Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Basement Runner W.I.P. (DBPro, repost)

Author
Message
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 20th Sep 2006 02:37 Edited at: 16th Oct 2006 00:01
Latest Build: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_download.php?i=1023759
10/15/06 (MAJOR update / third person)

As I have stated this is a reposted game.

I am DETERIMEND to make something out of tutorial 6 (huge dungeons).

Best of all I am going to attepemt this with as little, and only free plug-ins to allow as many people to follow, or even duplicate my work.

For the prupose of I'm nice:
You won't be able to duplicate/help with this easily unless I post my code, and because it is already quite long I will be using a simple website(it doesnt even have a background), that I made just for it.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 20th Sep 2006 02:58 Edited at: 15th Oct 2006 23:59
NEWS

Current:
GUI
Playable
Working preview
1st person
Better interface from last setup!
3rd person

Plans for the future:

Mini-map
Item for added purpose to the game
split screen/two player

Feedback request:
1. Mouse sensitivity to high?
2. Game play...
3. Should I make it a really big maze?
4. Monsters that give you time and score only objective?

Current Feedback:
1) Yes (Should now be resolved.)
2) Game Play: Where's the end?
3) No (Will be fixed when objective is completed.)
4) Add something to shoot at you.

Please note that this is my first program with DBPro and Dark basic in genral, so please dont spam "ITS THE TUTORIAL" becasue i no that, I'm just learning how to setup objectives etc on my own... the lvl creator is like well low on my skills list.

SCREENS:


Acctual current game play


If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 20th Sep 2006 03:22
Please test, post.
Still working on website, forgot server password lol

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
Sixty Squares
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 22nd Sep 2006 03:47 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2006 03:47
Broken download in post 1. No download in post 2. We need a download to get the file lol.

Ummm...
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 23rd Sep 2006 19:37 Edited at: 23rd Sep 2006 19:42
opps... ill get right on it


[EDIT]
compressed in .zip format
run from desktop or any other folder.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 23rd Sep 2006 22:50 Edited at: 23rd Sep 2006 22:50
lol downloading

Sixty Squares
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 23rd Sep 2006 23:43
Cool I can download it now

Ummm...
Sixty Squares
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 23rd Sep 2006 23:57
Alright, FEEDBACK TIME!


Your sugguested feedback:

-The controls were too senitive. I kept on going TOO FAST and turning TOO HARD.

-
Quote: "Should I make it a really big maze?"


-Don't make it too big, I can't find the end in this one

-Please do add monsters to fight or something. It'd be awesome then! The monsters don't need to move. They can just stand there and shoot at you.

-3rd Person would be greatly appreciated


MY OWN FEEDBACK:

-Where's the end???? What is the objective? Please put the objective in the game.

-Less speed please.

-You could add obstacles that you can run into. When you hit them you lose?


==That's it for now! Looks great thus far!

Ummm...
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 27th Sep 2006 05:30
Response to your feed back sixty squares...

End??? What end... lol out of all the things I need to do is make one...

Objective... Currently score ,,,
-- 3rd person with monsters ill prolly end up making it enimies --- killed/slain
--- Yes enimies will be staitionary...

Object when ran into you lose
-- Theres that already... If you ever acumulate any score and run --- into any wall you will notice that your score goes down at most --- 100 points and will not drop below 0. This may not seem to harsh --- but it adds up. This is kind of why controls are real sesentive.

For the purpose of controls i will be attempting to control the FPS rather then messing with my formual first... because if you guessed it is set to 0 ...

And thank you for your support.

P.S.
You answered the minimap question on a diffrent thread although that does not work well when you are not using a matrix.

If able could you take a look at tutorial 6 and figure out a way to get a map say using the variables map$(curposx),map$(curposz)... if you look down i belive it defines this during colision.

ALSO you will be getting your own special spot on the credits for your loyal support.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 27th Sep 2006 05:56 Edited at: 27th Sep 2006 06:27
UPDATE:
Problem Solved: Going way to fast

Solution: Well I had the sync rate set to 0, so i read up and that is completly based per machine as fast as the machine will go.

I instead did this:


This does mean the max fps is 120, which when i was testing it I was getting upwards of 170 fps constantly at some parts( which for any game using DirectX i'd say is impressive or just not enough items there although real hard to control and predict).

