Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / function?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Mar 2009 20:17
what is the use of functions? when should i use them and why?(yes, a very noobish Q.)

im new at this
That1Smart Guy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2009 00:34
not really a noob question, i didnt know either until last week.

if you know wat subroutines r (gosub) then take that idea and add variables to it. it takes watever is in he brackets, turns it into a variable, uses that variable(s) in the function, outputs a variable, then completely deletes the bracket-variable(s) from existence so as to not interfere with the main program.

another way to look at them is as a few basic commands, such as rgb(red,green,blue) or wrapvalue(angle). these are examples of functions, they input a variable, do some stuff, then output a result.

hope this helped!
Quirkyjim
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2009 00:59
Just remember that if you create or alter a variable INSIDE of a function, it won't be the same OUTSIDE of it. These are know as local variables. (versus global variable, which are the same throughout)

~QJ
That's what they WANT you to think...
That1Smart Guy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2009 01:24
yes, those bracket-variables as i called them only work in the function, after that their identity is forever forgotten, unless u use the function again
Caleb1994
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2009 01:33
to add onto that.

you use a function USUALLY when you have some code that you use over and over throughout your program. because then you type it once at the bottom of your code and can call it from anywhere in the program.