Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Please give any helpful advice!

Author
Message
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 00:06
I am currently working on a 3d object modifier type program.

I will give credit for any helpful ideas that you may give.
Why post this? Let me answer that with another question:
Why make an application that won't do what the user wants it to?

Camera positioning is a major concern for me now. I know how to control it, but how much control should the user have? Currently, its a first person-like camera, and it really sux.

Thanks!

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
Guitar_M
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 00:33
ok
this is the cheapest
what you do is go to the dark matter. buy that. (download or whatever) then load the object. (if you don't know what that means then email me at [email protected] but i figure ure a good programmer from some of the things u have said) then make it where the object moves (i learned how to do this from the manual page)o and a good i dea for a game to get money is a war game (those always get points on the media scale) any questions email me or talk to me over the forum
i am glad i could help

Derek miller
Guitar_M
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 00:34
oops i read ure forum post wrong. i cannot help u there. but i can try to by looking up info

Derek miller
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 00:55
Thanks!
yeah, your first post had me a little confused. Isn't DarkMatter kinda what I'm trying to create, only mine will be cheaper and, well, probably harder to use?

I did find some models from the developers website (or is it page?), but they weren't exactly what I was looking for. Still would appreciate any other input to!

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
Jess T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 08:52
so, your making a 3D modeling program in DarkBASIC?

If Quizz's Are Quizzical, Then What Are Test's?
Check my profile for a quick test of knowladge...
=C=
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 18:47
First decide what level of manipulation you want to offer.
The easiest would be to view an object alter the texture, UV map it.

Maybe scale it, on all three axes. You know, the stuff DB has already commands for, all you do is parameterise them, if this is a word.

Camera. hmmm. I would have a static camera, pointing on 0,0,0 and then adding my objects on 0,0,0 and then you could move objects around and out of the way... Sort of like move object left 10 spaces.

Then I would add camera pan zoom functionality, just to see how much it spoils my composition.

Then after you tested all your fantastic functions working with key strokes, standartise them by adding a simple menu line and using the mouse.

If you need some help, only because I want to build something like that too as an in-house tool for my game development, let me know. I'll probably be more available after the 13th of Oct.

Happy coding.

-------------------------------
Pointy birds, Oh pointy pointy
Anoint my head, Anointy 'nointy
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 19:23
@ JessTicular: Yes, that it was my other post (limb exist() code problem) was referring to. As I said, your help was greatly appreciated and has greatly improved the success of my project.

@ =c=: Actually, I'm already well into the coding of it. I've already included the functionality to load .x files, open files saved as my created extension ".3dject", and am in the process of the functionality of the basic things that you can do with DB (Ghost, glue, texture, wireframe, etc,...) The way that I have it set up, I believe it will be possible to fade an object in or out to/from nothing with the objects animation. Umm... I think...

As for the adding of the objects at 0,0,0 all the time, I think that that might pose some problems with my current code setup. And i plan on moving the objects with the mouse, not moving them "10 spaces" or how you put it.

Menu: already have one made! and it works too!
Scaling, rotating: already planned!
Texturing: I might need help with that function, but I might not. I don't think I completely understand the whole image/bitmap/texture relationship, but then again, I might already know and not know it.

Thanks for your help! If you want to, after I get enough of it done, you could help test it. I do need testers, after all...

Keep the ideas coming!

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 6th Oct 2003 05:08
No one cares? No one wants this to be a successful thing for them to use? Well, TWO people care. I guess that's something...

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
Jess T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 6th Oct 2003 14:32
Always here for you, i am... Yoda...

Just Kidding...

But seriosly people...
from what i can make out from PoHa!84's comments and requested help, This should be an awesome program... Why not offer a helping hand and become a tester...

If Quizz's Are Quizzical, Then What Are Test's?
Check my profile for a quick test of knowladge...
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 6th Oct 2003 17:27
He's right! I need testers! He's my only one, and thus far, he'll be the only first one to use it! He'll be using my application to make all sorts of crazy animations and objects and things, while everyone else is waiting for me to upload it to the site, which will be some time after JessTicular is already playing with it! He'll be in my credits!

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
Jess T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 6th Oct 2003 17:33
Hoorah!

If Quizz's Are Quizzical, Then What Are Test's?
Check my profile for a quick test of knowladge...
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 6th Oct 2003 22:26
Alright, alright, I know you're out there. Just someone cruising the forums, came across this one, read it, didn't care, didn't wanna help, didn't wanna post. That's fine. No really... that's fine. I might decide to keep my program to myself and Jessticular, if no one cares! I mean, come on people! What do you want a program like this to do? TELL ME! I WANNA KNOW, so I can make it the best it can! Doesn't that sound good? HUH? Or maybe I'm right... nobody wants my program...

