Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Work In Progress / [LOCKED] Gone - Scifi/Horror

Author
Message
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 23rd Dec 2006 23:21 Edited at: 10th Jun 2007 19:30
Note: To all those who are new to this thread, this is an old post. Go to the later pages to see newer, better screenies!

DEMO PROGRESS

**The tasks that we are currently working on are in bold.**


Completed:

- Bank Layout
- Bank Models
- Bank Area
- Alleyway Layout
- Alleyway Models
- Texture Alleyway Models
- Warehouse Layout
- Finish Warehouse Area
- General Story

To Do:

- Finish Alleyway Area
- Make Street Layout
- Make Street Models
- Texture Street Models

- Finish Street Area
- Make Office Building Layout
- Make Office Building Models
- Texture Office Building Models
- Finish Office Building Area
- Create normal maps for everything
- Create shaders for needed objects
- Make Singleplayer Menu System
- Make Multiplayer Menu System
- Bug Test
- Recompile .EXE to remove all FPSC branding
- Run it through Pheonix
- Put all of it together, create .EXE

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 24th Dec 2006 18:41 Edited at: 8th Jun 2007 04:04
Note: The following screenies are old and are not even in the game anymore.

Oh haha! Wow man. Here's two more shots.

And I've been using FPSC for I think almost a year now. I just got an account yesterday though. Also I will be making a menu outside FPSC similar to that of Dark Faction.





Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 29th Dec 2006 17:18
So yeah no body is commenting but just so everybody knows (who reads this) I am completely changing the setting of the game.

You will actually be on Earth storming a chemical laboratory. Its still called gone, same creepy lighting, custom everything except weapons and people and a few other select objects.


kloen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 5th Jan 2007 15:34
i still think it's cool, i really want to play the demo!

kloen
wizard of id
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2006
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posted: 6th Jan 2007 00:13
Horror games are old and to really get the doom style a lot more work is required....Nice try but it's needs a lot more work.
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 6th Jan 2007 01:15
Okay I almost have the demo done. I'll be working on it just like the screenshots while I make custom media for the real thing. The real thing will be in a laboratory, and it will have alot of things in there that I think is just plain cool. More screenshots soon. And also: THIS IS NOT GOING TO BE A HORROR GAME ANYMORE! I am just owkring on level design right now. Originally it was going to be a Horror Game, but i decided against it. In the demo it will have some small custom things but not full segments just yet.

Your signature has been erased by a mod because it was too big
JohannesM
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2005
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posted: 6th Jan 2007 20:14
ANOTHER HORROR?? lol..

No offence it's just that i'm to afraid to play any horror (laugh all you want!)

Nice screens and story though!

Essal
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jan 2006
Location: inside your webcam, watching YOU.
Posted: 7th Jan 2007 18:49
Looks nice and sounds nice

Looking forward to seeing more..


YEah baby- Essal is back
Airslide
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 7th Jan 2007 19:21
Quote: "No offence it's just that i'm to afraid to play any horror (laugh all you want!)"


Ya, I started to feel that way after playing F.E.A.R.

ultraplex
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location: cyberspace
Posted: 7th Jan 2007 21:38
as long as it ain't another zombie game,been done to death

Never eat yellow snow
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 8th Jan 2007 00:44
It's NOT a zombie game! And I just finished some custom segment textures for the office section of the lab and they look NICE! Screenies coming soon.

<a href="http://www.inspiremedia.tk/">Inspire Media Website</a>
Silent Thunder
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Feb 2006
Location: The Ship
Posted: 8th Jan 2007 04:16 Edited at: 8th Jan 2007 04:16
Quote: "Ya, I started to feel that way after playing F.E.A.R."


the box was enough to scare me and make me paranoid.

lol, I'm not really a fan of horror, but I will keep updated on this.


Get my Mega Segment Pack for free, be one of the first 5 to post
Avenging Eagle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 8th Jan 2007 09:00
If only you could minic the ending of F.E.A.R in FPSC, the liquifying, the encounter with Fettel and the discovery of who you really are...oh, and the nuke!!

AE

Roger Wilco
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2005
Location: In the Shadow of Chernobyl
Posted: 8th Jan 2007 15:47
I've always wanted to make a big nuke like in FEAR. That would've been so awesome.

"Or perhaps we're just one of god's little jokes?"
Badenhop
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2006
Location: The Americas
Posted: 10th Jan 2007 18:06
Looks good dude! I will be DLing it to check out hte horror! Sounds fun.