Next update will hopefully be:
Stationary turrents/something to shoot you, maybe roll you over

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
eek
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2006 06:30
I think if you set the sync rate to 40 or whatever you choose, it will keep the frame rate at or below 40 for all machines. I think that having a fluctuating fps is not really ideal, I believe most people cap it somewhere between 40-60. At least, I think that's how most people do it.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 27th Sep 2006 14:41 Edited at: 27th Sep 2006 14:43
Thats for the suggestion.

I ask you one thing though: Did you try it with the fluctuating fps?
If so that means a lot more then what most people do.

Thank you for your suggestion.

[Edit]
I set it to flucutate because I wanted it to get less control to the user the faster you go, so going 120 fps is a lot harder then 30 to say.

Also, the latest build does not fix the problem with turning to sharp.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
eek
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 28th Sep 2006 06:16
Quote: "I set it to flucutate because I wanted it to get less control to the user the faster you go, so going 120 fps is a lot harder then 30 to say.

Also, the latest build does not fix the problem with turning to sharp.
"


I guess that makes sense. I think that the new method of getting less control is much better because when you fluctuate FPS, it changes how the game acts. 120 will make everything extremely crisp, quick movements, plus the addition in "actual" speed which I think is not exactly what you want. So, I suppose either way works, it's really up to you!
Sixty Squares
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 28th Sep 2006 13:49
Ummm, what if the player's computer can't reach 120 fps? What if it can only get up to 40? What happens then?

Ummm...
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 29th Sep 2006 01:01
BOOM!!!

well honestly I dont no wut to say then.

do u really have the problem getting that high?
I havent had that problem ever...
and i run w2000 with only a 256 mg ram and geforce 4mx video card...

I thought i'd be the lagger

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 29th Sep 2006 01:02
Quote: "plus the addition in "actual" speed which I think is not exactly what you want. "


lol... quite littearlly what i want for now. This is first person so if it isnt actual what is it.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
eek
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Sep 2006 02:29
I was differentiating between the speed you increment, like say you're using the "move" command versus speeding up because of an fps boost. I'm guessing you have an "actual" speed which would be the miles per hour, which you increase as the plaer speeds up. Then, at 30 fps, the game will just run slower which will simulate a slow speed, and as the fps increases the game performance will increase therefore simulating a fast speed. I was saying I think you want the actual MPH speed instead of an increase or decrease in FPS, but it's really up to you.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 29th Sep 2006 18:06
well i was going with a mix of the two...

I have it set to continue to go faster...

truths:
mph is not a variable
speed# is a variable
fps simulates going slower
they work together well.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
eek
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 30th Sep 2006 05:42
Quote: "mph is not a variable
speed# is a variable
fps simulates going slower
they work together well."


Well I wasn't saying specifically what you named the variable, mph was just an example. If it works for you then great! It's not too big of a deal, just trying to help a little. In either case, it's a very nice program so if you keep going with it it should turn out great. The GUI seems really nice.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 30th Sep 2006 07:48
Yeah took me a while to figure it out, I used FreshGUI.

Had most trouble getting a hold of Cloggy's d3d dll, which i dont really use i wanted though for example to learn freshgui.

I'm having problems when i press newgame...
it donesnt remove objects i guess?

anyone who gots an idea please post.
Quote: "It's not too big of a deal, just trying to help a little."

Thanks thats all I ask... I am very involved with this so I will explain every knook and crany. All i ask is you have fun with it.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 30th Sep 2006 08:07 Edited at: 30th Sep 2006 08:11
NEW BUILD!

Changes:
Made it so minimum FPS is 30 to reduce intial lag, . . . 120 fps is still maximum
Altered Turning to be less response aprox.
. . . 1 tenth of the mouse movement.

Please report problems

NEXT TASK: 3rd person, but even better "3rd person option"

[edit]
of course in zip format

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 4th Oct 2006 03:28 Edited at: 4th Oct 2006 03:29
YAY!...
Code is http://members.cox.net/sneakysmith12/index
a movie (on exe )is http://memebers.cox.net/sneakysmith12/movie.mpg

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 11th Oct 2006 00:40
Weekly Bump:

I have not edited this forum within a week, because you have failed to post!

BY NOT POSTING AND READING THIS YOU WILL FEEL GUILTY

Thank you,
have a nice day.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
Sixty Squares
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 13th Oct 2006 23:26
When can I expect to see some 3rd person action?