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 7th Oct 2003 01:35 Edited at: 7th Oct 2003 01:37
The thing is, there are already plenty of tools out there that do what you seem to be trying to do. Some of them are even free. Don't get me wrong though, I'm working on the same type of thing except it will be for making music videos ->http://www.geocities.com/sixurbanninjas/download.html (look for DarkDirect Actor Studio screenshot.
I've been struggling with my project for almost two months now and have solved many problems. If you need some pointers don't hesitate to ask me. Good Luck
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 7th Oct 2003 01:51
*Sigh* I had thought about that, but I still think that this could be useful, in that it won't do anything that Dark Basic can't do, and would allow people to see what they would otherwise have to do with a bunch of code, then hit F5 to check if it's right, go back change it, F5 again, etc...

So then, who knows. It might be more practical to use my program in the end.

Anyways, I'm not exactly looking for pointers, but more like... uh... what you want to be able to do with it once it's done, and what you think would be the easiest controls. Maybe that will help get more input.

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 8th Oct 2003 02:38 Edited at: 8th Oct 2003 02:40
Here are the keys for mine. I't might be hard to grasp at first, but if you looked at my code (source button) you might get what i mean. This key layout makes editing in my prog EXTREMELY easy and fast.

rem Mouse Controls:
rem LeftClick - Use in conjunction with X,Y, or Z to move current part
rem RightClick - Use in conjunction with X,Y, or Z to rotate current part
rem MiddleClick - Use in conjunction with X,Y, or Z to scale current part
rem Keyboard Controls:
rem >,< - change current part for editing (must create a part first)
rem W - Move camera forward
rem S - Move camera backward
rem X - Hold with mouse buttons to manipulate X variable
rem Y - Hold with mouse buttons to manipulate Y variable
rem Z - Hold with mouse buttons to manipulate Z variable
rem T - Hold and push up and down keys to change texture in clipboard
rem R - Hold with mouse buttons to manipulate texture UV (scale/scroll)
rem V - Changes object view mode
rem (delete) - remove current part
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 8th Oct 2003 02:44
Hmm... looks useful, but your source code just confused me. (Are you using DBC or DBP, because some of that didn't look like anything I recall in DBC?)
Anyways, if you would be so kind to look at my other post....(Best way to...)

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 10th Oct 2003 19:38
Hmm... no replies in a long time. Maybe it's cause I directed everyone to my other thread... anyways, here's a link to where you can see the images. I would use the image thing, but it doesn't want to work for me:

http://www.angelfire.com/crazy2/yoda0

Just click on the image links.

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
. Cool, he is. Play his games, I do.
Jess T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 10th Oct 2003 20:17
@CaptainChronic :
I like the fact that your main loop is only 6 ines including the Do and Loop comands... very good work...

@PoHa!84:
It all looks like its in DBC, if its not, its very close to being compatable to DBC...

I think it may just be all his functions and function calls that got you confused *again* hehe, just kidding...

Hope I Helped...

Knowladge Belongs To The People...
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 10th Oct 2003 20:50
*sigh*

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
. Cool, he is. Play his games, I do.
Guitar_M
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 11th Oct 2003 06:51
this will probably not make a bit of since to u (have to be in my my mind) but well anyways...i am guessing this program is going to take 10,000's of lines. cuz i tried to do some thing like this and it took like 40 lines just to make a sphere come on to the screen. what u are going to do is (for example) put (not darkbasic coded) if pressed make object sphere come onto the screen and so on and so on. but this is the tricky part is to make it as big as they want it so lets say they type in one sphere comes up on the screen (then u should have a line come up saying "how big do u want this to be 1-100.) lets say they type in 40...then u will have some kind of code for the number 40...then for them to position it u would have to make the mouse drag it.....if u want the codes i will try to help but i have no idea how far u are into this program u are trying to create

Derek miller
Guitar_M
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 11th Oct 2003 23:43
like i said.....u would have to be in my mind....... it is looking extremly good and if u need any help i am willing

Derek miller
Coder
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2003
Location:
Posted: 12th Oct 2003 17:02
I agreed to test, but I have not received you file.

Loopendless:
Goto Loopendless
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 13th Oct 2003 05:11
Friendly Reaper: I think I understand you, but uh... I'm already past that. Yes, it does ask where how big you want the sphere (or box, plain, cylinder, cone) and then puts it on the screen. I haven't coded the movement part yet though...

Coder: Yes, I know you agreed to be a tester. But the beta isn't ready yet. You are on my list of two though.

Anyone else?

Destroy you with my mind, I could!
. Cool, he is. Play his games, I do.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-21 13:50:05
Your offset time is: 2025-05-21 13:50:05