Sign here...
tyrano man
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2006
Location: Battle City - Kalspher :)
Posted: 15th Jan 2007 18:26
Screenies look good nice lighting.

Quote: "If only you could minic the ending of F.E.A.R in FPSC, the liquifying, the encounter with Fettel and the discovery of who you really are...oh, and the nuke!!"


Iv'e just started playing it thanks for giving away the end.
any way yer nice screenies

Tyrano

Woot Kingdom hearts owns!
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 21st Jan 2007 05:49
Yeah. I highly doubt anyone is reading this but this game is dead in FPSC. We are producing it in Dim3 now because FPSC is just to limiting. Email me if you care and wish to help because it is looking mighty fine. This is most likely going to be locked so good luck everyone with FPSC.

kvorbach93@yahoo.com

Avenging Eagle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 21st Jan 2007 09:59
Quote: "We are producing it in Dim3"

I'm so annoyed that's only a Mac application...

AE

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 21st Jan 2007 19:54
Haha yes. The only reason I am switching to Dim3 though is that I'm having problems with custom segments. Otherwise I would just do it in FPSC.

Before I discontinue everything I've done, can somebody please help me with this?

When I make my segment in the segment editor I get an error message.

And after I changed my mesh and imported it into FPSC I got a different error message!

If someone could help me with this I would gladly continue this in FPSC!

RedneckRambo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Oct 2006
Location: Worst state in USA... California
Posted: 21st Jan 2007 19:55
I can help ya with segments. Get signs 4. If you can't afford it, get the lite version. That is free.

Tiggle Bitties

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 21st Jan 2007 20:03
Thanks! I'm probably going to have screenies up in about 5 - 10 minutes!

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 22nd Jan 2007 00:47
Here we go. Thanks to Signs IV Gone is still being produced in FPSC.

Custom segment screenie:


RedneckRambo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Oct 2006
Location: Worst state in USA... California
Posted: 22nd Jan 2007 01:09
Quote: "Here we go. Thanks to Signs IV Gone is still being produced in FPSC."

That is such an awesome program.

Tiggle Bitties

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 22nd Jan 2007 01:55 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2007 01:58
Does anyone have any comments or advice?

(Video attached)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Locrian
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2005
Location: Burton Mi.
Posted: 22nd Jan 2007 02:18
Well the custom textures far exceed the tgc stock ones. You gotta remember most of the people here have seen those done to death, so till your game sports quite a bit of custom media there isn't going to be much fan fair. I like the commercial looking texture in the vid. The floor is especialy nice. That port hole looking thing looks a little out of place though.

As for you problems above with the TGC supplied segment editor. I know that I had similar problems when I tried using it on a computer with only on-board graphics and no card. It seemed to crash and fault in all kinda odd ways. Depending on your machine, this may be the problem. With Signs 4 having the ability to import custom walls though(the full version at least), theres no need even screwing with the TGC one.
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 22nd Jan 2007 02:27 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2007 02:28
Yeah I was thinking that about the port hole. It's not mine I was just playing with wall furniture. lol

And yes I have an onboard graphics card. Instead of upgrading I bought a 360 though.

I have a question about your post though. Are you saying people saw custom textures done to death or the FPSC textures? Because the screenies with the stock segments and entities are there just to show my level design ability. This game will be completely custom. Thanks for the advice!

xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 22nd Jan 2007 02:44
No one can comment on what you say your game will be. We only see what you show, and as LOC said, the stock media has been done to death. The custom segment screenie looks ok, though grayscale and completely empty.

If you want valid and contructive advice and crits, you'll have to show more.

Best.

I'm sorry, my answers are limited. You must ask the right question.

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 24th Jan 2007 02:48 Edited at: 24th Jan 2007 02:48
I won't be able to post anything new for about a week because my band has a bunch of shows coming up, but as soon as those are done we'll (me and the singer) will continue work.

Stay Tuned!

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 28th Jan 2007 04:41
Right now I'm working on modeling but here are some screenies from one of my test levels.




Comments?

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 28th Jan 2007 17:04 Edited at: 28th Jan 2007 17:11
I'll put this level up for download for the first three people who post. That is, if anyone does. lol

And just to clarify: I am not new at FPSC! I just registered on the forums recently. I've really been using it for around a year and a half.

Avenging Eagle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 28th Jan 2007 21:13
Sure, why not (i posted...see?)

AE

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 28th Jan 2007 22:38
Okay. That's one person. I'm going to wait until I get three more people until I send you a link.

