Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

NVIDIA Competition 2008 / Chris Franklin's new entry :)

Author
Message
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 30th Nov 2006 21:40 Edited at: 30th Nov 2006 21:41
Well i decided to restart my entry because i gave up coding for a while and deleted anything on my pc to do with coding don't ask why but i got back into it again (Thanks batvink ) and well here i am with a last minute new thread for C&C render's of media and In game updates

Render of short but diffucult tunnel :

Well will be diffucult soon.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 15:01 Edited at: 1st Dec 2006 15:02
Screenshot of the wip flooded tunnel in the dbp engine



Attachments

Login to view attachments
Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 15:07
I have two qestions... why is the road made of water, and what type of game is this? Sorry, but from this post all I know is you have a tunnel with a road made of water for some reason.

Seppuku Arts
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 17:42
He says its flooded :

Quote: "Screenshot of the wip flooded tunnel "


"Cut down the gods if they stand in your way" - Hakamoto Tsunetomo
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 19:28
FPS Bizar and yea flooded tunnel add's to the effect i wanna give

Seppuku Arts
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 19:55
Given that, I think the water looks far too rough, up the UV scale real high, or make another image for the water

"Cut down the gods if they stand in your way" - Hakamoto Tsunetomo
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 20:59
Sep it's a shader i just made the plain that sounds it biiger. More updates soon, time to add hdr

Seppuku Arts
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 22:41
I know, but its a shader that uses an image, isn't it, last time I checked the water shader laying around used an image to create the shape of the effects and could be UV scaled bigger and smaller, unless this new refraction version of it doesn't let you do that...

"Cut down the gods if they stand in your way" - Hakamoto Tsunetomo
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 1st Dec 2006 23:37
well it does but it's gonna be scaled down if anything because well the texture's scaled up so much it flickers now

Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 2nd Dec 2006 11:22 Edited at: 3rd Dec 2006 11:58
Well i got the Rusted car in the tunnel in last night (Good 'ol fpsc media boards ) here's a screen

Torch off:



With torch on:



Edit:Kinda dark sorry that's the way it looks with no torch (adding a torch in now)

Edit 2:Still waiting for the confirmation i can use the model so....


Edit3: yay i'm definately allowed to use it so i'm happy now back to work...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 11:12 Edited at: 3rd Dec 2006 11:59
Deleted post, New screen brighter above ^ (Torch on pic)

Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 11:19
Chris, you need gameplay before you add shaders. You'll stunt your development with the effects.


Come see the WIP!
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 11:25 Edited at: 3rd Dec 2006 11:25
Quote: "Chris, you need gameplay before you add shaders. You'll stunt your development with the effects."




I'm delibrately adding shader's in before so i can get to know what speed it'll run at on my p3 and what sort of poly count to base around, how would you go about it then?

Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 11:48
Personally, I'd put in all the core components first. The ones you'll absolutely need for a FPS game. If it isn't a good FPS game, then you won't win, no matter how pretty the lights are.

Putting them in first isn't bad, but I can see it getting in the way of the serious engine development.


Come see the WIP!
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 11:57
ah ok i'll leave that one shader in and work on the masin engine now because the shader set's part of the 2nd mission up (not saying why yet ) anyway here's that new pic

Attachments

Login to view attachments
headcrab 53
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 16:45
This is looking good so far. I wonder what's going on that caused a dark, flooded tunnel...


Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 17:37
You want me to comment your thread Chris?

Soul Alchemist W.I.P Thread coming soon!
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 19:39
Quote: "This is looking good so far. I wonder what's going on that caused a dark, flooded tunnel..."


thanks ,haha the flooded tunnel is all part of the gameplay , you'll find out soon enough

Quote: "You want me to comment your thread Chris?
"


lol yea that'd be nice

Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Dec 2006 20:09
Thanks to Apexnow i've got a flickering light system in the tunnel , Vid attached, Recorded With Cam studio (Freeware app google it)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Zotoaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 4th Dec 2006 22:59
It looks good. Crappy quality though.

I have to expand on what Cash said. Making a game is just like making a building. You don't build a fancy roof and gleamy windows until you have the foundation and bricks layed. That's not what you're doing here, and I see this project falling apart quite soon unless you get some structure and stability to your game.

