Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Help with motion blur

Author
Message
M00NSHiNE
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2003
Location: England, UK
Posted: 22nd Aug 2003 21:06
Hey everybody, I need some code (either DBC or pro, preferably both) that allows me to blur the motion of 3d objects. I can already do one that uses more than 1 object with a slight offset and ghosting, but that would cause major in-game slowdown.

Any ideas?

"It's amazin' what you can do with a computer and access to t'internet"
lcfcfan
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2003
Location: North East, UK
Posted: 23rd Aug 2003 15:43
i would also like to know about this i do have a theory on it but not so sure it would work or how it woould work.

Darkflame
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location:
Posted: 23rd Aug 2003 17:30
I think it would have to be done as a 2D post effect.
(ie, render to a bitmap, then edit the bitmap to add a blur)

The steps and maths are byond me at the moment though

"The man who says it cannot be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." ~ Elbert Hubbard
lcfcfan
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2003
Location: North East, UK
Posted: 23rd Aug 2003 18:44
yeah i thought of somethig similar it's just figuring out how to do it now.

M00NSHiNE
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2003
Location: England, UK
Posted: 24th Aug 2003 23:49
My idea was to have a hidden bitmap, grab the screen then have an invisible plain locked to the screen that pasted a blurred image of the game as a texture, but then that wouldnt work work at all coz the plain would cover the game, so it must be a multi object thing.

"It's amazin' what you can do with a computer and access to t'internet"
Mat
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 30th Aug 2003 22:14
I made this up for my game, look at the code - it's not just lots of ghosted cubes. The Blur is ghosted because I have DBC but if DBpro has full alpha control it would work better if it was 50% Transparent
Terabyte
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 30th Aug 2003 23:21
yeah i asked a question like this a while ago.
didnt really get it answered.
you mean like on gta3 right?

>>TerraByte. Putting the Byte back into Terragramming<< If my post has less than 20 typos then it wasnt me who wrote it!
TigerZ
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 31st Aug 2003 07:01
ive done it before, but not in DB though, but i think the steps would be the same, your theory is almost right, there actually 2 types of motion blur:
fake
real
now for games, its REALLY complicated to do real motion blur, so im not gonna go into detail about it,

for fake, its almost like u said, you grab the screen from the buffer into a texture, then apply it on a quad that fits the viewport exactly, and put the opacity of the quad to something < 1. this works very well, the fillrate hit isnt big either.

the second method is to copy the object every cycle with an alpha being adjusted to the life of the blur trail < 1.

i personnaly like the first method since it can blur a whole scene without having to manually explicitely copy each objects.
M00NSHiNE
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2003
Location: England, UK
Posted: 31st Aug 2003 14:22
I actually knocked up code recently in DBC using the textured flat plane method. Problem is the get image command from the screen every loop slows the game down more than ghosted objects do - from 60fps to 9 fps with only 1 object onscreen!

"It's amazin' what you can do with a computer and access to t'internet"
TigerZ
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 31st Aug 2003 21:49
ouch, thats some big slowdown, i got from 330 fps to 290 fps on my game, u should perhaps try to force Vram
WindTech
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 1st Sep 2003 08:27
Quote: "I actually knocked up code recently"

lol

Live as if to die tomorrow...
Learn as if to live forever.
WarHunterX
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2003 09:16
Motion blur involves making ghosted copies of faces and dragging them right behind the object for a blurry effect, i saw a demo for it, requires alot of code.
TigerZ
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 1st Sep 2003 09:49
wanna see radial blur ingame? ill pimp a demo if you guys want
you can check the FPS reading using FRAPS also

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-11 05:18:27
Your offset time is: 2025-05-11 05:18:27