Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / DarkNOOBS Project 2: Tower Defense

Author
Message
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2008 08:34
Quote: "would be good to have medieval invaders rather than just blobs"

Would be nice but I'd like to finnish this soon as possible hehe
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 28th Dec 2008 17:43 Edited at: 28th Dec 2008 17:54
sorry for not being on I got an Xbox 360 for chirstmas and i had to play.

Edit: Here is the code to waypoint editor.Dbp only i think


I was here.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 28th Dec 2008 18:08 Edited at: 28th Dec 2008 18:53
WOW

You can shorten that up alot if you use more arrays and FOR..Next loops.


Few Errors:

DBC cannot hold more than 255 letters in one line so you cannot have super long lines, you have to chop em down:


I'm no expert on variable declarations but seems this dont work.

variables with no symbols are integers by default anyways.

When checking if something exist you cannot have spaces befor the parenthesis:

It must be like the second one.

Cant set sprite alpha in DBC

When using IF THEN ELSE all in one line you must have a space after the collen befor the ELSE.

The First line will not work but the 2nd and 3rd will work.


Improvements :

This part can be shorten up.

to ...

This way you also won't be restricted to a max of 20.

You can also throw the destination into it.

But looking closely at this It doesn't seem like you need both of them, couldn't you work this with just using one of the method?

Lastly if you would indent your codes it'll help with the eyes.


Stefan if you haven't, it'll be beneficial to read up TDK's tutoral, it's the second sticky thread in this forum I'm still not done reading it myself.
Zombie 20
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2006
Location: Etters, PA
Posted: 29th Dec 2008 02:19
Hey um.. our internet has been plopped for a while now but um..could I join the next project? I don't really have access to DB right now so I don't know what I could do to help but I'd like to be a part of it anyway I can, it looks like a great oppurtunity to learn.


Coffee coffee coffee coffee coffee coffee cappacino, JAVA!
BN2 Productions
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2008 10:36
Hey guys, sorry I have been away for a while. Thanks for stepping in ashingda.

Quote: "Dbp only i think"

That presents a certain problem, since most/all of us use DBC, dbp only code can't be compiled with the rest of the project.

@zombie

I don't see why not. Prepare a program that displays your programming skills. If you can't think of anything, there is always the analog clock (note that it is not a DIGITAL clock, but a clock with hands denoting the hours minutes and seconds).

Ever notice how in Microsoft word, the word "microsoft" is auto corrected to be "Microsoft" but "macintosh" just gets the dumb red underline?
Irojo
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2008
Location: Eating toast.
Posted: 29th Dec 2008 17:23
Hey guys, sorry to do this, but I'm going to have to just drop out of the project. I will have time for coding in the summer perhaps, but I also want to learn a language that is used by alot of people.(C++,Java etc.) I was also considering 3D Modeling.
I will try and pop in and help if I can. I will still be entering in the challenges when I can.

Best of luck,

Irojo


Time is money. I just ripped you off.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2008 19:30 Edited at: 29th Dec 2008 19:31
Best of luck to you too Irojo. I started learning a bit of 3d modeling myself, that extra z coordinate could really throw a new person off.

@BN2
It's almost the end of this month...

grr, this project WILL be done by then!

I'll come up with the GUI.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Dec 2008 01:00
Time's almost up so I'm going to rush this.

This is another editor for making WayPoints. All media are included Exe and Source.

Controls:
Use the mouse to set the WayPoints and Spacebar to Erase. Click on Start to Test.

Button: "1" will Save
Botton: "2" will Load - there's already a previous saved WayPoint.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
BN2 Productions
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 30th Dec 2008 02:41
Honestly, it seems like everyone is dropping out of this one we may have to postpone it till later, maybe summer. I really haven't had time to do my job in this one either. Currently we are at a team size of You and Stefan.

What do you guys think. I know quite a bit of work has already gone into this one already, so it is your choice. Should we drop it till more members are free?

Ever notice how in Microsoft word, the word "microsoft" is auto corrected to be "Microsoft" but "macintosh" just gets the dumb red underline?
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Dec 2008 02:46
It's almost done, We should finnish it!
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 31st Dec 2008 03:25 Edited at: 31st Dec 2008 08:24
Has the team really died?

