Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / AIM-4 Falcon

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Nov 2010 19:24 Edited at: 5th Nov 2010 19:26
Making a game in which I plan to use this. Comments appreciated.

I'm not really a programmer.....I only play one on TGC.
Slayer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2010 03:38
Looks good, the texturing could use some work/the color... looking at it tells me that a normal map would make it look very cool. Damn I love normal maps!

I dont know how to spell
Master Man Of Justice
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2010 04:09
@Slayer, dont we all

but judging by the resolution of his current texture, i think increasing that resolution would take more priority over normal map.

@LBFN

Have you assigned a smoothing group to the tip and the 2 sets of fins?

Slayer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2010 07:37 Edited at: 6th Nov 2010 08:36
Quote: "but judging by the resolution of his current texture, i think increasing that resolution would take more priority over normal map."

Then whats the point of having a normal map if your going to add all the detail to the model?... increasing the rez would only make the image get smaller the further you are from the model... judging by the looks of the model its a low rez game... if the model was the focal point then yah increase the rez.

I dont know how to spell
Quik
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2010 12:50
honestly slayer, increasing the texture size would both be more friendly to the computer and make it look better than throwing an normal map on a low-rez texture, since the normal map would also be low rez and therefore showing a lot of "pixelated surfaces" which is unwanted.