Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Paste 'n' Pause

Author
Message
ClearCoder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th May 2003 00:11
how do use paste a image on the screen and they pause the game with out the image going. the wait command pause with out the image.

dudeman
Kentaree
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Clonmel, Ireland
Posted: 11th May 2003 00:34
Uhm, I'm trying to get the meaning from this post :-s, and I make from this that you're hoping to stop the program without using wait. Am I right? Anyway, you could use sleep or simply put a custom wait/sleep command in there.

startTimer=timer()
while timer()-startTimer()<1000
sync
endwhile

And this should stop the program for 1 second.

Whatever I did I didn't do it!
ClearCoder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th May 2003 14:33
the idea is that you are in a 3d world and when you go in a building a 2d bitmap comes up of the interior and some dialog come up with the person in side the 2d interior now at the moment all i can gert the program to do i is to put on the bitmap and then put on the text and then when i give the player time to read the dialog i can't get the program to stop with the images pasted because all the wait and sleep command take them alway as does this



that what i meant :-s
dudeman

Newbie Now; Expert Later
Current project:The Sorus
BatVink
Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 11th May 2003 15:23
If you are using sprites on top of a 3D environment, I believe you'll have to have a loop that places the objects every time, even if they're not moving.

You can use a 3D plain, texture it and lock it to the screen. Then your loop will work. You'll have to SYNC though, or the keypress will never be picked up.

Thanks in advance.
All the Best,
StevieVee
Andy Igoe
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th May 2003 16:51


Pneumatic Dryll
Angeleyes
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location:
Posted: 11th May 2003 17:13
Yep... Thats one way to do it alright, but you can try this too if you want to use the mouse to get out of the loop.

repeat
REM >>>Paste you image on this line.<<<
text 100,100, "This is the text of your message here... Using Text or Print command."
sync
until mouseclick()=1
repeat:until mouseclick()=0

The above works just fine.

Ta ta for now
Mary

ClearCoder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th May 2003 17:29
thx guy i'm now using that (the mouse code) to rate the amount of dialog that comes up at you but i find that if the hold down the mouse button a bit to long they it goes straight on to the just dialog can any one help

dudeman

Newbie Now; Expert Later
Current project:The Sorus
Angeleyes
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location:
Posted: 11th May 2003 17:58
Mmm well it should not do that.
The line [repeat:until mouseclick()=0] is there so that it will not move on until your not clicking.

You can add a little short wait before that line, something like wait 100 which would pause it before it checks the mouse, but you should not need to.
Your mouse button could be faulty maybe??? Maybe it is "un-clicking" for a brief time and this is making the routine end??

I dont know......Sorry!!

Ta ta for now
Mary

ClearCoder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th May 2003 20:19
cheers any way
dudeman

Newbie Now; Expert Later
Current project:The Sorus

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-17 06:58:47
Your offset time is: 2025-05-17 06:58:47