Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Program Structure

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jul 2008 08:34
As some of you know, I'm hoping to make a 2D tile-based RPG. I know that's a lot of work, but it's my favorite style of game, and I think it won't be too difficult if I take it step by step.

I think I can handle coding most of it. But, there's one thing I'm finding that I'm not good at: the structure of the program. I'm not at all sure how to structure the program so it is workable and expandable. Does anyone have links to an article or similar that would shed some light on this?
Bishop
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jul 2008 14:12
I would add these general habits to your design. While not really a concrete program structuring method, keep the following in mind. It can help tremendously.

Any project of an RPG's magnitude needs to be module-based. This means that the game has a Core engine running, and you can add and take away various modules while still being able to run the program without errors. For example:

You have the 'Core Engine', the 'Player Module' and the 'Monster Module'. If you run the game without either module engaged, you'd have nothing but a black screen. Activating the 'player Module' will allow you to move around with a character. Activating the 'Monster Module' and the 'Player Module' together allows you to move around your character as well as kill monsters.

That is a very, very basic example. In essence, here are some good programming strategies for a large project;