Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Worms Armegedon

Author
Message
Cookyzue
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2003
Location: Who Cares?!
Posted: 11th Nov 2003 06:03
im trying to make a game like Worms Armegedon and i was wondering how to make sprite animation.would you just have 2 or 3 sprites (all a little different) and put them all a little after each other?Any help would be appreciated.Thanks.
JoelJ
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2003
Location: UTAH
Posted: 11th Nov 2003 06:29
i would say (for walking/character movement) use 3 or 4 frames

Two words, moo.
guru of boredom
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2003
Location: middle of no where
Posted: 13th Nov 2003 03:23
hey! worms is awesome! let me know if you want some help (email)! and let me know how it turns out!

we are not outnumbered! we are just in a target rich enviroment!
P4 2.4 ghz 120 GB 256 mb GeForce4
CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 13th Nov 2003 05:18
One thing though, if your making a worms clone (i love that game ) i would sugest not using sprites, there infernaly slow in DB and the game would look much nicer if you used plains (you can set transparancy just like sprites to)

Good luck!

Sparring - Loved by many, Pefected by few.
Northern Fist
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2003
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2003 06:34
Um, computers are getting so fast these days that it isn't going to make much of a difference if you use a few sprites for the couple of wormies.

I would personally go 2D on this project simply because it is easier to make the terrain deform in the shape of the explosions, etc.

"Power, precision, and don't forget about speed. If you practice everyday with these things in mind... you begin to develope A FIGHTING MODE." - Fist of Legend (Jet Li)
TEH_CODERER
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2003
Location: Right behind you!
Posted: 13th Nov 2003 11:56
That sounds amazing. When its finished please send it or the source code to [email protected]

Games are my life
M00NSHiNE
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2003
Location: England, UK
Posted: 13th Nov 2003 15:30
The trouble would be getting the explosions to cut circles in the terrain dynamically in that cool worms style, then checking for collision with the terrain all the time.

ZEDWARE website coming soon... //END TRANSMISSION//
Blazer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 14th Nov 2003 05:55
to animate you make consecutive frames to the right of eachother and do somethign like this:

for i=0 to 5
get image i,(the start width of your guy)*i,(the start height of your guy),(the end width)*(i+1),(the end height)
next i

then later:

For i=0 to 5
sprite 0,0,i
next i

Ps: Worms would be an extremly hard game to code because it uses real phisics(sp?) not to mention the wind affects everything. However if you pull this off you could sell the game.

As I walk through the vally of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.
- Psalms 23:4
CPU
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 15th Nov 2003 23:08 Edited at: 15th Nov 2003 23:09
NEVER EVER USE FULL SCREEN SPRITES!!!! I tried doing that for a main menu and my fps droped to like 5-10 or so, i fixed it by using paste image imagenum command but i would still sugest using plains, if your just doing a little worm sprite it won't hurt. But full screen sprites will.
hope someone can benifit from this.

Cheers
CPU

Sparring - Loved by many, Pefected by few.
Cookyzue
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2003
Location: Who Cares?!
Posted: 17th Nov 2003 03:21
I have the charactors walking on the landscape now but there is a problem. They can walk up 90 degree hills and stuff.How can i prevent that?
Cookyzue
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2003
Location: Who Cares?!
Posted: 17th Nov 2003 03:24
i was also wondering how to make it so when you move the mouse the screen moves.So you can scroll across the screen.Thanks!
JoelJ
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2003
Location: UTAH
Posted: 17th Nov 2003 07:27 Edited at: 17th Nov 2003 07:30
for the 90degree slopes, try, if wormxposition = where you dont want it to go. set it back a few pixels or something like that

basicly, that one, you can go on the x=501 line.

oh wait, all the X's need to be Y's sorry, im top lazy to change it



but change the right/leftkey() =1 to the mouse x or something, and im tired, but i will tell you exactly how to do it (maybe) tomarrow after school

Two words, moo.
Cookyzue
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2003
Location: Who Cares?!
Posted: 17th Nov 2003 20:49
yeah how do you dtect the mouse movement?
Chris K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2003
Location: Lake Hylia
Posted: 17th Nov 2003 21:09 Edited at: 17th Nov 2003 21:11


Something like that anyway.

...and like that; he's gone...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-21 19:00:37
Your offset time is: 2025-05-21 19:00:37