Good luck

dab
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 16:17
Yah, the game looks pretty so far, but it seems that you're trying to build up hype just like this thread. Even though both games look to be good so far, there just isn't enough gameplay yet to even consider them a threat of competition. Just to let you know. Although, I started out with shaders too. So, I'm far from being considered a threat either, though even if I had gameplay in, it'd still be far from being considered a threat. So, good luck with your game nonetheless.

Take heed, never take advantage of the things you need, never let your self be overcome by greed. Walk a strigh line, pick up your speed and try. Everyone deserves a piece of the pie By: Shaggy
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 17:06
Quote: "Yah, the game looks pretty so far, but it seems that you're trying to build up hype just like this thread. Even though both games look to be good so far, there just isn't enough gameplay yet to even consider them a threat of competition. Just to let you know. Although, I started out with shaders too. So, I'm far from being considered a threat either, though even if I had gameplay in, it'd still be far from being considered a threat. So, good luck with your game nonetheless. "


Haha thanks , i'm not really trying to get hype like "omg" it's more of intrest shown helps me continue projects hopefully i'll get weapons in tonight and get a screenie of it all and finish the first level meaning demo time (i)

Xenocythe
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 18:11
I think I have a few steps for you to get your mind off of shaders.

1. Model a gun, or use a free one. Put it in the game, and make a shooting system. A full one.

2. How about some player stats? Health system, whatever you want.

-Mansoor Siddiquie

Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 19:02
Quote: "1. Model a gun, or use a free one. Put it in the game, and make a shooting system. A full one.

2. How about some player stats? Health system, whatever you want.
"


Doing both now just trying to work out how to make my own bitmap fonts

Xenocythe
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 19:13
Don't worry about that, thats graphical stuff!

Leave it to normal for now!

-Mansoor Siddiquie

Seppuku Arts
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 19:17
Dude! Engine first, graphics second, progress third...doing graphics first can result in slow compile times, less FPS and slower loading times, making the engine a pain to sort out, but with engine first, you already got all of the elements set out ready to implement the graphics, its not the best method to use, probably one of the biggest pains.

"Cut down the gods if they stand in your way" - Hakamoto Tsunetomo
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 5th Dec 2006 19:27
Come to a bit of a hault position object for a function i found won't work for some reason on dbp v6.2 even tho it worked on 5.9 strange annoying and a complete pain o well i'll fix it , and yea i'll use the default text commands for now then it's just the recoding that'll be a right pain for all the bmp fonts

Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 6th Dec 2006 12:03
Use the bitmap font plugin from www.accode.com. There's no point in coding something that's already been done, and done well.


Come see the WIP!
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 6th Dec 2006 16:41
Quote: "Use the bitmap font plugin from www.accode.com. There's no point in coding something that's already been done, and done well."


I mean like make my own font to use i game

Thanks tho

Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 7th Dec 2006 11:43
Then search for the "LMNOpc Bitmap Font Builder". It's compatible with the Accode plugin, and produces great bitmap font sheets instantly. Easy to edit in Photoshop to make them your own.


Come see the WIP!
Chris Franklin_
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2006
Location: Home
Posted: 11th Feb 2007 15:13 Edited at: 11th Feb 2007 15:33
Right good and bad news:

Bad news: HD screwed up and i lost all my projects

Good news: I'm really trying my hardest to make a game in the very short time i've got left so don't think you've got away easy

Screen attached of how far i've managed to remake

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Tom J
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 11th Feb 2007 22:02
Quote: "I'm really trying my hardest to make a game in the very short time i've got left so don't think you've got away easy"


Good luck it won't be easy to make a game in five days.
Chris Franklin_
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2006
Location: Home
Posted: 12th Feb 2007 10:20 Edited at: 12th Feb 2007 10:28
Quote: "Good luck it won't be easy to make a game in five days."


Thanks i know gonna get really really really hard,, so i've decidede to make it an offline deathmathc ut2k4 dstyle on 1 map (Bit small i know) if the game isn'rtt finished for the compo i'm really in need of a new pc (This p3 sucks) i'll just knock it up to commercial quality a tad more

(With demo and stuff to try of course)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-02 03:02:24
Your offset time is: 2022-12-02 03:02:24