The Game Creators
The Game Creators Home Click to Login
  Hot: November NewsletterAGK V2 Alpha 9AGK V108.xx
The Game Creators
FPSC Chat / [Free] FPS Creator Setup Public

Go to the first page of this board Return to the Forum Menu Post Message
37 Messages - Page   of 1   
Bookmark and Share Search the Forum

Author Message
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 18:07     Edited: 4th Mar 2011 21:20     | link | toggle


Hello there forum-people!

Over the last few weeks I have developed an application which provides a graphical UI for the setup.ini file. The application can be used to modify many commonly edited settings, for example lightmap quality, shader usage and more!

Graphical UI
A graphical user interface makes it easy to make changes to your setup.ini.

Presets
Automatically set many settings to optimal settings by selecting a preset.

Automatic Backup
Encase anything goes wrong, the app can automatically restore your Setup file from memory!




This application will be provided free of charge.
Download VBETA2

UPDATE: As I no longer have time to support this product I have released the source code, which is available from my post below.

Thanks to all who helped in the development of this!

~JRH

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Download: FPSCSetupB2.zip Size: 5334037 bytesReport this message as abusive
Norion

User


Joined: Mon Jun 14th 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 18:34           | link | toggle

WOW thanks

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Nickydude

Moderator


Joined: Sat Nov 4th 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 18:49           | link | toggle

Can I ask what you wrote this in?



For KeithC
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 20:11           | link | toggle

Quote: "Can I ask what you wrote this in?"
VB 2008 Express Edition

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
defiler

User


Joined: Sat Apr 4th 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 20:16           | link | toggle

Wow, this looks really nice. Will make editing the setup file easier.

Current Project: Lost Contact: Station 7
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
A dude

FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer


Joined: Mon Mar 15th 2010
Location: The Solar System
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 22:02           | link | toggle

Thank you so much for this!
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Vent

User


Joined: Fri Apr 3rd 2009
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 22:12           | link | toggle

Thats pretty cool, and useful, thanks a lot!

-Vent

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Leongamerz

User


Joined: Sat Aug 14th 2010
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 03:12           | link | toggle

Wow cool tool JRH.

Have A Good Day

From
Leon

Poloflece,Anayar,PWP,Henry Ham,Cosmic Prophet,Wolf,KeithC,Nickydude And Lee Bamber is my icon.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Akanto10

User


Joined: Sat Apr 24th 2010
Location: Earth
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 05:28     Edited: 15th Jan 2011 19:00     | link | toggle

Wow! I didn't even expect this one.

Thanks,
Akanto

EDIT: It doesn't like the installation (SEE SCREENSHOT).

EDIT #2: Wow, I tried opening that first and it told me that I had an error, but now I did it while running as administrator and it worked. Thank you!!!
Back to top
Download: Untitled.png Size: 151681 bytes  View Image: Untitled.png Size: 151681 bytesReport this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 10:11           | link | toggle

Quote: "It doesn't like the installation (SEE SCREENSHOT)."
Its not an installer. Just run the '.exe. file.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:06           | link | toggle

If anyone can think of any new features, feel free to suggest them.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Design Runner

User


Joined: Sat Oct 16th 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:18           | link | toggle

Looks great. How about a little display box that shows the image of the skybox selected? Anyways great application that will make my life easier.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:28           | link | toggle

Quote: "How about a little display box that shows the image of the skybox selected?"

That is actually an existing feature. I have disabled it atm so I can expand on things similar to it. Also, it is not part of the setup file.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Design Runner

User


Joined: Sat Oct 16th 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 19:43           | link | toggle

Wow, you are ahead of me. Great job.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Norion

User


Joined: Mon Jun 14th 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 21:02           | link | toggle

does it support fpsc X10 as well ?

thanks




sorry for my english i'm an alien
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
The Zoq2

AGK Developer


Joined: Wed Nov 4th 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 23:26           | link | toggle

Awsome program! I just have one question, why is the enable memriy cap recomended, what can happen if i would switch it off??

