Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / What new commands do you *need*

Author
Message
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 16th Jun 2013 19:20
I suspect arrays in UDTs would be a real problem. Tier 1 has enough trouble with handling arrays of UDTs.

The issue comes down to space allocation for arrays. It is based on allocating enough space for <dimsize> * <UDT size>. If you add arrays inside the UDT, then the calculation gets trickier. Especially if you assume that the arrays within the UDTs should be redimensionable like normal arrays.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 16th Jun 2013 23:40
As always, spot on, AL! The solution for interpreters is to allocate memory in "chunks" on aligned boundaries. But this can become a problem when things go out of scope in nested function calls.

Really, the Basic needs a distinction between static and dynamic arrays. Static arrays are declared at a certain size and that's it. Dynamic arrays have no initial size, and are allocated, expanded and contracted. That still needs some cute memory handling.

Doing things like this probably demands a total redesign of the interpreter.

-- Jim DO IT FASTER, EASIER AND BETTER WITH AppGameKit FOR PASCAL
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 16th Jun 2013 23:59
Quote: "The issue comes down to space allocation for arrays. It is based on allocating enough space for <dimsize> * <UDT size>. If you add arrays inside the UDT, then the calculation gets trickier. Especially if you assume that the arrays within the UDTs should be redimensionable like normal arrays."


Couldn't you just have a UDT variable be a pointer to another array? So technically it would just create another array separately but hides that effect from the user.

So where the user sees this kind of functionality:


Internally it would look more like this (or something):




I know it would probably be tricky, simply based on the conversations I remember in the past about trying to add this to DB.

Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 17th Jun 2013 09:27 Edited at: 17th Jun 2013 09:29
@Phaelax,Rick
somethink like this i need too.

type Thing
hallo as string
stuff as list
endtype

dim things as list
dim a as Thing
dim b as Thing
ListAdd(things,a)
ListDel(things,a)
ListCount(things)
a=ListItem(things,i)
a.hallo="Hello World"
ListAdd(a.stuff,b)
ListItem(things,i)=a
jlahtinen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: Finland
Posted: 17th Jun 2013 12:37
How about vibrate commands?
=PRoF=
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2003
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posted: 17th Jun 2013 12:57
@jlahtinen:

As I understand it, there are no vibrate commands because it's not a feature available on all platforms. (Although I'm sure you could simply use Force feedback controllers to vibrate on a mac or pc)

However, I notice that a lot of the newer commands (Facebook, twitter, etc.) are currently iOS/Android specific so who knows

nz0
AGK Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire,UK
Posted: 18th Jun 2013 01:20
I second Zerotown's request for actual resolutions to be set at full screen (not stretched to the desktop resolution).

Better sound control (set volume, pitch etc. while sound plays)

We also need some more "capability" checks for PC...
Supported shader check for instance..

Alpha parameter on drawline

Rickynzx
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2011
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posted: 18th Jun 2013 01:30
I would like to see a command to make a phone call within an app and to send messages or emails.

i know AppGameKit is for games, but this could open up a whole load of other apps that we could write.


Rickynzx
MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2011
Location: Paris
Posted: 18th Jun 2013 05:31
Getting in phone commands will open up too much other features... not sure that is very relevant actually to the main target of agk (as you said) : Games.
haliop
User Banned
Posted: 18th Jun 2013 09:51 Edited at: 18th Jun 2013 09:52
i would also like GetImage to work on higher resolutions
i have a way around it , but sometimes i would like to get a full hd image for saving stuff... or pictures i manipulted etc..


and making 2 memblocks for saving higher images as on is kinda slow...
so i would really like GetImage to work faster and with higher resolutions. that would help alot. ty rick.

Naphier
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2010
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posted: 23rd Jun 2013 07:01
Wow how could I have forgotten!
CreateMemblockFromFile (already mentioned)
WriteMemblockToFile (can basically already do this, but slowly)
CreateSoundFromMemblock
CreateMusicFromMemblock
CreateMemblockFromSound
CreateMemblockFromMusic
These commands for video would be awesome too and assist with encryption that doesn't require unpacking and deleting files.

