Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / License Question (Icons, Process Memory, Cmdline)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Apr 2015 12:33 Edited at: 26th Apr 2015 16:06
Hi,
I am new to this and am using AGK2 for about 2-3 weeks, don't remember.
Someone over at the steam forum asked how to get custom icons for the windows player AGK2 executable.

http://steamcommunity.com/app/325180/discussions/0/616199347853067325/

If I got this right one of the developers of AppGameKit suggested that the only and proper way to do it was to change the executable icon via some kind of resource editor "Resource Hacker".

Since this changes the player exe, I wanna know, if this is really covered by the license. At the moment, the player icons are nothing of my concern though as I have changed them already (WIP) without even the need to touch the executable, which is not only easier (bar the initial work), but also prefered by me, for it seems cleaner. It also prevents changing the checksum of the player thus AV which already flagged the player in the past won't get retriggered. (Dunno, just read about the AV issue)

So my question is, what exactly am I allowed to do with the executable, as I have quite some other problems I need to solve, which can not be solved in such a clean way.

First I'd like to use the multi media capabilities to develop command line tools for windows to auto generate 'subImages.txt', without resorting to tier 2, because that template also throws you deep into windowed stuff and I also couldn't use my 3-5k basecode I already have produced, in AppGameKit Basic. So I actually prefer doing it in
Tier 1.