Well if so I don't care, I'll finnish what we started befor January 1, anyone willing to pitch in is welcome. You can look through the code/media or test it yourself, I'm not even going to explain what's still needed it should be easy enough to figure.

If you have any ideas "code wise", media, or entry that could fit right in, feel free to post it you'll be mentioned in the credits.

It's Almost Done.

The zip contains just about everything.

[edit]


Updated the zip. Added Jamesb's Spawning AI, this version is now playable but no towers yet.


[edit]

Updates again, The Tower AI are added in and the game is more playable now. Still need the Money and Buy/Sell/Upgrade GUI to be done.
Quirkyjim
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2008
Location: At my computer
Posted: 31st Dec 2008 16:16
What about my epic shop?

~QJ
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 31st Dec 2008 16:53 Edited at: 31st Dec 2008 22:47
Quote: "What about my epic shop?"

LOL I forgot you wrote that, thanks.


[edit]

Updates:
Added Quirkyjim's Shop with some adjustments and shop works now.


Still needs Money,Level,Upgrades
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 31st Dec 2008 23:44 Edited at: 31st Dec 2008 23:47
Can you post exe please.


Edit: Tell me what I need to do because I am fogeting everything

I was here.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Jan 2009 01:30 Edited at: 1st Jan 2009 02:57
Here the zip with the Exe included.


[edit]


This is Bad, this project will not get done in time it's frustrating.


Updates:
Buy/Sell and Money works now.
Some upgrades are done but not working correctly yet.

Still needs:
- Two more Towers to work correctly.
- Upgrades to work Correctly.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 1st Jan 2009 18:00
Money doesn't work. Take this code and use it


Might have to tweek it a bit or a lot but this is the main idea

I was here.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jan 2009 00:06
@Stefan
Thanks the money gain is working now.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 2nd Jan 2009 02:19
Good and if you lose all your lives i get an error.

I was here.
BN2 Productions
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jan 2009 07:45
Sorry about dropping out and such, just haven't had the time really. Christmas is a horrible time for working retail.

Ever notice how in Microsoft word, the word "microsoft" is auto corrected to be "Microsoft" but "macintosh" just gets the dumb red underline?
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jan 2009 22:06
@BN2
It's alright, things happens.



Ok yall the game is almost done, only need a few more gui buttons, the catapult and play testing.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 3rd Jan 2009 22:55
Edit my name in credits to Stefan please the "p" is my last name inital. Also for credits make it pop up until you hit a little exit sign like this. See bottom

I was here.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 3rd Jan 2009 22:56
Second thing, i have to double post cause attachment. We should have a sticky goo kind of thing i drew a blob for it here

I was here.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 00:53
Cool I like both ideas, It should be updated soon.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 01:26
Here is some code for blob.


I was here.
iron programmer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2008
Location: payying taxz to mi keety? (paying taxes)
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 01:43
D'you guys need music?

Here's my thread:
Music

And if you guys wanna join my band(for video-game music):
Band

mi keety tot mi gramer?

(My kitty taught me grammer.)
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 01:53
Can you convert your wav to mp3?
iron programmer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2008
Location: payying taxz to mi keety? (paying taxes)
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 03:35
Here she is...

All mp3ed up...

Tell me comments at my thread:
My Thread

mi keety tot mi gramer?

(My kitty taught me grammer.)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dark Dragon
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 05:08
looks good. this is nice guys.(or should i say.......whats left of the team?)

Your signature has been erased by a mod - Please reduce it to 600x120 maximum size
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 08:37
@Dark Dragon
Why thanks, It's just really Stefan and I right now.


@Stefan
I'm sick with a fever right now, it's hard to code properly. I got the red "X" for closing the credit window but haven't finnish the glue yet.
jason p sage
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 17:10
I'm on the outside looking in and I have watched this whole thing unfold and I hope you guys can finish this project - if for nothing else to to show a working example of a team getting through something together...

Besides - my Wife loves tower games - and she is the perfect "tester" .. though she is also quite frank about her findings... (Like I can be sometimes) she definately gives ya the casual gamer's first impressions

Good Job!