Parry
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2009
Location: Swampstone
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 18:01 Edited at: 25th Jun 2013 18:02
I like to see the virtual button limit of 12 increased to around 35 and a few virtual button commands added.

SetVirtualButtonTextAlignment(center/left/right);

SetVirtualButtonSize();
SetVirtualButtonFont();

SetVirtualButtonTextSize();
Lost Dragon
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 20:18
I would like to be able to play video files. It doesn't have to be every format imaginable - just one a couple common ones.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 20:24
There are video commands: LoadVideo, PlayVideo, PauseVideo, SetVideoDimensions, GetvideoWidth, GetvideoHeight, and more

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Naphier
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2010
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 20:36
You must use H.264 for mobile and Mac. Works on most Windows machines, but you'll need WMV to ensure Windows machine compatibility. Video worked 100% last time I checked.

XanthorXIII
AGK Gold Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2011
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 21:01
A check to see if a Sprite is in the middle of playing an Animation, check if its Animated,. Those two at least.
Lost Dragon
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 21:46
Oops. So there are. I was under the impression there weren't for some reason and never investigated further. Sorry!
haliop
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 21:50
i would really like a command to fill the backBuffer or the DepthBuffer with an Image id and have the ability to
"center" "stretch" "fit" etc..
also i would like to paste images as they are
DrawImage(id,x,y,alpha) without assigning any sprite to them just as images...

haliop
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 21:56
also !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

as i understand there is no function to check if an app was ended when using Tier 1.
i would really really like and mostly really need a simple function
even if it works in background to check if the app is "dead"
if so ... do the relevant deleting of files i create during the app run time..
i usually build up to 200- 500 MB per session and i really really need to clean it up i don't want to leave it for the user to handle it... its stupid..
the lack of this command is absurd. it is a fundamental function.

haliop
User Banned
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 11:12
Auto Save ability for tier 1 ide please.

Daniel TGC
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2007
Location: TGC
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 11:21
YouTube video integration would be useful, especially if it supports adverts. I would provide an extra revenue system for free apps as users can make money directly on their youtube channel everytime they watch a video cutscene on a free app. It also means that applications can include video while still maintaining a small install footprint.

Media media controls, pause, rewind, skip, playlists etc. If I can knock out an MP3 player in a few dozen lines using native commands then great.

The ability to create sounds with memblocks, a createsoundfrommemblock command would make life easier.

MySQL/ SQL/ Database support would be useful for online applications as well as better ways of submitting data from app to server side applications.
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 12:09
i agree with MySQL/ SQL/ Database support

@haliop
we have drawsprite, a image is 1:1, a sprite is made for scaling,rotating,stretch
haliop
User Banned
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 12:50
yeah but what if there is no need in sprites?
copyimagetoscreen(id,x,y)

and thats it
so its based on the gpu completly
no need to assign a sprite to it..

less work for us , less work for the cpu
if i'll want rotate,scale.. i will use sprites..
but on the other hand no sprite should be involved in such a command

Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 13:14
@haliop
jo but the backbuffer must have always the same size you want.
now it can be different because the possibility of optimisation.
xGEKKOx
AGK Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2008
Location: Italy
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 13:33
Well i already asked for the Virtual Button raise to 50, and the changing of WIDTH and HEIGHT and not only the SIZE.
I remember my request was accepted last year in the issue list, but never done.
I agree with Perry, we need this.

Long life to Steve!
Barros
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2011
Location: Thailand
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 17:34
I want With...End With
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 17:39
Quote: "I want With...End With"

Nice. I haven't seen that one in a long time.

You are a Pascal programmer maybe?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Lost Dragon
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 29th Jun 2013 21:22
Is there a "wait key" substitute? I used to use that for debugging.
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 29th Jun 2013 21:28 Edited at: 29th Jun 2013 21:29
File commands (well, database):-

Extensive SQLite3 commands/functions... in tier 1.

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
haliop
User Banned
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 13:06
GetAviableFreeMemory()

GetFreeDeviceStorageSize()
GetDeviceStorageSize()


im using Tier 1 and i want to know how can i achive these 3
as they are extremlly needed for my app.

thank you for your time.

miki
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 20:25
Hi,

Sorry it's not spec' related.
What happened to HTML5?

