Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Character modeling

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm new to modeling. I have searched by might have missed it. I have seen people model characters with arms straight out. I'm trying to find out if you have to model them this way? I ask because one of my best character models (at least I think it is.) I modeled with the arms down to the side.
Quik
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Mar 2011 22:59
you definitly dont HAVE to, but it is certanly more practical for animation purposes. They can obv also be repositioned =)

[Q]uik, Quiker than most
PrimalBeans
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 01:35
I think that subject is kind of personal preference. I commonly dont model them that way but thats just my style. A relaxed position works nicely too. One thing that is important is not modeling in any kind of extreme pose position... use a good neutral position to reduce extreme deformity and texture stretching. I would be more concerned with proper edgeloop construction at joints and mesh weight then i would be about the perfect T configuration.

Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 14:04
A T configuration sure makes it easier to rig, but I completely agree with PrimalBeans - it's more important for your model to look good, than be easy to animate. I would tend to use a T when the character has a lot of movement in their arms, say for a platform game character. But for a FPS, I think that a slight bend in the elbows, with the arms down at the sides is good - try and think of a neutral pose that would go into holding a gun or weapon switftly.