Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Blurry Images on iOS after using Image Joiner

Author
Message
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 09:51
So here is the result of my images after I use the image joiner tool.



and the result on my iPad is:



I have other examples, but this is the most noticeable.

I also attached the image joined png because I couldn't figure out how to UN-attach it

Other problems I'm seeing on the iPad is that that even though everything is transparent, I can see lines where the transparent image ends. It is most noticeable on Sound: On

Additionally, when I go into the game, my main backgrounds are blurry as well.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:08
Not sure if this matters, but I use agk::setSize on the subimages. Will this affect the parent image somehow?
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:09
Have you tried experimenting with:
SetImageMinFilter( iImageIndex, mode )
SetImageMagFilter( iImageIndex, mode )?

...I assume you're using the AppGameKit Player? If this is from AppGameKit Viewer then the image will be blurry no matter what you do.

ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:11
No, this isn't from the AppGameKit Player, I believe that's Tier 1? This is using Tier 2 (sorry, I should have stated that).
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:12
And to answer your question, no I haven't tried using those--researching them now...
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:18
OK, hope it helps... haven't seen this issue before but I've not been using atlas images much.

ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:19
Tried using both of those functions with no noticeable difference. Tried both with 0's and with 1's for the mode.
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:20
Thanks for the attempt--hopefully someone will have a solution
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:43
Perhaps it's a size issue? Looking at other images I'm using, only ones that are above 1024x1024 are looking bad...
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:45
Maybe they are being reduced in size yes. Pain to edit your code but perhaps a trial with one sprite is worth it?

ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 10:46
Definitely my plan
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 11:13
This looks to be the issue. Not sure what the max size of the parent image can be, but 1024x1024 and under works, and 2048x1024 does not look good.

Keep this in mind everyone!
gsdblack
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 6th Apr 2012 02:39
How did you get the image joiner to work on a mac?
ManOfActionTM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2011
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posted: 6th Apr 2012 03:17
I didn't. I do most of my development on PC, then transfer files over to my wife's mac. Use it for a brief time, then give it back to my wife before she gets too annoyed
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Apr 2012 22:54
I think I have a similar problem

I am using 1024x1024 atlas files

no solution yet?
Marl
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2011
Location: Bradford, UK
Posted: 8th Apr 2012 00:01 Edited at: 8th Apr 2012 00:03
I have noticed with atlas file sub-images and animation sub-frames from a larger image that the sprite sometimes has a barely perceivable edge.

This only happens when one sub-image is directly adjacent to another in the source.

I presume its related to the filtering baxslash mentioned.

Giving all the images at least a 1 pixel transparent border in the source fixes it for me.
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2012 00:31
Marl, thanks for the clarification.

I would suggest that the ImageJoiner tool should do this automatically for us. I have around 300 sprites and having to do a border in the source sprites would take ages. Plus all XY co-ordinates would have to be adjusted
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2012 13:00
Marl you don't need to go into the trouble of adding a transparent border!

The single images can be odd sized and non ^2. That is not the problem. The most important thing is that when using ImageJoiner you use a ^2 size, which makes total sense.

What matters is the SetSpriteUVBorder() AppGameKit is offsetting all UV co-ords by 0.5 pixels because of scrolling! Setting SetSpriteUVBorder (iSpriteIndex, 0) fixes this problem! When using at Atlas you cannot do UV scrolling anyway!

Just another AppGameKit quirk that took a lot of investigation

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-08 16:05:59
Your offset time is: 2024-05-08 16:05:59