Srry about my english im from sweeden
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 18th Jan 2011 23:29           | link | toggle

The memory cap on the newer versions of FPSC would be disabled. If you have less than 2GB RAM, a message should appear warning you of the consequences

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
The New Noob

User


Joined: Sun Oct 17th 2010
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 09:28           | link | toggle

Quote: "does it support fpsc X10 as well ?"

Hopefully it should because X10's setup file is pretty much 99% the same as X9's

FPSC has no limits
FPSC 4 Kids: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=179153&b=21&p=0
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Google Ad
Back to top
 
Poloflece

User


Joined: Fri May 14th 2010
Location: Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 13:54           | link | toggle

Thankyou very much, this was exactly what needed

Poloflece


Rust Pack WIP here http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=178788&b=24
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Norion

User


Joined: Mon Jun 14th 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 16:07           | link | toggle

@ The New Noob

yeah you are right ! thanks dude

cheers




sorry for my english i'm an alien
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 18:33           | link | toggle

Quote: "does it support fpsc X10 as well?"
It has not been tested on X10. If anyone does, make sure to backup your setup files first. This was designed to run on FPSC X9 V1.18 B3.

Also, if someone wishes for compatibility to be added, you could always send me your X10 setup file.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
xplosys

Valued Member


Joined: Thu Jan 5th 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posted: 20th Jan 2011 15:15     Edited: 24th Jan 2011 15:44     | link | toggle

JRH,

Nice work on this. I like that you used text descriptions on mouseover for all the settings.

I have some question. (I'm testing this with 1.17 Final so excuse me if there are issues or changes between the versions)

1. Why does Lightmap Texture Size only go up to 512?
2. In Postprocessing mode, is it either/or or can both Bloom and DOF be used at the same time?
3. Could you include more info or a sample ini file for each of the three Presets? I'm not sure how you would integrate that into the program but you have room on the Settings tab for more buttons. Perhaps a text box below the current buttons that populates with the corresponding file?
4. Would you think about creating one of these for a finished game? It should be much less detailed and something we could place in our installers (it could be placed in the game directory) so the end user could make changes to the game setup.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
xplosys

Valued Member


Joined: Thu Jan 5th 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 15:45           | link | toggle

JHR,

I went ahead and made my own setting program for a finished game. Of course it can only adjust what's in the setup.ini of the finished game, but that's texture quality, post processing, dynamic lighting etc. At least the player can turn down some settings if the game is sluggish on their system.

Brian.

... and the band played on.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
bond1

Valued Member


Joined: Thu Oct 27th 2005
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 16:45           | link | toggle

This looks quite nice! Thanks.

"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
SPECS: Windows7 x64, Intel Core i7 920, Geforce GTX 580, 6GB RAM
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 18:11           | link | toggle

Thanks for the comments guys.

@xplosys
The program has the basis for a much simpler UI, for distribution with a game. I have already considered building a customisable launcher, with most settings adjustable. The norm. Anyway, no rush now that you've made your own

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Scurvy Lobster

User


Joined: Fri Mar 3rd 2006
Location: Denmark
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 11:36           | link | toggle

I can't make this tool run on any of my pc's (Win XP and Vista). I get the same error as seen in Akanto10's screenshot.

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 11:43           | link | toggle

You are opening the wrong file... Open the exe.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Scurvy Lobster

User


Joined: Fri Mar 3rd 2006
Location: Denmark
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 12:12           | link | toggle

I also tried that but I get an error just after selecting my FPSC folder. It produces a file called ErrorLog.txt that says someting about the value 16 cannot be used (error report is in Danish).

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
crispex

User


Joined: Fri Jun 22nd 2007
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 12:37           | link | toggle

Ok, so here's my single huge problem: You used Microsoft's publishing system. NEVER use Microsoft's publishing system, EVER. Use a real install creator, not something that gives more issues than it does good.

I use InstallShield, but there are also a few other ones such as Smart Install Maker, InnoSetup (free), and of course the oh-so-crappy ClickTeam Install Creator.

If you need an installer made, I'd be more than glad to do it.

On a positive note: Great work on the application.

I just now realized I've had a typo in my signature for the past 3 years.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 21:34           | link | toggle

Quote: "You used Microsoft's publishing system."

