Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Window commands (set window on; set window layout....ect.)

Author
Message
Brazos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 01:15
How, if possible, can i have more than one window in my program?
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 02:55
You could write separate programs to run in two windows and have them read and write to a communal data file.
Just made that up as I went along but not a bad idea

There is an eight letter word. You can insert a letter into it or remove a letter from it without changing its meaning. Answer
Caleb1994
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: The Internet you idiot!
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 03:12
Using dbc commands not possible.

There are things you can do to get more windows though. You could create a custom dll to call the windows functions.

if you know anything about WinAPI then the command for windows to make a new window is in a dll Called User32.dll you can load this dll and call any functions from it, BUT dbc has a parameter limit on dll calls(it's 9 i think)so if you try and call CreateWindowEx() function or even CreateWindow() function from the dll using call dll it won't work because it takes too many parameters(10 or 11 i think)

Check out this post>>
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&b=8&t=97660&p=5

that is a plugin for dbp but it can be used with dbc by using the call dll commands.

the other way is to simulate it in dbc, there are a few sets of dbc functions to do this

theres magic windows by freddix:
http://cordierfr.free.fr/html/index_english.html

although it's for a older version of dbc so the text will look weird unless you go through the functions and Change every command that says "Text" and put a ",1" at the end.

Then this one is mine and isn't done yet although it's coming along pretty good:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=148423&b=10

Look at the image toward the bottom. the ones from the top are really old.

Other then those choices(Recreate the windows in dbc, or use a custom dll) there really isn't a way.

Hope that helps

New Site! Check it out \/
Robert The Robot
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2007
Location: Fireball XL5
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 12:34 Edited at: 6th Jun 2009 12:35
There's also this, if you're willing to wait a bit for me to finish it and work all the bugs out the system...
(Couldn't resist, sorry)

"I wish I was a spaceman, the fastest guy alive. I'd fly you round the universe, in Fireball XL5..."
Brazos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 21:14
FYI Guys....I've been a member a long time but I'm still using DBC and I'm still a rookie. I appreciate the suggestions which were I'm afraid above my skill level.
Caleb1994
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: The Internet you idiot!
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 03:32
WHOOPS!!!!

Sorry Robert!!!!!!!! i was sooooo gunna put you in my suggestions but didn't, Long day, Was Very tired! lol

Quote: "FYI Guys....I've been a member a long time but I'm still using DBC and I'm still a rookie. I appreciate the suggestions which were I'm afraid above my skill level."


Well Yes maybe the dll stuff is but really if you want your own GUI then it's all about pasting images and stuff. if you want a real windows look then i would suggest first checking out out to use buttons, Here is a example of just a little button.



Really Simple But i Just whipped it up in like 2 minutes lol

Really GUI isn't hard it's just working out speed issues that's the hardest.

New Site! Check it out \/
Robert The Robot
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2007
Location: Fireball XL5
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 12:26
Quote: "WHOOPS!!!! Sorry Robert!!!!!!!!"

Don't worry, I don't mind. It's still a WIP anyway!

@Brazos
Actually, if you're interested ina kind of "Step-by-Step" guide to making GUI components, you might be interested in these guides I wrote last year: http://mythrada.distantstar.org.uk/programming.htm

"I wish I was a spaceman, the fastest guy alive. I'd fly you round the universe, in Fireball XL5..."
Caleb1994
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: The Internet you idiot!
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 23:31
Nice Guides! i actually have those in my "DBC Useful stuff" Folder on my computer hahaha


And check out TDK's GUI tutorial, he has GREAT tutorials, i don't think it's for like windows type stuff though

New Site! Check it out \/
Robert The Robot
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2007
Location: Fireball XL5
Posted: 8th Jun 2009 11:54 Edited at: 8th Jun 2009 11:54
Some more useful links:
TDK's medialess GUI collection:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=122181&b=6

TDK's menu tutorial (shame the images don't come up, but I think his website's vanished):
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=106004&b=10&p=0
@Brazos
Can't find anything about multiple windows as such, you may have to do some custom coding yourself.

"I wish I was a spaceman, the fastest guy alive. I'd fly you round the universe, in Fireball XL5..."
Caleb1994
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: The Internet you idiot!
Posted: 8th Jun 2009 18:30
Quote: "@Brazos
Can't find anything about multiple windows as such, you may have to do some custom coding yourself."


If you mean real windows stuff, Check out the Windows GUI Dll for dbp it works with dbc if you use call dll and stuff.

New Site! Check it out \/

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-17 06:03:09
Your offset time is: 2025-05-17 06:03:09