Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / [STICKY] Newton Game Dynamics WRAPPER v1.53

Author
Message
Derekioh
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 2nd Mar 2011 00:07
Hey tiresius, I wasnt sure where else to ask but I have a few questions about a marble game (very similar to yours, just not as good ) ) abd I was wondering:

NOTE: I am using Newton Physics (love it!)

- should I use velocity to move the object (if so, how)
- how do you jump properly (im doing it all wrong)
- any tips you suggest for movement and/or flow and speed of game?

Sorry for the blunt questions, but I have until saturday to put this game together and I can get the game to work properly!!!

tiresius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 01:26
Hello!
Need it by Saturday... is it a homework assignment? LOL.

Typically I stay away from setting velocities unless I need to clamp the speed of something. It goes against the style of Newton to do so.

* I use omega forces to roll the marble.
* I would use the impulse commands on a Y vector to make the marble jump.
* For flow and speed of the game I'm not sure what you're asking. I do speed up time on the Newton side to make it faster, and my gravity is 10x normal because my 3d world is scaled too high.

Hope this helps!


A 3D marble platformer using Newton physics.
Derekioh
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 04:07
Hey!

And no, this isnt for homework, its for a competition in the national club TSA where I am making a marble game. They changed the date on me so instead of having 2 months, its on Saturday now...

-Anyway, Okay, Im not sure how to use these commands but I will try...
-And What I meant by "flow and speed of the game" was is there any suggestions on how to keep the framerate high and stuff for this program (since youre so successful with your Marble Maze Construction Kit).
-Also, Time Slicing isn't working very will for me (by that i mean it doesn't update no matter what). I don't know if I have much time to figure that out now though...

Thank you for the advice and anymore that you can give me though!

tiresius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 06:15
My framerate is high because I use low-poly sucky models. I also instance or clone objects. I don't know if clone helps but instancing definitely helps if you have static objects that do not change.

Also, DBPro works better with a few large objects, so if you have a level don't make it a ton of little objects, make it a multi-limbed larger object and it will run faster. I don't know what method you are using for the game so I cannot offer any more suggestions, send me a link to a demo or the source code if you want and I can take a look.

The Time Slicing demo in the wrapper is there so you can start with that and build your game into it. But you are working on a tight deadline!


A 3D marble platformer using Newton physics.
Derekioh
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 17:21
Im not very proficcent when it comes to loading levels and object, so I'll show you my code. I also only load one object as the whole level, which might be why its so slow.



This is a function I call everytime I complete a level until the variable level = maxlevel. I feel there is a better way to do this though..

Derekioh
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2011 03:03
Hey, forget the level loading right now. I have some questions on omega and impulse:

-how do you make it so the omega angles follow the direction of the camera? I know the marble game demo shows this (with sin and cos) but it doesn't work properly for omega.
-how do you use the impulse correctly because when i tell it to set the vector to 0,50,0 it jumps me up and sideways.

gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 14th Mar 2011 14:16 Edited at: 8th Apr 2011 06:13
I need some help with

a cloth example was made using Newton

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=81585&b=18

created by : CuCuMBeR

his example is half way down the page

when I try and run it
it dose compile but comes up with and error

I'm attaching all info that I have
so other can get it and perhaps help get it working

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 5th May 2011 08:27
Hey,

Some more recent thoughts on the new Newton wrapper:

1. I do NOT like the new colour scheme. The contrast is too high, and the old one looked perfectly good. Why change it?

2. Some of the commands are not explained well in the manual, and some are explained incorrectly. I don't actually remember which commands weren't explained but I know there are some.

This is just me being annoying (bad mood), don't take it all too seriously (yes do!).

Clonkex

Never lie -- The government doesn't like the competition.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.
tiresius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 6th May 2011 04:38 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2012 04:31
1. For now you can do a mass search/replace in the files to whatever color you like. I may need to break out the doc into individual html documents for Win7 behavior with the # address, at that point I'll see if a CSS file is possible.

2. There are over 300 commands, so I'll need a little more than that.


A 3D marble platformer using Newton physics.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Thebeely
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 3rd Jun 2011 00:05
Darn, I haven't been here for a while, so I haven't seen these 'new' posts (@Resourceful) :/
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 3rd Jun 2011 02:13
Thebeely

glad you came back

perhaps you can help get the example I found to work ?

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
Thebeely
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 00:01 Edited at: 5th Jun 2011 00:35
Cloth example?

[edit]
First of all, use this Newton.dll, not the old version.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 00:17
yes ;o)

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
Thebeely
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 02:34
I edited my last post after you posted, sorry.
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 05:41
I believe it was in place when I tried


since I was forced to reinstall DBP from Scratch

I have not tried it

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 06:05
Thebeely

umm did the example I posted
work if and when you tried it ?

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 06:54
from my end

I get an error

Rigid Body 2 is static (mass=0)
cannot perform NewtonBodySetMatrixRecursive!

