Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi. I am new to the boards and the game as well and I am having a hell of a time trying to work out the kinks and actually make a decent game. Here are the problems I have encountered. I hope that they are trivial just because I am a newbie, if not then I have a serious problem on my hands.

1. Lighting. I tried putting two lantern wall mounts on the outside of the building and then put a yellow light source around both of them. It didn't work. I noticed that the lanterns could be either static or dynamic? Whats the difference when it comes to unmovable items? When I turn on Dynamic Shadows and Shader Effects, all I get is a dark level; no light whatsoever.

2. Two or more layer levels. I've tested this out and it's ugly. For example, I created a huge arena room. At the far end was a stairs leading up to the second level which had various rooms. I put colored carpet down in one of the rooms which changes the cieling of the arena in that certain part to the carpet texture, which as you can imagine is ugly as hell.

3. Flashing textures. For some inexplicable reason, well to me anyway, different textures throughout the level start flashing. Is this because I downloaded bad textures or is it the game engine itself?