Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / finding 2d points from a plane intersecting a 3d object

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm studying algebra2 right now, and in the book i'm using, it said something about basic graphing shapes being resembled by a plane intersecting two vertical cones, like this illustration:

A plane intersecting two vertical cones can resemble a circle, a hyperbole, a quadratic curve, and everything in between.

So... i'm trying to write a program (in dbpro), that you can move a plane around on the right side of the screen, and on the left side, it will show where the plane intersects the two vertical cones. Basically, i want to find a formula that will give you a series of 2d coordinates, given three points in 3d space (defining the plane), and the slope of the cone (the place where the two cones intersect is always at 0,0,0, and it is perpendicular to the x/z axes, just to simplify things).

x = 3d coordinate
y = 3d coordinate
z = 3d coordinate
x1/y1/z1 = a point defining the plane
x2/y2/z2 = a point defining the plane
x3/y3/z3 = a point defining the plane
a = the slope of the cone
x4/y4 = the final two 2d coordinates.

I figure that the formula for a cone should be pretty simple, so i wrote this down for my cone:

sqrt(x^2+z^2)<=ay

where a is the slope of the cone.

I looked up the formula for a plane (given three points in space), and found this:

bx + cy + dz + e = 0
b = y1 (z2 - z3) + y2 (z3 - z1) + y3 (z1 - z2)
c = z1 (x2 - x3) + z2 (x3 - x1) + z3 (x1 - x2)
d = x1 (y2 - y3) + x2 (y3 - y1) + x3 (y1 - y2)
- e = x1 (y2 z3 - y3 z2) + x2 (y3 z1 - y1 z3) + x3 (y1 z2 - y2 z1)