--Jason

Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 4th Jan 2009 22:16 Edited at: 4th Jan 2009 23:33
Hope you get better Ashingda 27

edit: For music i like something like this http://www.andkon.com/arcade/adventureaction/rocketman/


edit: Ok while working one glue make something close to it but instead of slowing down make it do damage until it runs out say it has 10 uses then it can kill the last monster then runs out and have to buy again. I work on How it should like.

Next Idea, We should have comments every round.

this is the screen

----------------------------------------
|``````````````````````````|````````````|
|``````````````````````````|````````````|
|``````````Map`````````````|Towersstuff`|
|``````````````````````````|````````````|
|``````````````````````````|````````````|
|--------------------------|````````````|
| If a black face escape```|````````````|
| that make you lose 6 lives|```````````|
----------------------------------------

Next idea is that we could ask someone for a plop sound everytime a face changes. Also we should have a kill count for the towers.




Biggest suggestion: Make the levels smaller and harder. I wrote this during th 46 level.

I was here.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th Jan 2009 04:08 Edited at: 5th Jan 2009 04:11
Ok updates:

Added Dialog box as requested above.
Catapult working now. [Testing required]
Made the InfoBox/UpgradeBox smaller so there's more space for other Tower/Options.
The blob is in the Media now but not in the code yet.

Thoughts:
We can have glue that slows them down and spikes that hit's them on contact. Glue could be a stock of about 50 per purchase and spikes could be about 10.


This project is taking a longer time than we'd intended it to, but at least there's some some progress.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 14:14 Edited at: 6th Jan 2009 14:16
Can i write A script for diolauge

edit: Better longer then never.

I was here.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 16:15 Edited at: 6th Jan 2009 16:16
Go ahead, if you have any suggestions/codes just throw em on.
Irojo
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2008
Location: Eating toast.
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 21:07 Edited at: 6th Jan 2009 21:07
Nicely done guys!
I'm obviously no longer part of the project, but here's what I think about the game.

You have all the difficult stuff completed. It's a simple TD Game at the moment. The catapult is worse than the regular tower. I think it needs upgrading. All the towers are in the same price range, and the game can be beat (essentially) with the simplest towers. When I got to the 33rd level, My targetting towers (regular and catapult) couldn't attack some of the lower level creaps. The ones that shoot 8 missiles(Or something like that) could pop them. I noticed a 50 tower max cap, and the program ran at the same pace with 50, as with 1. Well coded.

Suggestions:

A powerful new tower that costs a whopping sum.

Interest, like +10% per a turn. If you have 50 money, you get a +5 money.
Towers should cost more, especially if interest is used.

Change the currency. Money just sounds kind of weird. I think gold, silver, bills, or something else would be nicer.

I agree with a new, shorter map.

Splash towers would be nice. They slow down the creeps. You coded it well from what I can tell, and it wouldn't be too hard to make the creeps slow down.

A limiting level. 30 or 40 seems the best time to stop. The game slows down there.

More Creaps. The difficulty increases too slowly, as a result, it is easy to earn more cash.
--
Remember, those are just suggestions

I am REALLY impressed guys.


Time is money. I just ripped you off.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 22:22
Wait quick questions Why do you always have the ,1 after every get image When get image takes 4 paramaters

I was here.
Quirkyjim
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2008
Location: At my computer
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 22:27
A couple things:

First WOW! That is looking great Ashingda!

Second, I hope you get better soon.

Third: I think you need to start off with more money at the beginning, It's difficult to take them all out with consistency at the beginning when you can only afford one tower with an upgrade.

Fourth; You'll need to redo the box at the bottom: t's overlapping the map.

~QJ
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 22:33
Thanks Irojo I like those suggestions too.

Quote: "Why do you always have the ,1 after every get image "

That is an optional parameter for the texture mode.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 6th Jan 2009 23:14
only in dbc

I was here.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Jan 2009 20:27
Updates:

1) Made the towers bigger, 2x it's size actually. This is an attempt to make it harder, instead of making the map smaller I made the towers bigger.

2) Improved the Catapult, instead of aiming at the Foe farthest down the path, it'll aim at the Foe nearest to the start that is within range.

3) Improved the collision detection when placing towers onto the map.
Irojo
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2008
Location: Eating toast.
Posted: 9th Jan 2009 21:31
Update 1 is a brilliant solution.