Ummm...
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 15th Oct 2006 21:51 Edited at: 15th Oct 2006 22:59
Soon... in fact i'll drop everything and get working on that now.
im serious...
everything.

First things first though i SUCK at sprite manipulation for reason x which i dont even no y, so if ANYONE could figure out how to get a minimap using a 3rd person object; i'll have a sphere as placement for now, it would be appreciated.

For the minimap heres how it has to work...
The map creator is litterally the same as Dungeon Tutorial 6, so it cannot use matrix, but two planes does cover the entire area.

[EDIT]
Hmmmmmm.....
This is rather difficult to add an object that esentailly is a player.

Mainly because i never had to deal with this collision, so i will be longer then a few minutes

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 15th Oct 2006 23:59
WOOT theres another thing to cross off

The build is here!

Like always it will be a zip file

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Sixty Squares
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 16th Oct 2006 03:43
That was fun! Yay 3rd Person!

Ummm...
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 17th Oct 2006 03:38
Yay Good review

lol...

ty for the compliment.
now for dual screen bum bum bummmmmmmmmmmmm....

Quote: "In Your Basement, Waiting..."

hope you get out of my basement and find a friend to play it with

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 18th Oct 2006 15:49
Yay this surpassed my other thread on the same game!
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=84883&b=8

don't post there that will only confuse me

Thanks

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
Mr Tank
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Oct 2006 06:40
Seems to work pretty well. There is some popup which doesn't seem nescessary, and also i think you should raise the camera up a bit because where it is so low to the ground it makes it harder to see where side passages come off the passage you are looking down.


You'll be able to click on this someday.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 23rd Oct 2006 00:32
Quote: "you should raise the camera up"


thanks for the tip

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 23rd Oct 2006 22:46 Edited at: 24th Oct 2006 01:00
Quote: "here is some popup which doesn't seem nescessary"


Meaning???

[EDIT]

zooming is here!
Mouse: third mouse button
keyboard: zoom-in = shift zoom-out = enter

have fun!

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Tank
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Oct 2006 02:52
Getting better.

The zoom doesn't work for my mouse somehow- if by third mouse button you mean the rolly wheel thing. It works in keyboard mode though.

I'd suggest instead of just moving the camera away from the player, pitch the camera up a bit- so the player object is below the centre of the screen. This way the camera won't need to be as far behind the player for a given height above the ground.

In keyboard mode, the rotation left/right feels too slow.

When i say the popup seems unnescessary, i mean that i get the feeling the computer would be capable of drawing out to a greater distance without slowdown. You could then mask the abrupt popup by either black fogging or by having a point light above where the player (i guess you have something like this already), with a range set smaller than the draw distance, and zero ambient light.


You'll be able to click on this someday.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 24th Oct 2006 03:55 Edited at: 24th Oct 2006 04:28
Quote: "zoom doesn't work for my mouse"


Just noticed it. Thanks. Rather then post another build of the game I am just telling you a by pass... rather then reseting mousez which i should of done i have a variable reset to min.
So if you just roll the wheel away from your hand when you start it should work well from there.
I will fix this for the future.

Quote: "mask the abrupt popup by either black fogging or by having a point light above where the player (i guess you have something like this already), with a range set smaller than the draw distance, and zero ambient light."


I think i understand what you mean this time . I although have no clue how to fix this, because my foging or atleast how i think it works is like a 9 grid square where your in the center, and so when you move its like blocks reseting.
I can brighten up easily I would think.
I can set the FoV range shorter.
and ambient light is my friend... although just for you i will kill him.

[edit]
everything i've done to prevent that pop-up which i just recently realized was there has failed. I've done all your suggestions. It's plain and simple why. Each time it does that pop up is because it's enabling the viewer to see a complete object. This means i'd have to have a viewobjectpartial function to get it some what removed.

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 4th Nov 2006 21:41
plz post other issues

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.
sneaky smith12
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2006
Location: Like id tell you, oh wait i just did
Posted: 18th Nov 2006 03:35
BUMP!!! dont let this die and make me go to part three

If at first you dont succeed, LOWER YOUR STANDARDS.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-06-21 01:47:10
Your offset time is: 2021-06-21 01:47:10