Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Linux Distros

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2013 00:41 Edited at: 17th Oct 2013 18:30
I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now but I'm not liking the direction the OS is taking, so I thought I'd check out some other GNUL (GNU+Linux) distributions.
Here\'s a list I put together of ones to try out, please share your experiences if you\'ve used any of them:

Arch
Debian
Elementary OS
Fedora
Mandriva
Mint
Open SUSE
Pinguy OS
SolydK
Zorin

List of FSF Approved Distro's: [href]www.gnu.org/distros/free-distros.html[/href]

I am posting from Elementary OS right now, it\'s the first one I\'ve tried so far and so far I love it! Everything is really clean, crisp, well integrated and intuitive. It is based on Ubuntu so it\'s not much of a leap for me but it feels a lot nicer and runs a lot faster, even though I am only running it off a USB stick at the moment.

Formerly OBese87.
easter bunny
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Dota 2
Posted: 16th Oct 2013 02:39
Try Kolibri! Not a Linux distro, but it's amazing (even if it is basically useless)

formerly MissJoJo - Audacia Games
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2013 03:18
Kolibri is awesome. Ran that on a pretty low powered VM setup, and it was damn responsive. Booted in less than five seconds and apps started into a fully responsive state near instantly. Not bad!

bitJericho
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2013 05:15
Might I recommend trying out the distros supported by the FSF? Something on this list is what I plan on switching to when the time comes to upgrade OSes again.

http://www.gnu.org/distros/free-distros.html

Dar13
Years of Service