engine. One thing I'm curious about is sizing characters? "A" how is that controlled and "B" how much control do you have? By that I mean is it possible to have very large characters that breach level heights? Not ceilings but if you have a say three story clear space can a character be sized to a height of two stories or more to the point two levels? Still digging around trying to find how to set properties on characters. There's the obvious defaults when you right click but I haven't found any other settings. Not really into code writing, light weight MEL is the best I can do. Just curious what's possible and where additional controls might be hidden? If there's text files I'm sure I can sort out how to modify them I just haven't found them yet. Back in the day I used to tweak Animation Master text files because it would refuse certain number combinations in texturing but I could manually enter them in the saved file.