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 07:17
Thebeely

thanks

I got it working

it seems at line 80

original line ___
Curtain(0) = nwtCollisionBox(oCurtBase, 0.0, 0, 0, nwtMatDefault)

new line
Curtain(0) = nwtCollisionBox(oCurtBase, 1.0, 0, 0, nwtMatDefault)

I thought when I ran it that it would show up more than it did
but it works now

now all I have to do is expand on it with code
from Dark Physics cloth examples

then clothes could be created for people that can be taken off or put on

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 07:18
I just wish the "Newton.dll"

did not have to be in the folder of the compiled project
for it to work

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Jun 2011 11:14
the one thing about the example

I've been trying to find the peace
in the 6 peaces that is the top
so I have it start at a height I want

at this point I got it set for 150

but it dose not seem to want to go to that height

I can see when I press the a key that I have set that it is
being picked but it dose not move and since
all the other peaces are attached to it they should follow

at least this is one but I got a chance getting worked out sooner

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
Thebeely
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 8th Jun 2011 01:39
Sorry, I really can't understand your last post.
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 8th Jun 2011 01:43
what I typed sound correct when I did it

right now the example has the blind hitting the ground

I wanted to be able tell the program
to move it to a height of 150 and it can drop from there
but so far it will not do that

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
Southside Games
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2010
Location: Don\'t tell me what to do!
Posted: 5th Oct 2011 00:26
hey, how does this compare to dark physics?
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Oct 2011 01:38
hi Southside Games

for one you do not need the nvida addition to run it
it works equally well

but dark physics has a liquid component to it and particles

this dose not have either of such

some one is working on making an updated version of Dark Physics

Dark DynamiX - PhysX Wrapper for DBPro/GDK

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=187776&b=8

it is faster than Dark Physics and the same person also made

Dark Imposters plugin DBPro/GDK

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=184148&b=8

this auto controls details of object being shown
as in it reduces guilty of the abject so things up when
the item is far away

and there is anther work in progress by some one else
that hide's objects that are behind other objects and
objects not in frame

Real-time Occlusion Culling

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=185588&b=8

between the 3 of these making games got closer to being
easier for people like me who are not ready for other programing
code

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 23rd Jan 2012 10:48
Just noticed this thread now...

And Resourceful you truly are erm resourceful

Will check those out and have a try at DDynamics I think you mentioned it to me just a few days ago in another thread... I guess as its a PHYSX wrapper [which I think it is] then I will try it... but will it still utilise the GPU? [walks over to DDynamics thread]

gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 23rd Jan 2012 14:18
@MrValentine

the example do run very smoothly
as for the using the gpu I do not rile know but it dose work very nicely
at it dose not conflict with any of the other 3d physics addition

and has one peace of code that could be used to help in building games
the ability to pick on a item and to be able to move it
which with a bit of work this could be handed over to a 3d person
so it could grab onto or climb on anther item

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 23rd Jan 2012 15:16
Hmm I may very well try all three but so far PhysX seems to be mosy dynamic... though future compatibility makes me think otherwise...

gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 23rd Jan 2012 15:41
@MrValentine

I can understand that

sooner or latter all the pay and free could stop being compatible ;oP

some may survive if there are not more major changes to what was originally created

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Richaldo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 30th Mar 2012 04:31
Hi everyone,

Is NDB_BodySetCentreOfMass() missing from the functions? It seems to be in the documentation, but I can't find it in code.

If so is this likely to be added in future, or is there another way of achieving the same effect?

Thanks,

Rich
Thebeely
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 1st Apr 2012 16:46 Edited at: 1st Apr 2012 16:48
Not sure if it's missing or not, but you can try offseting limb 0 after creating (and assigning) Newton body to achieve the same effect.

[edit] It will mess up collision, though :/
tiresius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 5th Apr 2012 05:03
These functions exist in version 1.5 of wrapper:

NDB_NewtonBodySetCentreOfMass
NDB_NewtonBodyGetCentreOfMass

Good luck!


A 3D marble platformer using Newton physics.
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Apr 2012 12:56
@tiresius

you have managed to create a physics addition for DBP
and it seams for the most part that dose not need much of
the NVidia PhysX engine

I've got one request for add on

that would be : Liquids

different colors , viscosity

I know it's quite a bit of work to do
but fare easier for you than me as I am still learning DBP code

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
tiresius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 23rd Jul 2012 04:24 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2012 04:35
I feel it is time to let the Newton Wrapper 1.53 go, and publish the latest project source here. This version of Newton is no longer supported by Newton Game Dynamics group. It is quite stable with the latest DBPro version (1.7 RC7) and I still think it is an excellent physics library! I'm attaching the full C++ Project here.

You will need the following to compile the project:
Microsoft C++ Express 2008 Edition (that's what I used)
IanM's DBPro Interface (ask him for it)
DirectX SDK (I used October 2006)
Newton SDK for 1.53 (they might not provide this anymore)

I will update the first post and point to the attachment.


A 3D marble platformer using Newton physics.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 23rd Jul 2012 05:18
@tiresius

it has it's run
the one part nun of the other 3d physic's never had was the ability
grab an object at any part of it and move it around ;o)

I've collected every thing DBP since I first found about it
and haveing the source code can teach me a few more things ;o)

thanks for posting

my Posted on : 4th Apr 2012 22:56

before your latest post would still be on my final
needed list the Dark Physic's fell short of being completed
this would complete DBP options

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
DarkDISCUSSION
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2011
Location: Ft Madison, IA
Posted: 20th Sep 2012 21:32
Has anyone thought about making a wrapper for the Tokamak physics system? It is really good!



Brendy boy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 20th Sep 2012 22:53
Quote: "Has anyone thought about making a wrapper for the Tokamak physics system?"

somebody already did, years ago, search the forums

J T Huges
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2009
Location: O-HI-O. USA.
Posted: 20th Oct 2012 22:36
@tiresius
saw your forum, read it and everyone elses, looks good.
gonna work this in, thanks you and everybody.

Live Long -N- Rock'n Space Cowboys

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-16 18:47:12
Your offset time is: 2024-04-16 18:47:12