Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / How to resize webpage to fit width of clients screen?

Author
Message
Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 00:16
I have a question i want the page of my webpage to resize the width not the height im using html but i dont know how to do it. i have found things on the internet but they dont work and i know some of you in the tgc community have a website.

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 02:19
I dont know much on the subject but im not thinking HTML would support that functionality... It very well may though!

Dar13
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2008
Location: Microsoft VisualStudio 2010 Professional
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 04:12
Are you using divs to determine the content of the site? Can you give us some HTML?

I'd recommend using CSS to set the width, but how you do that would be dependent on how your HTML is set-up.

Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 04:33 Edited at: 25th Apr 2012 05:04
yeah i can give you some code
and since im just getting into it i found out that it is java/html/css on some

this code is made with Web Page Maker dont look at this one


this is made with BlueVoda but the reason why i decided to use Web Page Maker is because it loads flash file way better with out them being unplayable.

but here is one with BlueVoda


and trust me i tried changing the width and height but it doesn't seem to change anything and to make it automatic what would i change it too?

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 04:46
One thing...

jQuery...

BRB

Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 05:04 Edited at: 25th Apr 2012 05:11
one more thing don't look at the Web Page One Here is a new one a lot simpler


just thought that might make it better for your help

i will be waiting

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Mychal B
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2010
Location: Coos bay, rainville
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 12:44
Google liquid layout. Basically you set out how you want everything to be organized, and then use percentages to work out the size

The fastfood zombie killer
BiggAdd
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: != null
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 17:15 Edited at: 25th Apr 2012 17:26
Is this what you are after? To have div#container stretch across the screen? Or do you want to physically resize the window?



If you want to physically resize the window, I would advise against it if its your main page (as people could find that annoying).

lazerus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2012 17:39 Edited at: 25th Apr 2012 17:51
div#container
{
width: auto;
height: auto;
min-width: 600px
max-width: 1920px
margin-top: 0px;
margin-left: 0px;
text-align: left;
}



If auto is used in conjunction with Min-width and max-width you can auto scale pretty well.

Never had many problems with auto's so.

Portfolio; Arthiccup.com
Lazerus Reborn on Polycount and a few other places.
Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 00:57
well none of your suggestions worked but i just downloaded a template and i checked it on different monitors and i works here is all the files and maybe you can tell me what makes it do auto width? it is in the CSS somewhere.

and lets say i use a program like web page maker it changes the html file so would i just put all the code web page maker makes in between the id="container" or maybe i should just code it what do you think?

here is index.html (home page)


CSS


What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Mychal B
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2010
Location: Coos bay, rainville
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 02:12
If your wondering where you need to put the css code it will be in the linked style.css file. You should also be able to use a text editor inside the program, and if so you could simply add:


I personally use the glorious notepad for all of my web page making, and love it.

Like BigAdd asked, are you trying to change the actual size of the window on the screen, or are you trying to make sure everything stays aligned correctly across different resolutions?

The fastfood zombie killer
Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 02:19
i got everything working right now and i think i might just use notepad to because if i don't other programs just change the HTML file weird so i don't understand anything.

Quote: "Like BigAdd asked, are you trying to change the actual size of the window on the screen, or are you trying to make sure everything stays aligned correctly across different resolutions?"


i meant i was just trying to make it so the resolution stayed the same and i got that working.

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Mychal B
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2010
Location: Coos bay, rainville
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 02:30
Alrighty, may I asked what this was for, perhaps a application to a secret place that I hope most other people don't know about yet because I want it?

The fastfood zombie killer
Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 02:46 Edited at: 26th Apr 2012 02:48
what do you mean? What the website was for? The website is just a website because my friends wanted a website that could play games. But once i leave school it is just going to become a regular personal website unless people still want it.

Quote: "I hope most other people don't know about yet because I want it?"


know about what?

got to do homework so may not respond in a while just let me know and hopefully i can answer

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Mychal B
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2010
Location: Coos bay, rainville
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 03:00
Ahaha, nevermind, dont worry about it...

The fastfood zombie killer
MrValentine
AGK Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 26th Apr 2012 06:03
HTML markup code editor as well as C/C++ etc

This is much better than Notepad... and believe you me it took a little convincing to get me away from notepad...

Mychal B
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2010
Location: Coos bay, rainville
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 01:23
It would be really nice if I had something like a debugger for the javascript

The fastfood zombie killer
Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 04:01 Edited at: 27th Apr 2012 04:02
lol thanks Mr.Valentine you just reminded me that i do have that i used it for my minecraft server i just havent played minecraft in a long time.

btw i might make a separate post for this but TGC has a virus. im on my crappy computer so it dosent matter but when i was on my good computer i went to type in thegamecreators.com and a page came up saying it was a malicious webpage so i went too Google and typed thegamecreators in and it said one computer threats. im using Norton. please dont say it sucks i know but once i get new laptop im getting bitdeffender

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 04:19
No virusses here...

Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 04:20
really well as i said Norton Sucks

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 04:55
Have you ever considered Norton to be the virus?

In actual fact I recall some guy a few years back saying so called antivirus companies develop their software with the user as a virus in focus...

So essentially to your computer... You are a virus lol

Why do you not use Security Essentials? Its free and works excellently... I have history with it from when it was named OneCare and I was paying for it and loved it... Still have the original box

Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 05:16
i should try it on this 12 year old laptop!!!

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Oster200
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2012 07:43 Edited at: 27th Apr 2012 07:46
Okay a mod/admin should probably fix this. i did find out what and where this "virus" is and lets start with what it is...

It is a Trojan.ADH I'm not on my PC right now so i cant explain what it is but you can look it up later.

where is it located https://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/download/1087478

i also know it is easy to get rid of and it is in the category low for being malicious.

EDIT: i just did a virus total url scan on it and found nothing just aware

What does Star Trek and toilet paper have in common?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 00:31:49
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 00:31:49