Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Best methods for creating 2d tile based maps in AGK

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2012 21:13
I'm am at the stage where I'm developing a 2D game map for AppGameKit but am in need of some direction.

Are there any examples of how AppGameKit loads and executes a game map that was created in say the "Tiled Map Editor", Or by hand for that matter....?

I've purchased the Hands ON AppGameKit book and done all but 9 of the exercises (in the 800 some odd pages), so I have some experience w/the AppGameKit environment and I'm investing in it, but I'm not quite sure how to get off the ground with the game maps.

I'm looking for a quick start if such a thing exists, a working demo would be awesome...

Many thanks in advance ....

----
From the Desk of Prof Versaggi ...
Auger
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Nov 2012 04:37 Edited at: 4th Nov 2012 04:42
A tile map is just a grid of images. I'd start off with an array that is the size of your map and then fill it with the images of each (x,y) location on your map. I'm using image 0 just to demonstrate. you of course would have to load your own images and use them.

Then you can just write out the array to a file and back in later when you want load your map

Auger
ProfVersaggi
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Nov 2012 20:10
Awesome! I'll try it out immediately.

A followup question is .... well ... is this the *only* way? Are there better ways to execute a game map/environment? Perhaps preferable to this one?

----
Marl
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Nov 2012 22:12
Quote: " is this the *only* way?"

Not by a long way, mapping is a whole subject on its own.