Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / text over a 3d model with a background?

Author
Message
RCON
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2003 10:08
Here's what I got:
model viewer that has a static image as the background. a 3d model rotates in the center of the screen, and 2d text (high scores) are written to the center of the screen. What I see is the 2d text is over the background, but it is behind the 3d model. I have it set to draw to back, because if I draw to front the background image covers the 3d model.

So is there a way to make the 2d text appear in front of the 3d model?
I set up the text to print right before the sync, but it doesn't appear to help.
LoKiDeCaT
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 6th Jun 2003 11:18
Are you using "text" or "print" ?

Loki D'Cat - Modeller, Composer, Animator
Nerdsoft Creations
Machine Specs: Athlon XP1800+, ATi Radeon 8500 64mb, 1GB RAM, Windows 2000 AdvSvr
Van B
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 6th Jun 2003 12:39
You could use sprites for the score, besides looking better you have more control over them, and you only need to update them when the score changes.

For example, in Jetpac2003 the score is drawn using a function, this just changes the image number of each sprite to represent the digits. In psuedo code, and imagining you have 10 digits as images numbered 100 to 109:

Function update_score(score)
score$=right$("0000000000"+str$(score),10)
for n=0 to 9
sprite 100+n,n*16,0,val(mid$(score$,n+1))+100
next n
endfunction

Now if you have the images - that function should work fine, just call it when something dies.


Van-B

My cats breath smells of cat food.
RCON
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2003 21:40
to answer the first reply, I'm using "print".
sprites may work, but for the high score screen, I would have to do all letters and numbers. so it may get complicated, but that will probably work
RCON
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2003 22:29
I tried using "text" and it had the same result
squids
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Jun 2003 01:27
I am having a similar problem with "print" and "text". I cant get the text to appear in front of an image/sprite. Sorry to steal your post but how do I use the draw to back and what have you, so I can get text to be drawn above a sprite/image ?

Soz,

Ash.

.Arf..
RCON
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2003 05:05
Positing in front of a image is easy, just use the "draw to back" command.
squids
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Jun 2003 15:12
how do you use the draw to back command? I tried putting it before a sprite I was using, like...

draw to back : sprite 1,0,0,1
draw to front: text 0,0,"Arse"

How do you use the commands correctly ?

.Arf..
Van B
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 7th Jun 2003 17:18
I don't think you can put text in front of a sprite, because it's a 3D object in DBPro, you could make your sprite opaque so the text shows underneath.


Van-B

My cats breath smells of cat food.
squids
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Jun 2003 17:26
Ah, okay.

Thanks.

.Arf..

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-09 06:54:35
Your offset time is: 2024-05-09 06:54:35