Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / AGK - A few platform dependant requests

Author
Message
kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 12:24
I basically wanted to request a few commands to be added, but didn't find suitable place to do that.

So here it goes.

1) Shake device. (I guess it's self-explanatory)
2) Display submenu. Like the one here (On the most bottom of the picture)



That'd be it. I'll add something here when I find something else.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 12:30
Kamac, since you use T2, maybe these can just be guides how to do shake & submenus and not have to necessarily be actual AppGameKit commands
kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 12:37
Quote: "Kamac, since you use T2, maybe these can just be guides how to do shake & submenus and not have to necessarily be actual AppGameKit commands"


It cannot be guides, because these must be actual AppGameKit commands. There's a few T2 developers, that's 1st, and 2nd is that it's very exhausting (if even possible) to use plain NDK to use these.

Besides, T1 users should have that possibility too.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 12:40
As a T2 user I would prefer a guide today, than an AppGameKit command in 6 months' time!

I have this problem with saving sprites to the native iOS photo gallery.
kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 12:46
Quote: "than an AppGameKit command in 6 months' time!"


Adding Shake device command shouldn't be too exhausting as it's platform dependant (For android/iOS only i presume).

MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 14:24
for shake... just use the accelerometer [blublablu hope I spelt that correct]

for sub-menu you mean in-app?

as far as I know reading the MENU button function isn't currently possible in Tier 1...

but you could maybe program a long press lower screen function which pops up a few sprites to act as a menu no?

or did I miss something here?

kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 16:31
Quote: "for shake... just use the accelerometer [blublablu hope I spelt that correct]"


Not user moving the device, but the device shaking


Quote: "for sub-menu you mean in-app?

as far as I know reading the MENU button function isn't currently possible in Tier 1..."


GetRawKeyPressed(), just that you have to know the keycode.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 16:38 Edited at: 27th Feb 2012 16:39
Quote: "Not user moving the device, but the device shaking"


I am fairly sure the ACCELerometer is used to determing shakes as well as movements...

else please enlighten me

EDIT

Fixed in bold and below added

Quote: "GetRawKeyPressed(), just that you have to know the keycode."


Pretty sure the answer here is in the ANDROID SDK documents

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 18:08
Yes, I'm pretty sure you could check for shake by setting a value each time the accelerometer changes direction and then if the value reaches a certain point within a certain time you call it a shake...

I'll try to do some tests if I get time (doubtful) but it shouldn't be too hard to work out.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 20:23
Kamac, you want VIBRATION?!!!
kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 20:53 Edited at: 27th Feb 2012 20:54
Quote: "I am fairly sure the ACCELerometer is used to determing shakes as well as movements...
"


- MISS -

Quote: "Yes, I'm pretty sure you could check for shake by setting a value each time the accelerometer changes direction and then if the value reaches a certain point within a certain time you call it a shake..."


- MISS -

Quote: "Kamac, you want VIBRATION?!!!"


- YES! -

One Sherlock out there

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 20:55
Vibration

#if defined (AGKIOS)
AudioServicesPlaySystemSound (kSystemSoundID_Vibrate);
#endif
kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 20:58
Quote: "Vibration

#if defined (AGKIOS)
AudioServicesPlaySystemSound (kSystemSoundID_Vibrate);
#endif"


I'm not sure about that. Normally you can define for how long to shake. But I'll test it later on. Thanks.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 21:28
Kamac this is just 1 shake.
Most probably there is an extended version of the command.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 21:30
Oh, vibration got you!

Well done bjadams! Can I borrow your crystal ball some time?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 23:50
Quote: "Well done bjadams! Can I borrow your crystal ball some time?"


me wants

XanthorXIII
AGK Gold Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2011
Location:
Posted: 28th Feb 2012 07:14
Gamecenter and Openfeint.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 28th Feb 2012 09:37
Quote: "Gamecenter and Openfeint."

Seconded

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-02 13:55:17
Your offset time is: 2024-05-02 13:55:17