Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / 3D Model problems

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey guys,

I am a student and kind of new to the whole DarkBasic world. I am creating a first person shooter for my first project but when I lock the 3D weapon on to the camera I get a problem.

The 3D model becomes very weird. You are able to see into the middle of the model as if the top layers have been removed (like if you position a object on the matrix and walk into it a little bit).

I lock the model to the camera using the "lock object on" command as it is a lot simpler then positioning the model just infront of the camera and getting the ground hide of the camera and making it rotate with the camera etc.

When the models (I have tried more then one) are just positioned on the matrix they look how they are meant to so it should not be the models fault (I even tried with the models provided in the media area and the examples).

Can anyone explain the reason that this is happening?
TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Oct 2009 01:21 Edited at: 5th Oct 2009 01:23
Hello and welcome to the forums!

I remember this problem, but never really went into it. Are the normals on the model 1-sided or 2-sided?

When you lock an object on to the screen, the "position object" command will position the object assuming the camera is point 0,0,0. So maybe you are not offsetting it from the camera correctly and the camera is looking into the model?