Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Read an externally created file into AGK

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2012 09:49
Hi all you 'Code Guru's'

I am new to file reading etc for AppGameKit but would loke to know how to read an externally created file into AppGameKit? Can you help with the following please...

1. What format must the external file take? (CSV, TXT, ETC) what are the field separators or type identifiers.

2. Where should I locate this external file/ (I have read about My Docs/AGK etc etc.. Can I create the folder or must it already have been created by AppGameKit?)

3. I want to read in a 'record' ( group of fields) at a time and store the data into an array in AppGameKit to use as a 'look up table'.. Is there a record identifier or do I have to 'know' the number of fields for each record and handle this myself when reading the file?

I would be grateful for assistance and especially any example code that will help.

Cheers

Rudders
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2012 10:59
Quote: "1. What format must the external file take? (CSV, TXT, ETC) what are the field separators or type identifiers."

You'd have to know what you are reading. For instance, I store highscore files in a .dat file, first the names and then the scores. To read a file, you'd have to know the significance of each line and then utilise that data. File extensions matter to an extent but technically, I could save my highscore data to a .txt file and read it in the exact same way I read it now.