Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / DarkGDK.NET

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Is there a forum that I haven't seen soecifically for this?

If not - a few questions....

I've been programming for about 25 years now and having found this library as being useable in VB.NET decided to take the plunge (I used to program and sell games for the Sinclair ZX81 back in the 80s before I moved into business programming). However, whilst the capability in the GDK is almost certainly there the help file is absolutely awful. They barely give you syntax of each individual command but do nothing for what the commands actually do, how they fit together or what many of the parameters actually mean. I am totally underwhelmed by it all and wonder if I might have been better off just taking the plunge and learning to program for DirectX without the "middle man".

Also one of the attractions of DarkBASIC was all the tools that are available but it is unclear as to which ones I could make use of using the tool kit as I am rather than using DarkBASIC Pro as the development environment (which I tried but couldn't get on with - it felt like going back to the deepest darkest days of BASIC in the 1980s.

I have many SDK questions - surely I'm not the only one using it?

Steve Sharkey
move eax 1
Years of Service
User Offline
Your not the only one using it check the dgsdk board an you'll find tons of people including me when I buy it after christmas

-lol-
Jay Bee
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Dec 2006 13:34
There is a board for the SDK here: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_read&i=22

And yes, the help files are abysmal, that's one thing I would love to see improved. The best way to learn is to find tutorials...