Zdrok
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 02:52
Second guy isn't me. I don't wanna beta-test. The PC's filled to the brim as it is.

So, next guy will be the second one, Inspire.

Automatic: Biological Warfare

Comin' soon, maybe in Jan./Feb. 2007!
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 03:14
I'm sorry, but what was the point of that post? lol

AaronG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2006
Location: Millstone, NJ
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 03:16
looks good. what graphics card you have? (video card)

I have a 7600 but shaders on the guns don't work for me :-(
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 03:20
Haha. I still have an onboard graphics card..I was going to upgrade my computer but instead bought a 360 (Gears of War is amazing).

Does this mean you want to beta test?

AaronG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2006
Location: Millstone, NJ
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 03:21
yeah ill beta test, but I don't have the shaders like you do. What RC do you have? I got 8. Just like John F.'s elite pistol, the reflections don't work. Idk y.
AaronG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2006
Location: Millstone, NJ
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 03:22 Edited at: 29th Jan 2007 03:23
ps the game looks amazing for stock segments. its not bland at all. good lightmapping. im hyped about this one.


If you need help, just e-mail me. I'll be glad to make a few entities, now that I finally know how to UVMap .

-AaronG
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 03:24
John Fletcher's pistol made me want to cry it was so good. lol

Well, I had to reinstall FPSC recently. I installed the 1.04 upgrade, if that answers your question. I'll send you the beta probably tomorrow afternoon if somebody else posts.

Thraxas
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2006
Location: The Avenging Axe, Turai
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 07:34
i'll test if you like... i'm getting my new uber pc tomorrow...


Nickydude
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 15:17
Bah, I stomp all over your uber PC with my 2ghz - GForce 6600...

and smear marmalade over it for good measure...

traitor...




AaronG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2006
Location: Millstone, NJ
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 15:31
lol,

i have a 7600

250gb hD w00t
Avenging Eagle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 17:44
2.8 Ghz, 300gb HDD and a ATi X1600 pro

Not great, but adequate...

AE

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 21:16
Quote: "ps the game looks amazing for stock segments. its not bland at all. good lightmapping. im hyped about this one."


These are all custom segments. I textured them myself!

Quote: "I'll be glad to make a few entities, now that I finally know how to UVMap"


Thanks, but I'll be doing the modeling because I have a certain vision for this game. lol

I'll be sending you guys a link to the demo (AaronG, AE, and Thraxas) as soon as possible, so can you guys please tell me your thoughts on it after you play it?

Note: The custom menu will not be in the demo. I'm mainly focusing on my level design.

Thraxas
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2006
Location: The Avenging Axe, Turai
Posted: 29th Jan 2007 22:18
Quote: "and smear marmalade over it for good measure"


Noooooooooooooooooooooooo.... marmalade is probably the deadliest condiment known to man...


Quote: "I'll be sending you guys a link to the demo (AaronG, AE, and Thraxas) as soon as possible, so can you guys please tell me your thoughts on it after you play it?"


Sure will...


Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 30th Jan 2007 23:23 Edited at: 30th Jan 2007 23:23
I'm sorry testers, but this demo is going to have to be delayed about a week.

Here's some screenies from the demo though:





Samuellx3
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Location: Caaaardiff!
Posted: 1st Feb 2007 20:41
1.can u use fps on mac
2.plz help me wit lightmapping
3.what is sim3??????

\elgoi\
Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 3rd Feb 2007 19:45
1. No you can't.
2. What problem are you having?
3. Dim3 is a game engine for Mac.

I will be releasing a multiplayer level soon (in a day or so). Here are some screenies:





Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 4th Feb 2007 00:59
The only thing keeping me from releasing this map is the fact that I am waiting for my order confirmation for Model Pack 5. This will be a four player map.





This will probably be out in the next couple of days.

Inspire
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 8th Feb 2007 03:22 Edited at: 8th Feb 2007 03:22
Here is some news about the game.

1. The demo will include both a singleplayer and multiplayer level.
2. The demo will have an interface programmed outside of FPSC.
3. The interface will allow you to tweak graphical options, etc.
4. The interface is still under construction (I have all the graphics and most of the coding finished).

Here are some screenies.

This is the main menu.



This is the multiplayer level select screen. Undermine is the name of the level included with the demo. The word is highlighted in black because I scrolled over it with a mouse (you can't see it because the it doesn't appear when you hit printscreen), but normally it would be the blood red color of everything else.



Comments, criticism?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-04-11 19:18:40
Your offset time is: 2021-04-11 19:18:40