Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Whats the best way to use AGK? Tier 1 or tier 2? Windows or Mac?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2012 00:07
I've finally got some time on my hands and can get back to developing my own games. So, AppGameKit is about to get some use but I'm wondering how best to develop using AGK.

I plan on using AppGameKit to develop primarily for iDevices and I am a paid-up Apple developer. I have an iMac and a PC and I am equally comfortable with BASIC or C++ so my questions:
Should I use Tier 1 or 2 and should I develop on the Mac or PC and can I even write AppGameKit code on the Mac?

Thanks
bjadams
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Use T2. You will get all the debugging tools you need + can add native functions that are not yet supported by AGK.

You can write C++ AppGameKit code in Xcode on Mac or in VisualStudio on Windows.
Scraggle
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2012 00:35
Using Xcode was the missing link. I was wondering how I would use AppGameKit on a Mac.
Thanks
ThrOtherJoJo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2012 01:37 Edited at: 15th May 2012 01:41
Quote: "Using Xcode was the missing link. I was wondering how I would use AppGameKit on a Mac.
Thanks "

Look in the AppGameKit Help, there is some stuff to get you started.
Also what help me is to download Xcode, read the user guide and play around it.

https://developer.apple.com/library/ios/#documentation/ToolsLanguages/Conceptual/Xcode4UserGuide/Introduction/Introduction.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40010215
MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2012 03:59