Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / GDK.Net / Visual Studio 2005: OOP Wrappers

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Nov 2006 08:40
Being a c# programmer by trade, I love working with objects. I have a made a small effort so far to abstract away the GDK.Net procedural-based commands within an object wrapper layer. It allows for code like "myObject.rotate(x,y,z)" instead of "oDB3D.RotateObject(Id, x, y, z)". There is more work to be done on the library, but it is functional so far. It should be enough for you to get the idea of what can be done with object wrappers.

Here is a snippet from a test application I am using to work with the library (you can't run this since it is only a small part of a larger project, it is provided as an example):

-MudBug

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kBessa
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Nov 2006 19:17
Nice one Mudbug!

I am also doing something like this myself, but because of my laziness this weekend, I didn't even finish the class diagrams.

As a C# programmer, just like you, I feel DGDK.NET is just to far from being OOP, "oDB3D.RotateObject(Id, x, y, z)" is just too ugly!

But I was going to try a little bit different aproach, writing my Wrapper as a Plugin to DGDK.NET. Paul may correct if I'm wrong, but in my opinion, writing it as plugin should be the best way.
Mudbug
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Nov 2006 21:07
Thanks kBessa, I hope the code is useful to you. I would love to see your plug-in when you are able to get to it.

I didn't think about using plug-ins myself, I know almost nothing about them. I will spend some time researching plug-ins soon (maybe while everyone else is eating Turkey during Thanksgiving, hehe).