Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / DBPro multithread and DLL usage

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello, I'm new as DBPro user, and I'm still learning it.
I have some questions, can you help me?

1) Can I implement threads in DBPro? (multithreading support)

2) Can I use (open) standard DLL in DBPro?

3) Can I execute an external process (program) then "talk" with it using something like pipe (or similar)?

Thank you for your help!

--Alessandro
PEH
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2009 07:30
1) I think some .dll files can run in separate threads not sure though.

2) you can call .dll files if you know the functions
e.g.

3) I've been using this alot lately thanks to IanM's matrix plugin. you can find it here: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=85209&b=18

let me know if I can help more.
James H
Years of Service
User Offline
ale870
Years of Service
User Offline
Thank you for your help! I will check them!

--Alessandro
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2009 14:38
... and I'll post about this once again ...

DBPro is not designed to be used in a multithreaded environment. Even something as simple as memory allocation (a$=b$, or dim a(10)) could corrupt things, let alone some of the more complex stuff (delete object 1, make camera 1, load image "a.bmp", 1)

If you do create new threads and you get odd crashes, then you know where the problem is, and you're on your own as far as the TGC team and the matrix1 plug-ins are concerned.

I can definitively state that my plug-ins are NOT thread-safe.

James H
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2009 19:25