Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / DAP - The DBPro Additions Pack - Antialiasing, HUD, Dynamic Objects, and a bunch more!

Author
Message
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 18th Apr 2007 15:07 Edited at: 18th Apr 2007 15:16
That scripting looks pretty low level, in other words it'll have loads of overhead. Just warning you, executing loads of low level functions is slower then executing fewer high level functions.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Zotoaster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 18th Apr 2007 23:39
1 high level function = a few low level functions

Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 18th Apr 2007 23:45
Quote: "1 high level function = a few low level functions"

I am referring to the overhead of interpreting. Thus, it makes more sense to use high level functions as there is less to interpret.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Zotoaster
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 18th Apr 2007 23:56 Edited at: 18th Apr 2007 23:58
Well, I guess it's in a sense true, but I find low level code faster to execute than complex source code (not just functions of course - things like control structures). If you have alot of proper code to be executed, I think it would be faster to compile it to that low level code, and interpreting that, rather than interpreting the source code.

Basically, I agree with what DB User is doing here, rather than starting with high level code

Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 03:28
@dark coder
thank you.

@Benjamin
Ah, yes, they are low level, but at the same time high level. Certain "addresses" can be used for one of the newer functions, like "call", which can allow you to call a dbpro function, or whatever. Making it high level, and at the same time, low level.

@Zotoaster
Thank you. Though, there is high level code still, I find this rather quick to execute.


Cheers,

-db


Albert Einstein believed that imagination is more important than knowledge.
Cash Curtis II
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 07:05
Maybe it's just too early to tell how it is going to turn out.

If you have lots of low level commands, scripting them will be slow. That is, having DBP interpret them. If you compile them, then they'll be fast.

For example, if your above example is indeed a true script (all strings) DBP will have to parse and interpret them to achieve whatever arithmetic operation you are trying to do. It will be much slower than simply doing that operation with native DBP code.

Everything in my projects is scripted. All characters, attributes, games actions, conversations, etc. are scripted. In order to make a change, all I have to do is edit the LUA script. It gives me advanced data structures, named array keys, dynamic arrays, mathematical operations, and an interface with DBP.

Using low level commands to do all of that wouldn't be possible. If you are going to compile that stuff to make it run, then it really isn't a script. Maybe you can tell us how you plan to implement it?


Come see the WIP!
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 07:50
@Cash Curtis II
Im glad you havent left this thread. That aside, im not sure your question. The above script is what you would type in. Im not having DB parse anything, im doing everything in C++ and "compiling" the script at the load of the script. Having the basic syntax style complete, I think I will change how it works to make it appear a little higher level. Also, im not sure what you mean by "how I plan to implement it". The answer that im sure you dont want is this, move one c++ file into another c++ file, but converted to work for dbp specifically.

Cheers,

-db


Albert Einstein believed that imagination is more important than knowledge.
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 20th Apr 2007 03:11
Ok, how does everyone feel about being able to modify the entry buffer? (You can retrieve the entry buffer with entry$()). I see a very good reason why I should do this, and why I am... Just want an oppinion.

btw.... if you have a suggested command, I will add it.

Cheers,

-db


There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness.
Roxas
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 20th Apr 2007 15:18
how about windows text? Like selecting text with mouse and type in there what part of text u have selected and etc.. and u can disable some options like right click.. That would be fun like textboxes without the box



Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 03:29
@The Full Metal Coder Roxas
Hmm... that sounds like you want a windows based gui, well, there is already a free open-source plugin for that, made by me, available.

Cheers,

-db


There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness.
Agent Dink
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 05:32
Sprite Ghosting would be a cool thing to have. Alquerian said he might do it, but I know you are probably capable. Think you can do it?

I have no signature...
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 06:11
I can most certainly try it.

Cheers,

-db


There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness.
Agent Dink
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 08:35
Wewt! That would be awesome. It's another one of those things I think DBP needed from the beginning, but oh well.

I have no signature...
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 09:04
Agent Dink, are you sure this
isnt what you are looking for?
I just wnat to make sure.

Cheers,

-db


There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness.
dark coder
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 09:54
No because ghosting gives additive blending too, ghosting and alpha have very different uses.

Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 21st Apr 2007 11:03
ok.

Cheers,

-db


There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness.
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 24th Apr 2007 00:30
Can you make a good .mdl importer to play the smd animations?

[/center]
Alquerian
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posted: 24th Apr 2007 00:55
Hey DB, I had my wife send out that package for you today. You should expect it by weds or thurs.

Visit the Wip!
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 24th Apr 2007 03:10
@Jack
I sure can.

@Alquerian
Sweet.


Cheers,

-db


There is a very fine line between hobby and mental illness.
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 24th Apr 2007 17:29
I think just the .mdl importer would be $5 worth.

[/center]
Syncaidius
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Apr 2007 19:57
Any progress on this awesome plugin, DB user?

Mr X
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2005
Location: Universe, milkyway, sol-system, Earth...
Posted: 1st May 2007 22:18
Very nice work, db user. I would definatly by this, and will keep an eye on this project.

Goodluck.
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 2nd May 2007 04:16
@DBKing
Unfortunately, ive been away for the weekend.. So no.

@Mr X
Thanks.


Cheers,

-db


What? You mean I cant sleep here???
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 7th May 2007 00:49
Ive done a little bit more work, here is the update to the current INI. And there are some commands that cant be done with dbp in there, hopefully that will ease a tiny bit of the criticism, probably not all, lol.


Cheers,

-db


What? You mean I cant sleep here???
Syncaidius
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th May 2007 21:15
Holy Crap!

You got helluva lot of useful commands in there. Great Work so far DB User!



Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 8th May 2007 01:53
Thank you.
I will be adding much more usefull commands as a result of a recent poll I have taken. Which I should respond to now, lol.

