Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Anyone know how to make HDR?

Author
Message
Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 15:16
As in my earlier thread, I am unable to use some of Evolved's shaders. I want to use HDR/post bloom, but I have been told that some of the GDK commands needed to do it are broken. Any solutions?

The fastest code is the code never written.
Mr Bigglesworth
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 17:00
You could program your own shader framework in pure DirectX then incorporate it into DGDK, other than that I am not sure.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 17:48
Dark Shader?

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 18:42
Dark Shader..... Doesn't it use the same commands in-game (when I program the scene)? If not, then that's the way I want to go.

Doing the pure DX route is not something I'm comfortable with. If I had help, I would love to learn, but I don't know enough about shaders or how to use them in DX to try it.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Morcilla
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 19:34
As far as I know, there is nothing broken with DGDK shaders.
Here is a basic code to test a fullscreen shader like bloom/HDR so you can see how things work:



DarkShader is the way to go for fullscreen shaders because it gives us things like 'dbLoadCameraEffect' and 'dbSetCameraEffect'.

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 19:40
That's encouraging. I looked at DarkShader, but I didn't want to buy something if it wasn't going to work.... Do you use it in the MPL3D Solar system?

The fastest code is the code never written.
Morcilla
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 19:52
Sure, it works perfectly well, here is the set of functions that DarkShader provides:

void dbShaderDataStart( ); //must be called before any other commands

void dbReloadShaderDisplayPointer( ); //must be called after any "set display mode" calls

void dbMakeDynamicCubeMap( int iID, int size ); //creates a cube map of the specified resolution, valid ID = 1-10
void dbMakeDynamicCubeMap( int iID, int size, int mipmapped ); //creates a cube map of the specified resolution, with mipmap parameter
void dbDeleteDynamicCubeMap( int iID ); //deletes a cubemap
void dbRenderDynamicCubeMap( int iID, int camera, float x, float y, float z ); //renders a cube map with a camera (-1 for temp camera) at a position
void dbApplyCubeMapToObject( int objID, int stage, int iID, int shader ); //applies a cube map to an object stage, use shader=1 if using an object shader
void dbApplyCubeMapToObject( int objID, int stage, int iID ); //applies a cube map to an object stage, shader=1
int dbDynamicCubeMapExist( int iID ); //returns 1 if cube map exists

void dbLoadCameraEffect( char* filename, int effectID, int loadTex ); //Loads a camera effect into an ID, separate from object effect IDs
void dbDeleteCameraEffect( int effectID ); //delete a camera effect
int dbCameraEffectExist( int effectID ); //returns 1 if effect exists
void dbSetCameraEffectConstantFloat( int effectID, char* varName, float value ); //set a float variable in a camera effect
void dbSetCameraEffectConstantInt( int effectID, char* varName, int value ); //set an integer variable in a camera effect
void dbSetCameraEffectConstantVector( int effectID, char* varName, int vector ); //set a float vector variable in a camera effect, uses dbvector4
void dbSetCameraEffect( int camera, int effect, int image ); //set an effect to a camera, and output to an image, this command will also take control of image 65499
void dbRemoveCameraEffect( int camera ); //remove an effect from an image
void dbSyncCamera( int camera ); //render a camera containing a camera effect, no other cameras synced, only output is to the image from SetCameraEffect

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 19:55
I'm going to buy it now. Is there some actual examples in the download?

The fastest code is the code never written.
Morcilla
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 20:52
Yes. DarkShader license includes not only DGDK/DBPro libraries, but also a cool shader editor that, last time I checked, came with these examples:

This is the list of packed shaders:

FullScreenShaders:

Bloom
Blur
Cartoon Outline
ColorHighlight
DepthOfField
EdgeDetect
Greyscale
HueSatLight
Negative
Pixelate
Sharpen
WaterColors

Object Shaders:

BlendShader
Bumpbone
CartoonObject
Colored Glass
Constant Lighting
DefaultShader
Depth
DepthOfField
DetailMapping
Distort
Expand
Halo
HeatHaze
Hemispherical Lighting
Normal Mapping
PerPixelLighting
Rainbow
Reflection Mapping
Relief
ScrollingTexture

Morcilla
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 20:52
Main Dark Shader page, purchase link at the bottom:

http://darkbasicpro.thegamecreators.com/?f=darkshader

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2012 22:07
Turns out that they don't work on the weekends....
I placed the order, but I will have to wait till Monday before I can download it.

The fastest code is the code never written.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 02:52
Hawk you should have just bought DGS...

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 11:22
What's DGS?

The fastest code is the code never written.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 11:24
What's DGS?

Clickedy Click Click

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 11:43
That's weird. The "Dark Game Studio Bonanza", which contains DGS, is almost half the price of DGS by itself.... Your right. Is there a way to cancel my earlier purchase. I mean, they haven't even processed it yet.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Morcilla
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 11:52
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 11:53
I was worried you was unaware of it

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 12:02
I just noticed it doesn't have "DarkLights". What does "distributed by post" mean? The only reason I didn't get the "Dark Game Studio Bonanza" was that I would have to wait for it to come in the mail.... I hate waiting, and I don't trust the mail.

The fastest code is the code never written.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 12:54 Edited at: 4th Mar 2012 12:54
it does have DL... and most components can be downloaded from the web in your account... as the DVD versions are kinda outdated... so you can get working as soon as your order is complete

Quote: "
90% Off - Dark Game Studio Bonanza
Creating your own PC games is now easier than ever with this special compilation of game making tools.

This bundle contains: DarkBASIC Professional, Dark Lights, Dark AI, Dark Physics, DarkBASIC Electronic, Dark Shader, eXtends, Treemagik G3, Plant Life, Cartography Shop, DarkMATTER 1, DarkVOICES, DarkGAME Studio, FPS Creator FREE
"


I did notice the above list does not have it weird... [above this text near the prices]

EDIT

DL bolded

Hawkblood
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2012 13:33
Yes. The Dark Game Studio Bonanza has DL, but DGS does not.

The fastest code is the code never written.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-03 15:48:32
Your offset time is: 2024-05-03 15:48:32