Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / modeling problems

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi- I just started doing modeling I'm actually happy with though I am a total beginner. I bought TrueSpace 5.2 a year ago and have not accomplished much, but I found HexaGreat 3d and it is really very user-friendly for a 2d artist like myself.

Anyways, my problem: I am modeling characters (heads, bodies) and when I get to certain parts of the bodies that extend outward (shafts of hair or arms/fingers)the model does not appear solid when I load it in TS. It's like a hollow shell when you rotate it- you can see the arms/fingers at one angle, but then you see inside of them when you rotate it. (kinda like a transparent hollow easter bunny)

I'm sure this has something to do with leaving faces inside the arms/fingers at the joints and that these faces are not supposed to be there, but how do you make limbs and stuff without this occurring?

thanks

Alan
arras
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2003 13:51
I dont know but this can be wery common mistake: normals of some faces can be turned inside. Normaly face is one sided means that from one side you see it and from oposite side not, depend on normal orientation.
In most modeling progs. you have to keep order of placin wertexes when making face counter clokvise.

Normaly it should be possible to fix it with selecting "infested" face and applying command like turn or flip normal...
New Creature
Years of Service
User Offline
Yeah, in TS you can flip the normals which does turn it inside out but certain limbs or appendages are still transparent when you rotate them.