Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / basic programming image displaying problem

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am a student working on an assignment in my gaming programming class but I'm having a problem with the program displaying any images. Even a simple code such as this won't work:

#include "DarkGDK.h"

void DarkGDK()

{

dbLoadBitmap("skyrim.bmp");

dbWaitKey();

}

The image "skyrim.bmp" is already imported into the project and when the project is run, all it displays is a black screen. It does not say any errors occured and the build was successful. I have tried dbLoadBitmap("skyrim.bmp",0) and it didnt work. I have also tried dbLoadImage and dbPasteImage with no avail. I have even tried using another image from the Dark GDK files, with all images having a smaller resolution than the default size of the window. I have been working at this for about 4 hours now and can't find a solution. Do you see anything wrong with the code?

Please help!
Juggalo Memnoch
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2012 06:56 Edited at: 1st Mar 2012 06:57
You don't seem to have a Loop in your code.. That's where you would Display the image. Also you don't give the image an Id number..

Here's an example..

Note.. I didn't test this but it should help

xix psycho xix
Years of Service
User Offline