This is a beta. Everything goes in the pot.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Doomster

User


Joined: Thu Nov 8th 2007
Location: Germany
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 22:22     Edited: 4th Feb 2011 22:22     | link | toggle

Quote: "It produces a file called ErrorLog.txt that says someting about the value 16 cannot be used."

I'm encountering a similiar error; whenever I'm executing the "FPS Creator Setup.exe" file after I've selected a directory, a messagebox pops up with the following text: "An error has occured whilst loading data." and this text is written to the "ErrorLog.txt":

Quote: "The Value 128 is invalid for Value. Value should be between 'Minimum' and 'Maximum'.
Parametername: Value"

I'm using XP SP3 with .NET Framework 4.0 and the System Language is German.

-Doomster

Back to top
Find user on ICQ
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 9th Feb 2011 22:45           | link | toggle

Ok, thanks for the feedback. I'll try to get these bugs fixed up and added in with the new features when I find time

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 21:16     Edited: 4th Mar 2011 21:21     | link | toggle

Okay, this is not working for me. I no longer have the time to support this product, and I have received to many requests to support many different mods that is no longer feasible for me to manage.

For this reason I have decided to release the source code (attached to his post).

Here is my license:
Quote: "This is the license for this software.

- You may compile and use this source code for private, personal, non-commercial use only.
- If you wish to distribute the software publicly then you must email me (jonathan@hay4.co.uk) for permission.
- This software must NOT be sold, or exchanged in anyway. It has been written for free public use by myself, and I intendfor it to remain that way.
- Do not attempt to use the 'Global Editor' as it has been purposefully disabled due to lack of development.

Besides that, have fun!
"

It was written using VB 2008 Express Edition, but you should be able to port it to the 2010 version if required.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Download: FPSCSetupSource.rar Size: 17839518 bytesReport this message as abusive
Nomad Soul

User


Joined: Tue Jan 9th 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 21:22     Edited: 4th Mar 2011 21:46     | link | toggle

Thanks. Great work on this.

Please can you do a tutorial to compile the source in VB 2008 express.

How do I load the source code and compile it?

Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Michael Thompson

User


Joined: Fri Aug 15th 2008
Location: Behind you (if not, in australia)
Posted: 8th Mar 2011 08:59           | link | toggle

Awesome, if it is VB 2008, i will look at it right away. I will not use any of this code in my game menu's options (I will soon be releasing a game menu with options and all), but I would be interested to see how you structured this.

Windows 7 ultimate x64, Intel i7, 4 GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 330m 1GB
Flash Star Game Creations
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
JRH

User


Joined: Sat Jul 8th 2006
Location: Stirling, UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2011 12:53           | link | toggle

Quote: "I would be interested to see how you structured this."
In the simplest way possible... lots of variables

Quote: "Please can you do a tutorial to compile the source in VB 2008 express.

How do I load the source code and compile it?"
As I previously said, I don't have as much time to focus on this type of thing. That is why I released the source code.

C++ is labourless... if your name starts with 'L' and ends with 'ee'.
Back to top
Report this message as abusive
Michael Thompson

User


Joined: Fri Aug 15th 2008
Location: Behind you (if not, in australia)
Posted: 11th Mar 2011 11:35           | link | toggle

Yeah, as I said, I am making my own menu, with options. Right now, I have the key changer working, and mouse sensitivity. That is all and I have loads of functions and variables. I am working in autoit which is extremely similar to visual basic.

Windows 7 ultimate x64, Intel i7, 4 GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 330m 1GB
Flash Star Game Creations
Back to top
Report this message as abusive

Go to the first page of this board Return to the Forum Menu Post Message
37 Messages - Page   of 1   
Search the Forum

Sorry, but it has been so long since anyone replied to this Thread that it has been automatically locked.
You may read it but not reply.

Forum Search

Enter a word or phrase to search our Forum for:

Thread Subject Search
Search Phrase:
Search Scope: Entire forum
Just this board
 
Google Forum Search
Search Phrase:
 
Apollo v2.02


Winter Sale
Privacy Policy AUP Top of Page