Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Help with horror game story?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Dec 2013 23:37 Edited at: 28th Dec 2013 23:42
Hello!
Me and a friend are working on a horror game in Unity, and we need some feedback and the base of our story before we further develop it.
I'm not good at summarizing stories, so I'll pretty much tell you the gist of what happens:

For his first task, a new cop (the player) is sent off to restore contact with a nearby town. Upon arrival, the town seems abandoned and a fog has begun rolling in. The lack of functional cell towers has made it impossible to contact HQ, and the thick fog on the roads prevents a safe return by car. With nothing else to do, the player investigates.

In the town there are weird humanoid creatures that take people and splice them together with other objects to make horrifying creatures (as in, they weren't made by magic or stuff like that)

The story isn't very original at all, but since this is my first big horror game I'm trying to focus more on the atmosphere and gameplay, but at the same time have a story that makes sense.

Questions players could have, answered:
"Why can't I just drive home?" Fog thick and dangerous.
"Why can't I call the station?" No working celltowers, town seems abandoned.
"Where's my gun?" You're a new recruit, you don't get a gun yet.

The gameplay will be mostly exploration and puzzle solving with absolutely NO JUMP SCARES (They're cheap and kill scariness)
Players will have to figure out how to deal with monsters when the time arises. For example, unlike in games like Dead Space where you always have a gun to kill things with, each new monster brings a new way of dealing with it.