Have a nice day.


Cheers,

-db


What? You mean I cant sleep here???
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 11th May 2007 05:03 Edited at: 11th May 2007 05:05
I have an addition to the plugin, its called vectors. Now, vectors are kind of like the normal dbp arrays, but I consider these ones better for my purposes. If you dont like them, dont use them.



Edit
Btw, im creating a small mario game as a demo. It will use many aspects of DAP, and I will add functionality in DAP as required.

Cheers,

-db


96% of the universe appears to be missing.
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 13th May 2007 02:57 Edited at: 13th May 2007 02:58
Wow this is really nice

btw is the mdl/ smd animation player finished?

[/center]
Master Xilo
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 13th May 2007 03:38
how do you make the AA? in your test program, the 2nd window had AA, but when I activated 8x AA on my graphics card, it looked a lot better. wich level of AA is in that 2nd window? 2x? 4x? do you use the hardware for AA or did you program some "fake" AA???
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 13th May 2007 04:06
@Jack
You really want that thing, dont you? The thing is, I have to do research on everything to make sure I get it exactly right, also, im on vacation right now, again, finally. I love vacation because I hardly ever get vacation. ^_^

@Master Xilo
There's AA in the 2nd window? If it is working, then its 2x, because that might have been what I set it to. The AA is a WIP, and if its working in the 2nd window, then I know exactly how to make it work 100%.

Cheers,

-db


96% of the universe appears to be missing.
dark coder
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 13th May 2007 10:14
I don't believe that's AA in the 2nd window, it just looks like you've rendered that camera to the 2nd window but made the window bigger than the first one thus blending some pixels.

Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 13th May 2007 11:07 Edited at: 13th May 2007 11:12
@dark coder
The 2nd window is smaller than the 1st window. Also, keep in mind, I had never intended for AA to be on in that demo, but I might have had it on.

Cheers,

-db

Edit
I stand corrected. I could have sworn the 2nd window was smaller.


96% of the universe appears to be missing.
Cash Curtis II
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 13th May 2007 17:54
Using a window whose resolution is different than the default resolution simulates the effect of AA. With the proper DLL you could query the desktop resolution, then create a borderless window in a lower resolution than the desktop and you'd get an AA-like effect.


Come see the WIP!
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 17th May 2007 10:42
Reference: 2000a
Ignore this post. I am uploading another demo.

Cheers,

-db

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 17th May 2007 10:44
Reference: 2000b
Ignore this post. I am uploading the screenshot to the "2000" demo.

Cheers,

-db

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 18th May 2007 11:31
DESIGN THE DAP SCRIPTING LANGUAGE!
Click here for more information.

Because some things aren't mentioned in that post:



Cheers,

-db

TATO 4 EVER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posted: 27th Jun 2007 04:52
Any update about this pluging?




Forgotten Memories W.I.P
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 27th Jun 2007 04:56
Unfortunately not. I've been busy.

Cheers,

-naota

TATO 4 EVER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posted: 27th Jun 2007 20:09
On my game, am using full shaded enviroments, and i need an advanced culling system to improve perfs, cause DBP culling system, su*k a bit .
Do you have any idea when DAP will be finished?
@+



Forgotten Memories W.I.P
Alquerian
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posted: 27th Jun 2007 21:37
I havent tested it out yet, but does your distance alpha culling work with instanced objects? I made something identical to this for Driftwood and it would work with cloned objects but not instanced.

Visit the Wip!
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 28th Jun 2007 02:07
@Tato 4 Ever
Thanks. I have no idea when it will be finished, currently the code is getting rather big and I'm thinking about slightly rewritting it to cope with the massive amount of files in the source. But I probably won't, I might just keep on adding to it. In all honesty, I feel more like I need to add in dozens of things. I want to add in everything that other plugins have (Physics, AI, Collision, etc) so that you will only have to get one plugin. So we will see how things go, and how many people agree it is finished or not.

@Alquerian
I'm not sure. The distance alpha culling actually uses DBP commands currently, but for improved speeds I'm gonna use the internal data of DBP to control this. Well, aside from that I doubt it will work. If I recall correctly you can't alter the alpha of instanced objects. As instanced objects are really for the GPU and only copy the properties of DBPs objects. I will check it all out anyways.


Cheers,

-naota

Alquerian
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posted: 28th Jun 2007 02:35
That is exactly what I thought It should work fine with cloned objects though. I have to run, take care!

Visit the Wip!
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 28th Jun 2007 03:12
Alright. You too.

Cheers,

-naota

TATO 4 EVER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posted: 30th Jun 2007 09:42
Keep working,
i would be the fisrt to buy this beatifull plugin!
@+



Forgotten Memories W.I.P
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 30th Jun 2007 10:42
@TATO 4 EVER
Thanks. I will be sure to keep working on it.


Cheers,

-naota

TATO 4 EVER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 04:40
By the way, are you implementing some kind of occlussion culling in your culling system? If yes, thats will be very powerfull!
Regards...
@+



Forgotten Memories W.I.P
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 07:46
@TATO
I might. I'm gonna work on a particle system first.



Cheers,

-naota

TATO 4 EVER
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 08:16
@DB user 2006+,
Quote: "I might. I'm gonna work on a particle system first. "

So, dont forget to make a nice clouds/nebula effect ...
@+



Forgotten Memories W.I.P
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 2nd Jul 2007 08:53
@TATO 4 EVER
lol.... If it be the will of thy forum member, haveth thy functionality ye shall!


Cheers,

-naota

NinJA999
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: NH
Posted: 20th Jul 2007 05:17
Neato, can't wait for the 2D (tile) functions to be finished--I'd rather use this than shell out 30 bucks for the "2D PLUGIN"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 12:06:20
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 12:06:20