It's so "IN YA FACE"

One just can't resist it.

Ask anyone from Twickenham!

regards,
miki.

in the end
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 21:16
@miki
about HTML5 purchasing "monkey"
http://monkeycoder.co.nz/
miki
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 21:46
I'd like TGC to create HTML5 options...
They would do it better!

in the end
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 22:10 Edited at: 1st Jul 2013 22:11
@miki
i read they concentrate on curremt platforms because new ones
are expensive and take much time.
i think you mean running a agk app in a browser.
monkey is made from blitzmax, a very good language.
mark sibly is the author of blitzbasic since the age of amiga
and later at pc.
he is a idol, very good and unique.
miki
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 22:26 Edited at: 1st Jul 2013 22:27
I have downloaded monkey and am looking at it.

I've made a few 'browser apps' using other programs, but I have to admit I have a softspot for TGC.
I am comfortable with TGC basic and I was born in North West England.
(Silly, I know).

I steered away from AppGameKit innitially, watching the 'road map' for HTML5 to kick-in.

I was a little disapointed when HTML5 was dropped.

I'm just rattling my chain!!!

'Road Map'
I've lived in the Middle East for many years. The term just upsets me.

in the end
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 23:39
@miki
don't ask me about html(5), it is the stupidest thing ever, really.
it's not a secret, i try all programming languages.
each of them have there pros and cons.
maybe sometime did the agk player replace the flash player
and you have all you want without html/php/js/asp...
xCept
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 23:48 Edited at: 1st Jul 2013 23:49
I'm just really hopeful TGC extends Box2D support even if that's not part of the official list of V2 features. It's a bit misleading to claim support for Box2D, yet the available command set for it is so crippled that many tasks can't be accomplished as they could be in other languages that provide full Box2D support.
The Zoq2
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 1st Jul 2013 23:53
Quote: "maybe sometime did the agk player replace the flash player"


HTML 5 is not the same as flash player, it's sort of a replacement because flash is a closed platform. AppGameKit export to HTML5 would allow apps to run nativley on any webbrowser without any plugins needed. (I assume)
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 09:43
@The Zoq2
i mean without browser, only a player for websites and
a website made for this kind of player.
a player as browser replacement but this player do not the same
as the browser do but similar.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 16:06
Markus, 'website' and 'browser' sort of go together.

And 'Player' and 'website' don't really go together.

A Player is something that accepts broadcasting from the AppGameKit IDE. And that is really not something that a website can handle, unless it is on the same network as the AppGameKit IDE. That implies a home network.

Can you maybe give more of a detailed description about what you are envisioning?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 16:45
Markus - If you mean something that will run HTML5 without a browser, give it a couple of years of development time!

-- Jim DO IT FASTER, EASIER AND BETTER WITH AppGameKit FOR PASCAL
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 17:10
@Ancient Lady
its to off topic here but i will make a prototype anytime.

@JimHawkins
no, i don't mean.
i am not fixated on current technology.
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 19:23
Do you mean server-side HTML5 producer?

-- Jim DO IT FASTER, EASIER AND BETTER WITH AppGameKit FOR PASCAL
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 20:03
@JimHawkins
no
miki
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 22:18
Quote: "It's so "IN YA FACE""


I mean browser games for my web site!!

Also, TGC could also make an "arcade area" for browser games....
The visitor stats for these kind of "arcades" are massive.
Don't need to download and they're umpteen times better than screen shots.

regards,
miki.

in the end
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 23:39
I am completely lost. I have no idea what Markus or miki are talking about!

-- Jim DO IT FASTER, EASIER AND BETTER WITH AppGameKit FOR PASCAL
miki
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2013 23:57
I understand there is an unwritten rule about competitors....

But to make my point, take a look at this:

http://www.scirra.com/arcade

WHAT FIGURES!

Don't ban or burn me, I just want TGC to be huge again...

regards,
miki.

in the end

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-04 01:22:42
Your offset time is: 2024-05-04 01:22:42