Time is money. I just ripped you off.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 9th Jan 2009 21:40
Good idea, And easy to do in code. Ok when a tower is upgrade fully one way it could change it's image. Post zip, and do you have random faces come every level or di you chose them because them sometimes we can tell them what is going to be coming.

I was here.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 9th Jan 2009 23:37 Edited at: 10th Jan 2009 01:35
Dioluge "A black face makes you lose 6 lives."
"There are (whoever many levels in the game) in this game."
"Make sure to tell your friends about (Game title)."

for last levels
"Wow, I never got this far without cheating."
after
"I'm kidding there are no cheats."
If we want to do.
"There is a secert tower if you beat the game."

"Each tower can be upgraded two times."
"Catapults and fortresses can hit more then one foe but are not homing. Towers are homing and cannot miss."

edit sorry for double post and I can up with closing button code by accident
Try and find it in there

I was here.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Irojo
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2008
Location: Eating toast.
Posted: 10th Jan 2009 01:30
Quote: ""I'm kidding there are no cheats.""


That's exactly what they say in bloons tower defense.

You might want to use something different.


Time is money. I just ripped you off.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 10th Jan 2009 01:36
I know I found it amusing.

I was here.
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 10th Jan 2009 14:42
Ive just tested the game and ive got to say im impressed.
Its a very good remake of tower defence.
I dont think i got the version with the latest update but the one before that, so im sorry if i make comments which have been fixed.

From what ive seen, there seems to be a small problem where one or two faces seem to be ghosts, where they just coast around the track but don't get shot at. This happens on most of the maps.

Also, the grey box at the bottom of the screen covers the bottom of two maps which isnt major but it just means you can see the faces.

I got onto level 52 with only 16 watch towers and 40k money but didnt see either the 9th or 10th faces. What level do they come in? and maybe it is slightly too easy once you have a good set up.

You have a good weapon set up but maybe the game needs one more super weapon thats resource intensive (10k per use) but kills all faces?

And lastly, i think the game possibly could do with a speed up button that puts the level into 2x speed mode because sometimes it can take a while for a face to get the whole way round a map if you missed it. Oh and possibly a help page that gives a little info about each of the weapons/towers...

Sorry if thats a bit picky but i think that wll take it from a good game to a very good game.
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 10th Jan 2009 15:16 Edited at: 10th Jan 2009 15:44
@ Ashingda How do you make the text appear over a sprite


edit here are images for tower upgrades

I was here.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2009 17:51 Edited at: 10th Jan 2009 19:07
Things to know:

1) All towers do not home anymore. Both the WatchTower and Catapult takes a peek at the WayPoint and predict it's trajectory. The difference between the two are that they WatchTower aim at the foe with the most Traveled that are within range and Catapult aims at the least Traveled that are within range.



Things yet to do:

1) I like the x2 speed thing. Will put that in.

2) Tower gets different image

3) A Super Tower that cost alot.



@Monk
Thanks for your input, and yes a few things got fixed already like the dialog box covering part of the map.

@Stefan
Hehe like the dialog, we may have to word it slightly different.
I'm actually not really sure how to place text over sprite. I try not to use Sprite because I find it slower than Paste Image.

Here's the Updated version
[edit]
Updated with a better Shooting Collision. Swaped the old CheckArea functin into a Radius(Distance) check.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Stefan p
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 10th Jan 2009 18:00 Edited at: 11th Jan 2009 14:48
But then you can have easy buttons with built in collision dectection.


For the x2 make it a button and have a normal speed button.

I was here.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2009 22:57 Edited at: 13th Jan 2009 23:37
Updates:

1) New Images for fully upgraded towers.
2) 9 new dialogs.
3) Dialog box only shows up when there are text now.
4) Speed button 1x, 2x, 4x.
5) Added 10 more faces for a total of 20 faces.
6) Intro was updated with new faces.
7) Adjusted the difficulty settings.
8) Glue works now.

There maybe some other things that I didn't list. Lets playtest this and wrap it up, I dont want to add more because there are too few people working on this and I just want it to be done as soon as possible.

[edit]

Ok I was able to fix some bugs and if you find any bugs report it

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-01 12:45:48
Your offset time is: 2024-05-01 12:45:48