Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Why aren't my Tiles in the TileSet Visible!!!

Author
Message
MickeyIII
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Aug 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posted: 3rd Jun 2007 21:17 Edited at: 16th Jun 2007 21:04
Edit: Here's the updated code and you can download it as well...


I'm trying that Planet Cute/CutGod game challenge, and my map editor isn't showing the Tiles I load in the TileSet...
The images load when I load the file, and I know cuz I already tested it in the main loop... but it just won't show!!!

The Program will ask you after clicking new game to type in a few input entries for the tiles, size, ect...

Type in this...

X #of tiles---> put: 32
Y #of tiles---> put: 32
XSize1---> put: 101
YSize1---> put:50 <---(Trust me, you do want it to overlap in the map section,just not the tileset section)

NOW FOR THE TILESET DATA ENTRIES:

XSize2---> put: 101
YSize2---> put: 171

finally the layers.

Layers---> put: 4

when it asks you, put the number next to the file...PlanetCute PNG
then put "0" without the quotes to load all the files...

I'm sorry for the messy code and When the files are loading, be patient, the only reason it's slow is for debuging purposes that I forgot to take out the source code. If you think you can see the problem without downloading the project,more power to you, but either way, I need help...

thanks

Mickey III

Attachments

Login to view attachments
MickeyIII
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Aug 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posted: 12th Jun 2007 20:35
Great! JUST GREAT!!! My tiles will show and everything, but now I either can't save the Map,layers and all, correctly or I can't Load the map correctly or both... the only two things that load correctly are the TileSet Images and the First Layer of my Map...


Could somebody help. You can use the attatchment file with all the TileSet Images I made to help test Create/Save/Load a map. I know they're not all that great, but it's the best 2d I've done in Gimp2.

Please help...

MickeyIII

Attachments

Login to view attachments
MickeyIII
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Aug 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posted: 15th Jun 2007 19:38
Never mind I figured it out. The .map format exists as something else and I did some searching and found out that file such as .txt are use for line by line reading. Some other files use RAM, and that's not what I'm looking for...

So I fixed, and it's the least buggy it's ever been.

Mickey III
aluseus GOD
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: I\'m here. Now I\'m there. I keep moving
Posted: 15th Jun 2007 23:11
Next time you aks a question try everything before asking the forums. Its just so we donn't hvae too many of these I have a problem, I think I have it, never mind forums.

Your signature has been deleted by a moderator because this joke is getting old.
MickeyIII
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Aug 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posted: 16th Jun 2007 20:51
I'm sorry. I didn't mean to do that. I it's just I was searching and searching the forums for something that could help. Then I searched the codebase, checked my code many times, and finally, since know one replied yet, I noticed that the .map format is sort of like a World thingy, like BSP, so I just so happened to have found my DarkBasic Pro Game Programming, Second Edition book, no not the one from The Game Creators that came out recently(Although that would be nice when I get my paycheck tuesday.),it's the one with the Darkanoid example if that rings anybody's bell...

Anyway, I looked in the file section and it said,"A sequential TEXT file is written in order...", and as I read further down, I found out about Random Access Files. That's when I realized that a .txt file is most likely the safest way to go for what I was doing. When I work out all the bugs and sort out the messy code, I'll look at a way to either compress the text files so they can't be read on any old computer, or I'll use my own file extension that does not exist yet...If that's possible.

I'm sorry again for the TRIPLE POST, but sometimes it helps when you have other people going over your code to help. It's just like in Peer Editing an English essay. It's easier for other people than your self to find mistakes than it is for you. Oh, and by the way, I'm open for suggestions on my program, and criticism. I'll edit the first post with the code and download. And one question...
How do you post a screen shot to where there's this red button that sais "View" to see an Image. Why I ask for that method is because I noticed on other threads people post it on the page it's self. Sometimes it shows, some times it doesn't. And I'm to use jpeg, right?

Thanks

Mickey III

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-15 03:55:40
Your offset time is: 2025-05-15 03:55:40