Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / How to create an animated sprite

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
How do I create an animated png to be used as a sprite?
Or, how do I create an animated sprite for my AppGameKit game?
What is the correct approach to implement animation in an AppGameKit game?

I am new to this subject so I will very much appreciate an explanation as detailed as possible.

Respectfully,
Jorge Maldonado
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd May 2012 21:57
There are a number of ways go do animation, the most common way is to create a number of images that represent each frame of animation and to play the animation one frame at a time. Another way is to use individual sprites for each part of your character and rotate / position them manually.

The first method can be achieved either using individual images or a spritesheet containing multiple images.

DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
You can either use individual frames, load them in separately. Create a sprite and use the AddSpriteAnimationFrame command for each of the frames. Alternately, you can create a sprite sheet with your frames gridded on to it and use SetSpriteAnimation to set it up in one go.
The first method should work with any sized images, but the second you need to ensure the images are ^2. So ranges such as 16x16,32x32,64x64, and so on will work ok for sprite sizes. Also combinations are allowed so you could have 256x512 for instance.