Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Music & Sound FX / New to composing and in need of advice…

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Feb 2009 20:59
I’d like to start writing my own music for my DB projects, and I’ve got Anvil Studio for writing Midi files and SynthFont for converting them to wav or mp3 files. However, I haven’t got a midi keyboard that I can plug in to my computer, and as I’m kind of new to most of this I really don’t know where to begin.

Are there any midi keyboards that you would recommend (preferably with a USB connector, as I’m not sure if I have a proper Midi In port on my computer)?

"I wish I was a spaceman, the fastest guy alive. I'd fly you round the universe, in Fireball XL5..."
Lucifer
Years of Service
User Offline
I have an m-audio keyrig49 midi keyboard, and an Remote zero sl midi controller, If you're looking for something like that i higly recommend both.

But what you should do is go to the nearest instrument/music store and ask if they've got any Usb midi controllers and check out what they have, i'm sure you're going to find something that you like

in Austrlia, there is a really red sun, u got a red sun in sky too?
Robert The Robot
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Feb 2009 16:27
Hi Lucifer, thanks for your recommendation. I had actually considered that one after various google searches, but I was a little disturbed when I found this in an online version of the helpfile:

Quote: "Warning: This product contains chemicals, including lead, known to the State of California to cause cancer, and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash hands after handling."